We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic!!”
Review of Inch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed at the Inch hotel with my partner as a suprise trip for his birthday,and what a suprise it was!! It was a perfect location,perfect Highland hotel and amazing staff especially Marian who always has a smile and makes you feel like nothing is too much trouble. ALL the food was fantastic and the presentation was out of this world (please ,please keep the chef as we will be back ). I would also like to say as another reviewer said that it is great to find a nice hotel where we can take our dog as she is part of our family too and Marian really made her feel welcome too. If we had to say any negative comment it would just be that we were in room 6 and you could hear the waste water from other rooms coming down through our pipework so if that could be sorted it would be perfection !! we will be back with friends as it was excellent value for money. PS complimentary rides on your new RIB would be great too !! :-)

Room Tip: I think from our experience they will all be good rooms as it is a quality hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hayley h h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Thanks for writing such a nice review - much appreciated by all here at the Inch. Let us know when you will be back, and we will see if that RIB can be in the water :) Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 624 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

Booked this through a Groupon deal. Was dubious of such a cheap deal but my oh my what a delightful surprise! This is a small hotel set on a hill about a mile before entering Fort Augustus itself. The staff were lovely, John and his wife Florentina made us feel very welcome on arrival. Our rooms were lovely, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Marian, the manager, is also a lovely chap with a ready smile. It has a comfortable old country house feel and a lovely view of Loch Ness from our room was a bonus. The wine, part of deal, was far nicer than many an expensive bottle we have had elsewhere and the food was sublime. This is one hotel where we will definitely look to return and visit. I can only say, please don't modernise it too much...keep that old country house air about it (and keep the "Narnia" wardrobe)...and keep that chef!! Our only mistake was eating elsewhere on second night...much the same price but not nearly as good. A mistake that would not be repeated. Even at full price, i would certainly consider visiting as a special treat. Well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a Loch view as forest view is literally looking into trees directly at back of hotel and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callumsnona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and particularly for mentioning the staff. It's really nice when guests appreciate all their efforts. We are all so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We're absolutely fascinated with what you found in that wardrobe :) We're going to have a look into it today! Best wishes from all at the Inch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Inch hotel is of the older, country hotel style. Room was good, if slightly tired, but very adequate. The location is perfect, with a great view of Loch Ness. Staff were very friendly and the food at dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. They serve what must be the best black pudding in the world -Munro's.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

So glad you had a good time. Thank you for taking the time to post a review - it's greatly appreciated by the team. Hope to see you again sometime. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

For a three star small hotel, the £99 we paid for two nights b&b plus bottle of wine on arrival was very good value for money however the listed price was £255 which would not be value for money.

The hotel is in a lovely scenic location overlooking the loch and just a short distance from Fort Augustus.

Unfortunately we were allocated a room at the rear of the hotel with no view however the room was a good size with ensuite toilet and shower in a separate room and a sink in the actual bedroom....this caused slight issues in the middle of the night when there was air in the water system and it sounds like the sink was blocked....although putting some water in the sink with the plug in appeared to do the trick!

The room itself was spacious although was top to toe in cream woodchip wallpaper which appeared very dated....in saying that, it was fresh and clean and bedding was nice. Being an old hotel, the walls looked thick however seemed to be very thin as we were awoken on night two by a very loud snorer......

The breakfasts were sufficient for our needs and all tastes were catered for.

All staff were pleasant and helpful during our stay and were willing to assist us in any way possible.

All in all, a good 3* break however for sleep quality, we would probably not return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fip11046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our stay at the Inch hotel was a pleasent one, staff were friendly and welcoming. Particulary the restaurant waiter who was always cheery. The food was nice but as said expensive, impressed to see that a bar menu is in the works as this would fill a missing gap. The views were amazing and the breakfast was good, the waffles went down a treat with my other half.

Suggestions

Leaflets in hotel room with information regarding hotel(bar times,checkout etc) and info on the surrounding area.
The shower was not the best of quality although I understand being an older hotel.
The gap in our door(room 16) due to the lock ment that the sound proofing wasn't the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thank you. We realise it takes effort to post a review, and are grateful that you took the time. The bar menu opens next week, and new information packs are actually going in all the rooms today, believe it or not. We're trying! Again, thank you and we are all delighted you enjoyed your break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

On the banks of Loch Ness you will find Fort Augustus and just outside is the Inch Hotel commanding wonderful views of the Loch.
We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed friendly staff, great food and a wonderful tipple of Whisky.
As it is outside the centre you will need to remember a torch to walk down a shortcut at night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mixalitsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2012

Thanks for the kind words, it is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Torches are available to borrow from reception, but the clocks have gone forward now and the longer evenings are here! Hope to see you again, and best wishes from all here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stayed here recently for a mid-week break and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff gave the most welcoming welcome and was polite, friendly and helpful in all respects.

There is a nice little bar for pre and post dinner imbibition and a large lounge, with a fire and comfortable settees for those who wish a more sedentary time or perhaps an intellectually stimulating game of Scrabble.

Dinner was served in a well-appointed dining room with proper-sized tables. There is a good choice of food and the menu was changed daily. Breakfast was served in the same room as dinner and was available until 10 am.

The hotel itself is within easy walking distance of the village of Fort Augustus and has a nice view out across Loch Ness.

The most refreshing thing about the “Inch” is that it allows dogs (for a small extra charge). Why on earth there are not more places like this is beyond me! For a so-called nation of animal lovers, when one has a dog it is often impossible to stay or eat at many places.

Oh, and for the benefit of earlier reviewers, we stayed in room six and there is no issue there!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spycatcher007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Inch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thanks on behalf of the whole staff team for such a charming review. It is good of you to take the time and much appreciated. So glad you enjoyed your stay and the redecorated room six! Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.8 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,260 reviews
7 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
751 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
500 reviews
18.9 mi away
Cluanie Inn
Cluanie Inn
#1 of 1 in Glenmoriston
298 reviews
14.7 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inch Hotel

Address: A82 Road, Fort Augustus PH32 4BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $121 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on the Great Glen Way and overlooking the world renowned Loch Ness, The Inch Hotel is proud of its spectacular setting. Not only does the Inch Hotel overlook the most iconic Scottish view, but the picturesque Glen Affric and impressive Caledonian Canal are also on its doorstep.The family run hotel boasts a welcoming and relaxed atmosphere, 14 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and first class restaurant serving locally sourced, freshly prepared food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inch Hotel Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing