We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, value for money room, shame about the noise”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, value for money room, shame about the noise”
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This is a value for money experience - clean and functional and we had an expectional power shower in our room - but the things that made it a extra special were the friendly/ cool staff and the fun atmosphere - we enjoyed just hanging out at Morgas.

Its just a shame that this good vibe went well into the early hours! and as the sound proofing is poor between floors.

I'm partial to a sing a long myself - but a campfire sing along that went on well into the early hours - (and not far from our bedroom window) and worse for wear people trying to get into their rooms who couldn't find their rooms or keys - kind of began to grate as I tried to get to sleep.

I do think Morgas Lodge should take a greater role in ensuring noise is kept to a minimum after 12.

All that said I still recommend Morags Lodge and as a base for the Highlands if you are doing lots of out door stuff - and are a very heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missflipflop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    107
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
70
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I visited Morag's Lodge last year for two nights while I visited Scotland from Canada. I haven't stayed in many hostels (about 5 in total) but this one is by far the nicest overall . My friend and I had a private room with 3 beds. I couldn't believe how clean, new and well kept the room was. It was very similar to a 3* hotel room - the only difference being that it had a bunk bed. The private bathroom was nice as well, clean and spacious. I enjoyed the free wifi on site and the meals were average. They even served Haggis. Another 'bonus' feature was the small pub on site which serves a limited selection of local Ales. Fort Augustus is a very small town so it is within walking distance of everything including the shores of Loch Ness itself. My only tiny annoyance with this property was the staff. There were two women who worked there who were cranky so I tried to avoid them. Otherwise, I highly recommend this hostel whether you are on a budget or not. I would have paid double to stay here. If I

Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Shanncg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

helpful friendly staff, clean dorms. But was very busy with younger travelers on the "Haggis Tour" & as such the bar area on the night we stayed was over run with the Quiz night.
Also again because of the "haggis tour" making the place busy breakfast (£2.50 for cereal, porridge, toast,tea, coffee) was a bit of a free for all with a lack of cups, plates etc .
Free Wifi, on site hard standing parking.
would I recommend? May be, depends what you are looking for if you were 18-30 looking for cheap digs & a bit of a laugh yes
if your looking for a place to chill & relax after a day walking, cycling or riding may be not.

Room Tip: avoid when haggis tour is there if you want peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hostel was very good to stay at. the staff was friendly. the food was good. on site bar made it easy to unwind after the day. the entire hostel was clean and very comfortable. would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed in the cold snap, and boy it was warm. So cosy, great dorms- good sized beds. Excellent catering facilities too, everything you could need.
Free tea and coffee, free internet access on the laptops that anyone could use. Breakfast and evening meals were available too- I had the Kung Po chicken and it was bang on- nicely priced.
Great bar, lively barman. He was a real character too- kept the 2 tour groups entertained. Something happening every night so you wouldn't get bored. As my first hostel, I do believe I have been spoilt as I don't think anyone could do it better.
On top of all that- the location was first class- went in all that snow and it was breathtaking. Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markichef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

its location was ideal for loch ness, it was a near and clean place, it had good night - bar scene - live music .. good breakfast.. nothing to complain about will recomment it to anyone who wishes to travel inteh vicinity and definitely value for money as compared to other places

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my 2 young children. The room was clean, warm and secure. Had a comfy double bed with a bunk bed and ensuite bathroom. The atmosphere was very friendly and had everything you could need. We stayed at a quite a few hostels during our stay and this was definitely one of the best. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Also had a lovely pub dinner at the Lock Inn

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 25 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Property: Morag's Lodge
Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing