We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campsite”
Review of Stravaigers Lodge

Stravaigers Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stravaigers Lodge
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Campsite”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

we stayed here at short notice in our motorhome , so glad we did, great site, huge pitches...ideal location. friendly staff and nice and relaxed atmosphere.

Toilet and Shower blocks are well kept.

Friendly staff

Nice short walk ( as in minutes ) into the village.

Well signposted to find the site - Cumberlands Campsite

Would use again and recommend, good value for money, and lovely clear skies at night to see the stars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fe9427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
13
32
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed on campsite for 4 days. Beautiful surrounding scenery. Lovely staff. ( wee tom groundsman cam help with practically anything. Lovely gentleman) laundrette. Dishwashing. Toilets and spacious lovely hot shower facilities. Well maintained and good clean standards( only thing wrong is the toiletries shelf is a little too rusty and your toiletries bottles need rust rinsing off. ) Great value for £. Short 3 minute walk to centre. Boat trips. Canal walk. Gift shops. Lovely wee place to stay. If u get a clear night at the campsite worthwhile wrapping up & sitting out and star gaze. As very little light pollution the visability is great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetossnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My friends and I were in Stravaigers Lodge in July 2013. Clean rooms, a large comfortable territory, where there is a table with benches to eat in the fresh air. Very friendly staff, always ready to help. It should be noted convenient location in 2 minutes walk to the Loch Ness, restaurants, shops (food can be stored in a refrigerator) and the tourist centre of Fort Augusto. Accommodation was very inexpensive, it is also important.Thanks a lot from Julia and friends for good rest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 469lovergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went over in August. Really clean campsite (spotless actually), great area surrounded by fields with 2 horses and a little river; nice and airy space, CHEAP, friendly staff, decent service. All facilitaties available (you can even sleep in one of the 2 bunkhouses of it rains too much). Will go back next year !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy16162013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The lodge is OK, good-looking from the outside, pretty well located, and very clean. The twin room that I booked was finally a... bunk room, which was way less practical.
The room itself was tiny, and the beds were not comfy AT ALL (we could feel the springs in the mattress)! The door just outside our room creaked a lot, which did not allow us to fall asleep before 11 pm.
Staff was very cold, and we could not even obtain one smile.
Apart from that, the lodge has everything you need for one night, with clean showers and rooms.
Though, one night there is enough in my opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the camping grounds, very clean, neat & tidy. Very helpful, happy & informative staff. Toilets & showers are in excellent condition, very clean & well kept at no extra charge.
Excellent location, 3-5min stroll from Loch Ness & shops.
Would highly recommend & will definitely return again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank islaasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The beds are terrible. Mattress dreadful The paper thin walls and creaking floorbeds and banging doors makes it impossible to sleep until everyone has gone to bed. This means that you get to sleep late and then you are awake when the first person gets up. However, it is very clean and tidy.Very expensive room rates for August, but appreciate it is peak time so they are getting away with it. Seems a shame to take advantage of people though

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main door and toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
377 reviews
3.9 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stravaigers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stravaigers Lodge

Property: Stravaigers Lodge
Address: Glendoe Road, Fort Augustus, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stravaigers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stravaigers Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing