We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Morags is a lovely place to stay if you're travelling with friends or alone. If you're the adventurous sort, this place is perfect! If you're after luxury and a chilled out atmosphere, this place is not for you! But if you're planning to get drunk, go crazy, make friends, socialise etc. you have ABSOLUTELY got to make Morags your base. Perfect if you're thinking of visiting Skye, Mallaig, Fort William, the Speyside distilleries etc..!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiretsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank-you for your review! We are delighted that you got to experience "Highland Hospitality at it's best" and your party were a pleasure to host - we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    122
    38
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
76
70
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Morag's lodge is a great spot if you're travelling through the highlands on a budget- they have a great bar, excellent location and staff are very friendly. It's a great place to meet other fellow travellers too.

However, the beds are as hard and the ground, and several times a night he groaning-noise from the heating (or the plumbing) being turned on and off sounds like a semi-trailer coming through your room, so I was woken every few hours by this.
If you're a heavy sleeper then no problem, if you like your sleep like I do, bring ear plugs or skip these hostel rooms!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyeTraveller90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank-you for your review and feedback. We have just received a delivery of new bunks - complete with charging points, USB connections, reading lights and a shelves for your personal items! We have also addressed the plumbing issue. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a blast here back in 2011 (for some reason am only reviewing now). We stayed here as part of a tour and the atmosphere was fantastic. Beautiful staff and a lot of laughs. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank-you for your review. We are delighted you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night in a private room. Friends meeting up to do some walking in the area. Have stayed in quite a few hostels worldwide and this hostel has to rate highly. The room we had was clean and comfortable with a private ensuite bathroom with a great shower. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Bar, self catering kitchen or reasonably priced meals available to buy. Really liked the big comfy sofas in the reception area. Hostel is only a 5 minute walk to the village centre and sits in really nice grounds. Ticked all the boxes for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GilJackieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank-you for your review, we are delighted to have ticked all the boxes!

After the team found out you have a passion for swans we thought you'd appreciate the fact that the collective noun for a group of swans is a *bevy*!

We hope you you enjoyed your onward journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Amazing dinner and breakie on offer for a reasonable price. Dinner was £7.5 and was the biggest meal I've had over here.

Bathrooms were exceptionally clean as were the rooms. We stayed in a 6bed dorm which was spacious and had extra bathrooms outside in the corridor. Apart from the floors being very squeaky it was a great room.

Played trivia and had a live musician to entertain as well as a games room, piano and it's own bar.

Short walk to the town for dinner if you so wish, ate at the lock Inn which was exceptional

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moragslodge, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank-you for review - we are delighted you had a great stay... and that you confirmed our meal portions are indeed monsterous! We hope you enjoyed your onward trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz Department, Bolivia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights will on a haggis tour and were very pleased with our accommodations. We stayed in the shallow grave room which had 3 bunks all fitted with their own sockets. We also had a bathroom which I found very convenient. The food at this hostel was wonderful and rather cheap for the portions that you were served. The staff were wonderfully friendly and happy to help you out. There was also a bar here that served cheap drinks which was a bonus. Top place, highly recommended and a big thumbs up

Room Tip: We had the shallow grave room which had sockets on each bed. Someone told us the other rooms didnt h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Busabout tour, the hostel was really cool, provided a great hot Haggis meal and put on a music show and trivia night at the bar. The showers are hot and clean and the beds are comfortable enough for a few nights' sleep.
Not much happening in the area around the hostel, best to stay for a couple of nights only and keep going. Some rooms had great views!
Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
13.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spean Bridge
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Property: Morag's Lodge
Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Morag's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing