We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Inch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night break at the Inch Hotel, it was a freezing cold day and we thought the room a little cold, the very friendly staff very promptly put another heater in the room which warmed up in no time. The room was very clean with an amazing view over the loch, the breakfast was fantastic and once again the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The 2nd evening we decided to eat our evening meal at the hotel, we were a little dubious as there didn't seem to be anyone else around, apparently a couple of other guests staying there too. We asked if we could eat in front of the log fire and not in the restaurant, again the staff were only too happy too oblige. The food was amazing, couldn't fault any of it, in fact the prawn and smoked salmon starter was the best I've had in a long time and was all reasonably priced. Would definately return again.

Room Tip: Bridal suite was lovely with amazing view, and not much more than a regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixenVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Everybody says 'hi' and remember well your dinner serving round the fire. Great idea! Hope more people will do the same, especially out of season when we are a bit quieter. It was a pleasure to look after you, and thank you for such a pleasant review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    163
    64
    26
    19
See reviews for
91
316
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel in November 2012 and really enjoyed our stay. We were in tne "Ness" suite which was huge and featured amazing views of the loch and a huge 4-poster bed. The staff are excellent and despite being, by their own admission, a little short-staffed they were very attentive and helpful.

Location is also great, right on the shores of Loch Ness and a short walk to the village.

It is an hour away from Inverness airport though, and I would suggest using a cab contacted by the hotel as it was significantly cheaper (cab in Inverness quoted us £85 for hotel to airport; hotel booked us a cab for the same journey at £60).

Overall, a really enjoyable experience and we will definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Choose the Bridal Suite - best views and big 4-poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks indeed for such a lovely review. Marc the taxi river says 'hi' and thank you for the recommendation! Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We actually stayed at the hotel in November 2011.. After the stay we intended to give a review on this hotel and at last have decided to make the effort. At that time there were quite a few poor reviews on this hotel but what we found was completely different.

The location has superb views. I had asked for a front room when booking but were given a room facing the back into the woods which had pleasant views. On mentioning to the manager he was apologetic and we were immediately given a large front room, it was lovely with all the amenities expected and a superb view looking onto the Loch Ness.

We had an extremely nice 2 nights there, (weather could have been better though but as that’s expected in Scotland at that time of the year it didn’t spoil the stay!). The food was superb, the staff was very pleasant and friendly, and the service couldn’t be faulted. Yes the décor could have been of a higher standard but, on talking to the manager we were told that they would redress that as soon as they could financially. I hope that with so many positive reviews lately that the hotel is now doing well, they deserve it. It's also a nice touch that the owner makes the effort to reply to each review

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbsk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there - and now my turn to apologise for the late reply! Thanks for reviewing the Inch so positively, and thanks for the lovely review - it always makes the day for the team when somebody takes the time to feed back. The re-decoration started yesterday! Woo hoo! All the floorboards are up for hard wired internet, and then it's painting, furniture and decor. It's a big project, but we reopen at the end of January. Hope you may consider coming back and seeing the new look. But regardless, many thanks for being such lovely customers and charming reviewers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerhaven, Germany
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Is this a hotel or a mountain lodge? When entering, you might wonder about this. In fact, the room was fully equipped, but in quite a rural style. The stairways and corridors would need some refurbishment.

But the restaurant service both for dinner and breakfast was fabulous.

All of this at a selected location overlooking Loch Ness and a short walk from beautiful Fort Augustus. A great place for some days out to the Highlands!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for such a kind review. As you spotted, we are indeed a hotel, but we do like to try and keep a flavour of the original purpose within the 'feel.' We were originally a hunting lodge, and we don't want to lose this heritage. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from our son's wedding here at the Inch hotel. What a faboulous place, stunning views, fantastic food and great rooms. An "old fashioned" well run venue which ticked all the boxes for a superb experience, we will be back to visit again as the food was exceptional and the manager and staff gave superb service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clark_june
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Congratulations from all of us here at the Inch. It was a pleasure serving you on your special day. So glad you had a memorable occasion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

my husband and i are just back from a 2 night stay at Inch hotel. It was a lovely old fashioned lodge with character . our room was room mhor , it was a nice room , very clean with comfortable bed , only downside was the sink in the bedroom as opposed to the bathroom and the view of the fire escape . Otherwise a very clean and nice room . Dinner was superb, very good quality ingredients and lovely presentation. Lovely dining room too, very fresh and clean. breakfast was also lovely and a nice relaxing start to the day.
The front sitting room looked in pictures and literature that it was warm and cosy but to my disapointment it was a cold and seemingly unused room , i would have loved to have sat there in the morning with a pot of coffee , reading my newspaper and taking in the views but it didnt feel very welcoming to be honest..
the bar was lovely , characterful and snug , a bit dated but really just a nice place to have a nightcap . Marian the manager was very nice , friendly and efficient whenever we saw him.
we will be back in the future though .

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carolyn_flirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time out to review us in such a positive way. We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and Marian says 'hi!' The lounge is lovely and warming when the fire is on, which we will ensure for your next trip, it's being redecorated in January too, so we will look forward to serving you a cuppa with the view next time you want to chill in the morning. Best wishes from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel for my husband's Birthday and we had a fantastic stay. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Bathroom had piping hot water and the bed was very comfortable, what more do you want? The meal was beautiful and could not be faulted. The staff were extremely friendly and during our superb breakfast went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. Warm, cosy and welcoming. Spot on!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank your from the whole team for such a lovely review. It really warms the heart on a frosty morning! So glad you had a good trip, and hope to see you again. Best wishes from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,172 reviews
7.0 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
687 reviews
14.7 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
372 reviews
14.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
389 reviews
14.4 mi away
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spean Bridge
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch Hotel

Property: Inch Hotel
Address: A82 Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Great Glen Way and overlooking the world renowned Loch Ness, The Inch Hotel is proud of its spectacular setting. Not only does the Inch Hotel overlook the most iconic Scottish view, but the picturesque Glen Affric and impressive Caledonian Canal are also on its doorstep.The family run hotel boasts a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, 14 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and first class restaurant serving locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing