We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, Busy hostel. probably best suited for younger people”
Review of Morag's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morag's Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A clean, Busy hostel. probably best suited for younger people”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

helpful friendly staff, clean dorms. But was very busy with younger travelers on the "Haggis Tour" & as such the bar area on the night we stayed was over run with the Quiz night.
Also again because of the "haggis tour" making the place busy breakfast (£2.50 for cereal, porridge, toast,tea, coffee) was a bit of a free for all with a lack of cups, plates etc .
Free Wifi, on site hard standing parking.
would I recommend? May be, depends what you are looking for if you were 18-30 looking for cheap digs & a bit of a laugh yes
if your looking for a place to chill & relax after a day walking, cycling or riding may be not.

Room Tip: avoid when haggis tour is there if you want peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    110
    36
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
72
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hostel was very good to stay at. the staff was friendly. the food was good. on site bar made it easy to unwind after the day. the entire hostel was clean and very comfortable. would recommend this hostel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Stayed in the cold snap, and boy it was warm. So cosy, great dorms- good sized beds. Excellent catering facilities too, everything you could need.
Free tea and coffee, free internet access on the laptops that anyone could use. Breakfast and evening meals were available too- I had the Kung Po chicken and it was bang on- nicely priced.
Great bar, lively barman. He was a real character too- kept the 2 tour groups entertained. Something happening every night so you wouldn't get bored. As my first hostel, I do believe I have been spoilt as I don't think anyone could do it better.
On top of all that- the location was first class- went in all that snow and it was breathtaking. Recommended to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markichef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

its location was ideal for loch ness, it was a near and clean place, it had good night - bar scene - live music .. good breakfast.. nothing to complain about will recomment it to anyone who wishes to travel inteh vicinity and definitely value for money as compared to other places

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajay1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed here for one night with my 2 young children. The room was clean, warm and secure. Had a comfy double bed with a bunk bed and ensuite bathroom. The atmosphere was very friendly and had everything you could need. We stayed at a quite a few hostels during our stay and this was definitely one of the best. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Also had a lovely pub dinner at the Lock Inn

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Great reception and staff were really friendly. Great couches in reception with free wi-fi. Breakfast did run out one morning and is quite limited considering you have to pay extra for it. Lots of tour buses in their so quite busy, but staff managed it very well at reception. the bar was fantasitc but my room which was "shallow grave" Was a nightmare for noise as the bar and smoking area is right below and I couldn’t sleep each night before 3am until they turned the sound off. People in my tour in the other rooms had no issue however so just make sure you dont get the same room. Free wifi didnt work in my room but free in reception with computers to use. I would recommend not eating dinner there as the food was good but you will get a better feed in a pub in town for the price

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We needed to stay one night enroute to a wedding in skye and chose Morag's Lodge due to its location and value for money. On our arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and were shown to our double ensuite room which was clean and comfortable. The shower was excellent. Breakfast was very good value at only £2.50 and the atmosphere in the hostel was really friendly. There were no problems with noise whilst sleeping despite the hostel appearing to be pretty full. Location is very good with lots of parking and a short walk into the centre of Fort Augustus - we would recommend the "Lock inn" for a good feed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,169 reviews
6.5 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 25 in Fort Augustus
132 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morag's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morag's Lodge

Property: Morag's Lodge
Address: Bunoich Brae, Fort Augustus PH32 4DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morag's Lodge is a top quality 4* hostel located on the Great Glen Way in Fort Augustus, just a short walk from the banks of Loch Ness. Surrounded by stunning mountain scenery and set in wooded grounds this is the perfect budget accommodation option in the hub of the Highlands! The hostel has a variety of room types including 4-bed & 6-bed dorms, doubles, twins, triples, and family rooms, all with private bathroom facilities. The modern and super-comfy bunks have private reading lights and power points, and all linen is provided free of charge. There are excellent cheap meal options, from a buffet style budget breakfast to delicious home-cooked evening meals using local produce. There is also 24 hour access to the self-catering kitchen and free tea & coffee facilities. The rustic bothy-style bar offers a superb range of local beers and single malts, has a cosy log fire for the colder winter nights, and regular live entertainment. Other facilities include a drying room, laundry service, free wifi, toys, games, book swap and the famous red piano! The friendly and welcoming team can assist with arranging local activities, including the on-site bike hire and boat trips on Loch Ness, as well as advising on day trips and other activities available in the area. The team are on-hand to ensure you are able to make the most of your time and are proud to deliver "Highland Hospitality" at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Morag's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morag's Lodge Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing