We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real "Home from Home"”
Review of Kettle House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kettle House B&B
Ranked #1 of 26 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Real "Home from Home"”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We are just back from a short break of 2 nights in this wonderful B&B. It was all we thought it would be and more. Natalie and Mark are so naturally friendly and welcoming hosts. The rooms are beautiful, very spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed is so comfortable you just lie that little bit longer but then you have to get up as you wouldn`t want to miss the breakfast which is second to none. The house itself is in a lovely setting and it`s only a 15-20 minute walk into the village, to let you enjoy a drink with your evening meal. We will certainly be recommending it to our family and friends. Our next break will be a longer one and we can`t wait to get back to enjoy it all again. This is our place from now on. Thankyou, Janice and Jim.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettlehouse F, Owner at Kettle House B&B, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Hi Janice and Jim, Wow! What a super review you gave us. We were so pleased to meet you and are so glad you are going to use our B&B as a place to stay when you holiday in this area. We are so happy that you think our B&B is a home from home as that is the setting we want to create, a relaxed and friendly atmosphere where guests can come again and again to enjoy our home. Who knows we may see you abroad as we like the same holidays! Thank you for reccomending us to your family and friends. We so looking forward to seeing you both again soon and be nice for you both to stay longer. Take care, Natalie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
81
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We've been traveling around the world for a year and the beds at Kettle House were among the most comfortable we've had. Liked the personal toiletries in the bath, as well as huge, fluffy towels. Breakfast was a step above standard. In addition to fruit, yogurt, cereal there were several options for cooked breakfast--including scrambled eggs w/smoked salmon made to order and beautifully presented.

Rooms all have flat screen TVs with DVD players; a large DVD library available in the hallway. Also liked the common fridge to store a few snacks, and plastic forks and cutlery set aside for each room for takeaway meals--a thoughtful touch.

Hosts Natalie and Mark are terrific--Natalie is a natural conversationalist and Mark makes those great breakfasts. Location is nice-just out of town and quiet. Gardens are really pretty.

Only thing missing is a common area/lounge, which I know they are planning to add as the B&B has only recently opened. That will make it even better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettlehouse F, Owner at Kettle House B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Hi Larissa and Michael, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovely review especially while you have been busy travelling the world. It was great to meet you both and listen to some of your adventures. We are so pleasd you enjoyed your stay with us and hope someday we will see you both again soon. We shall look out for your film still think it will be a hit! Thanks again Natalie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked here to have a true rest while making the Great Glen Way, and have been most agreably surprised by this B&B :
The place is lovely : Very quiet (close to the road, but far enough not to hear any noise), very comfortable, and, above all :
The people running it are lovely beyond measure, and the breakfast is just a pure delight.
I definitely recommand it for whoever wants to make a more-than-enjoyable stay along the Great Glen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMannZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettlehouse F, Owner at Kettle House B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Hi Francois
Thank you so much for writing us a lovely review. It was super to hear about your adventure walking across the Great Glen. We are so happy to hear that we helped make your stay at our B&B a memorable one. We hope you come back again soon. Many thanks Natalie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here while cycling the "great glen Way" from Fort William to Inverness!
It was such a wonderful stay! The first thing we noticed was the beautiful location and stunning gardens. The rooms were immaculate, spacious and nicely decorated with a lovely, comfortable bed. Our Hosts Natalie and Mark were so welcoming and friendly! They stored our bikes over night for us in their shed! This was very much appreciated! There was a wide choice at breakfast which was cooked to perfection.... setting us up for a long day of cycling! We do a lot of Walking and Cycling in the area and will be back!
The Kettle is a B&B run to perfection by great hosts in a lovely setting!
Dana & Alwyn

Room Tip: Great for hillwalking in the area and cycling the great glen way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettlehouse F, Owner at Kettle House B&B, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Hi Dana and Alwyn, Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are so happy that you enjoyed staying in our B&B. The great glen way is such a lovely cycle trail, one that we will have to have a go at once I learn how to stay on a bike! We are pleased to hear that our breakfast set you up for the day . Dana we hope Alywn wasn't singing too much on the way to Fort William! Thats what we both want to create a real home from home place to enjoy. Cant wait to see you both again soon. Take care and many thanks, Natalie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. Lovely B & B with very friendly hosts and comfortable rooms and beds. Breakfast was wonderful. Lovely setting with beautiful gardens. Only newly set up, although you'd never know, it can only get even better! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettlehouse F, Owner at Kettle House B&B, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Hi Marion & co, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again when you come back in October. We know Roddy and Rusty the guinea pigs will enjoy all the attention again like they got the last time. Thank you so much, Natalie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.6 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Craik Na Dav B & B
Craik Na Dav B & B
#1 of 8 in Invermoriston
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#9 of 26 in Fort Augustus
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 26 in Fort Augustus
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kettle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kettle House B&B

Property: Kettle House B&B
Address: Kettle House Golf COURSE, Fort Augustus PH32 4BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just opened the Kettle House as a B&B on the 1st August 2012. We cant wait for you to book so we can share our home with you. We hope you will enjoy relaxing in your ensuite room that has a 24"flat screen DVD player with freesat channels and with views overlooking our lovely gardens or the pretty countryside. Or perhaps just taking a walk through our gardens which is abundant with wildlife as we even have a resident baby deer! We also have Guinea pigs!We hope to meet you soon and you can tell us a little bit about your adventures! Kettle House is that home from home B&B but without you having to do a thing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kettle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kettle House B&B Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing