We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good accommodations and a nice place to stay - a good deal for the area. We enjoyed our room with a bathroom and the use of the kitchen. This hostel is clean and comfortable and convenient to surrounding sites and Fort Augustus. The canals are interesting to see. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone interested in staying in this area.






.

Room Tip: We did not use or see a swimming pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Morag's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 389 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of the Haggis tours. The room was nice, with a bathroom inside it (it was a 6-bed room). The food was great - haggis-stuffed chicken on Wednesday, cooked just right. I did have to wait for around 20 minutes for my food on Thursday though, as there was nobody in the kitchen or on reception a few minutes after they took payment for the meal. It's on a nice spot in Fort Augustus, walkable down to the loch. Nice décor. If you stay here, though, take into account that this place is loud. As in, don't expect to get any sleep until whatever party they have is over, around 2 a.m. or so. On Wed they had the pub quiz, which surprised me with its nightclub-level noise that made it impossible to sleep up in my room... the quiz was fun but I was tired from traveling and would have liked the option to, you know, sleep at some point. On Thursday they had a ceilidh and it was the same thing: fun if you're dancing and stuff, but if you want to call it a night you basically have to wait until they decide it's over. Lots of fun if you go with your friends, though. Not so much if you want to rest after a day's travel.

Room Tip: Do not, I repeat, do not let them put you in 'Shallow Grave' if you want to sleep. It's...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberto O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very good location, next to loch ness and many pubs that you can go by walking 3minutes. The atmosphere is very light with lots of young people around. In the night that I was there, they also had a live show with a local musician. Not recommended to couples nor families but for sure if you are solo or with buddies. Wifi at entrance hall is free :)

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Evandroepr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in summer 2012. It's the only decent lodge in this town and you can't find any for at least forty miles. Two minutes drive from the Loch Ness. Neat rooms and huge baths. The dorms are decent enough for the price. Continental breakfast is complimentary. Drive for ten minutes along the lake towards Inverness and you find a number of barbeque spots by the lake. If you miss this place, head to Inverness which is one hour away.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srihari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Can't say I agree with below. Eaten there many times as I use the hostel for accommodation with work and it's always been fantastic.

Home cooked, tons of it, locally sourced and not a microwave in sight.

Bar is also awesome fun with some great entertainment at night.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Keefletrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

There was a slight mix up in relation to our specific need for a disabled room, but staff could not have been more helpful and charming in resolving the problem - even leaving us a letter, some wild flowers and wine in the room by way of an (unnecessary) apology.
The room was comfortable and the atmosphere in the hostel full of life. The breakfast was fine and the home cooked (vegetarian) dinner (which needs to be booked in advance) absolutely fine. There are nightly entertainments for guests - many of whom arrive in tour buses - and older as well as younger people seemed happy to sit in the bar and join in. If it got noisy later at night, we were too deeply asleep to notice.
Fort Augustus is a beautiful spot and, for us, the ease of access to the foot/cycle path alongside the Caledonian Canal was perfect for our wheel-chair bike. We were able to drive on to Fort William within an hour, on the following days, to access other great loch and canal side rides.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed in this Hostel as part of the Haggis Tours group for the 3 Day Skye High Tour.

I was incredibly impressed with the entire setup of Morag's Lodge and the experience. They go above and beyond any expectation that I have for a hostel and would stay there again without a question.

What is great about Morag's Lodge:
- The rooms are comfortable, spacious, clean, and well setup. Each bed has power sockets as well as a singular light specific for that bed. The en suite bathrooms are also fantastic.
- The lounge was comfortable and open with large couches and free wireless internet.
- The bar felt like a proper pub, had a good selection, knowledgeable staff (gave great recommendations for whisky when I was looking to try a few new brands), and very reasonably priced.
- The entertainment arranged by the lodge was absolutely fantastic. First there was a boat tour of Lochness, and second there was live entertainment at the bar, and a great atmosphere. Despite the live entertainment and excitement the walls were thick enough to allow us to sleep while it continued on downstairs from our room.
- The service was unmatched. We were welcomed with shots of whisky, given the choice to purchase a very delightful dinner (homemade lasagna), and staff was very warm and welcoming throughout the entirety of our stay, not just during the checkin.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNATravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
609 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#4 of 27 in Fort Augustus
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $32 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morag's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing