We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”
Review of Caledonian House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caledonian House
Ranked #14 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location right by the canal and close to all the shops, restaurants and pubs. Staff made you feel very welcome and a great breakfast was served each morning. Nice clean room with en-suite facility.

Room Tip: The en-suite was small but adequate. If bigger bathroom required ask for the room with the dedicate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 923ChristineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Carol, the proprietor of the Caledonian House met us at the door full of good cheer and information. We had a lovely chat, she showed us to our room and recommended some places for dinner. This B&B is across from the Caledonian Locks and is a few steps away from beautiful views of Loch Ness and some wonderful small restaurants.

Our room was small, with a double bed, and a large bathroom with a tiny shower. TV, free WiFi and breakfast came with the room. Coffee, tea and all the fixings were also available to us in the room as well as bottled water. We even found two candy bars next to the coffee cups. Carol thought of everything.

A full Scottish breakfast awaited us in the sunny breakfast room in the morning. If you’re not familiar with a Scottish breakfast it consists of two eggs, two sausages, two slices of bacon (ham), grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, toast, cereal, coffee or tea and juice. Whew! Have to do some hiking to work that off!

As in most B&Bs, there are stairs to climb. We avoided this by requesting a first floor room. Later on in another establishment we were told if you want a room on the first floor so as not to have to climb stairs, you must ask for the "ground floor." This B&B has a Trip Advisor recommendation sticker on the front window. It’s a winner!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailorsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked Caledonian House because of its location, very close to the canal and centre of Fort Augustus. It is a small b&b with 5 rooms, ours was very small but not the smallest double I gather. It was ensuite, though I think there is a room which is not. The ensuite was very small, tiny really, but this is typical of Highland b&bs, where they have had to convert normal sized rooms to ensuite. The owner is very welcoming. The breakfast was very good, typical Scottish breakfast with choice of poached eggs, as well as fried or scrambled. Freshly baked croissants were also good, and plenty of fresh fruit.
I have listed the good points first but there were a couple of issues for me, which may not affect other people. We had booked this b&b because of the location and because we thought we needed an early breakfast (it turned out we didn't but we didn't know until quite late in the piece). The landlady had said she would give us a 7.30 cooked breakfast, breakfast normally being at 8.30. When we arrived tired and wet she said it would have to be 8.30, we could only have a continental breakfast at 7.30. So we agreed to the 8.30 breakfast, hoping that we would make our connection (this turned out to not be a problem but only at the last minute). In addition, and again this wouldn't worry many people, the room was very small and didn't have anywhere to sit, nor did the b&b have a lounge. As we were only there one night it didn't matter, we went to the pub (Lock Inn very nice) and then went to bed immediately after. The room had what the landlady possibly thought of as a seat, one of those folding up single beds that turns into a low sort of sofa, but really impossible for me to sit on.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doodler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Don't know where to start to thank our host Carol. From making my initial telephone enquiry till the moment we left, Carol was the bubbliest hostess with the mostest. Nothing was too much bother. Gave us a map on arrival and pointed out places of interest in beautiful Ft Augustus. The room was spotless and the breakfast plentiful and fresh, two of everything. Set us up for the next day of our Gt Glen Way challenge. I will certainly be back and recommend this accommodation to anyone. Thank you Carol, from Morag, Yvonne and Anne.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrstmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What a lovely b&b to stay at if you're a traveller. Carol is absolutely lovely, and the house is comfortable with very warm beds and a homely feel. We loved it and didnt want to leave! Fort Augustus is exceptionally beautiful and staying here was the icing on the cake. Great big breakfast and some laughs await you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

stayed for one night on a cycling trip between Fort William and Inverness. Bedroom was ground floor and was very comfortable with everything you would need. Carol was hostess with the mostess and breakfast certainly gave us the energy for the rest of cycling the Great Glen Way. Fantastic location for walking round the town

Room Tip: Downstairs room large and comfortable . Not sure what rooms with a view are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainen544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this lovely b+b. Clean, comfortable, exceptionally friendly and with a fantastic view over the locks, loch and hills. Simply stunning. Substantial freshly cooked breakfast in the morning sets you up for the day. Highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 - small but with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
615 reviews
6.3 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian House

Address: Station Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4AY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $103 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long standing bed and breakfast based in the highlands of Scotland. Originally a tea room in the 1930;s. built in the 1800's. overlooking the Caledonian Canal locks, a major shipping channel seeing boats of all shapes and sizes passing through. A minutes walk away from Loch Ness and central to all pubs/restaurants and shops within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caledonian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian House Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing