We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Spacious south facing sunny lounge The lounge overlooking the abbey cloisters and mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Spacious south facing sunny lounge
The lounge overlooking the abbey cloisters and mountains
Master ensuite bedroom with King size bed
Large twin bedroom
Spacious twin bedded room with 2 single beds
The Old School at Fort Augustus Abbey
The Boathouse restaurant on site has superb views of Loch Ness
the Boathouse restaurant from Loch Ness
The club room with snooker and other table games
The Spa and swimming pool area (both not available at present) showing the beautiful architecture
The Highland Club swimming pool - not available at present - sorry
The Cloisters connects all parts of the abbey
The monastery and Loch Ness from the Old School clock tower
Kids love the giant lawn chess
Super views from the dining room
Children play safely in the Highland Club grounds
Light and airy master bedroom with kingsize bed
Caledonian canal is a short walk from the apartment
The Highland Club seen from Loch Ness
The depths of winter is simply magical at Loch Ness
Tennis court free to use
Open plan living area
Loch Ness from the roadside on south east side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
vhandley1
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed February 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most fantastic time at old school 11 ,the apartment was the best we have ever stayed in ,the most wonderful windows overlooking the courtyard and the mountains.My children thought they were at Hogwarts ! The pool ,the family room ,the grounds and the facilities in the apartment were brilliant,we stayed for the New year celebrations which were so much fun and we could have easily stayed another week ! I cant recommend it highly enough we will definately be going back in the future if we can.One of the best family holidays we have had in the nicest of places.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2015
What an amazing review ! Thank you so much. Must admit that we do agree with you, even your comment on Hogwarts, though we are, of course, biased ! We look forward to your return very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tellana1
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This apartment is fantastic. Book it.

I rented this apartment with a bit of trepidation--it was a week long stay--virtually our whole trip to Scotland--I had never rented an apartment overseas before, it only had 7 reviews--which were all good, but still, only 7--boy, was that a wasted bit of worry! Everything was great. We received very clear instructions on accessing the property (it's on a gated property) and getting the keys. Upon arrival we found the property manager easily and he gave us a full tour of the property with its ameneties before taking us to the apartment and walking us through how to use the dryer, heating system, etc.

We stayed here a full week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The apartment was very clean, very spacious, appointed with everything we needed, quiet, and the Abbey property was super peaceful. There were a number of families there and the kids seemed to really enjoy the chess set, playground, etc. We are used to B&Bs in Europe, so this was positively luxurious to us in terms of space. The beds and pillows were super, super comfortable as well. The property was also very much as advertised on the website, etc.

I really can't say enough good things about this apartment. If you are considering a rental in Fort Augustus, this is a great one!

Notes:
*Just fyi, there are a TON of brochures, etc. about local attractions in a drawer. I mention this because we didn't find them until the next to last day then felt sort of stupid, so if you can't find them right away, explore.
*The dryer takes longer than we expected (we are Americans so this may just be a cultural thing) so just fyi--it's not a problem at all but it's useful for Americans to know so you can plan accordingly.
*We loved the Boathouse Restaurant on Loch Ness--we did our own food in the apartment, but it was so nice at the end of the day to be able to just park and walk there and not have to worry about driving more or cooking!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Well thank you so much for your glowing review of our apartment. We do our best to make everything perfect for our visitors. Would love to see you again sometime.
PS. I will check out the drier anyway just in case the heating element is not functioning properly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miller280
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our fourth time at the Highland Club and the best apartment we've stayed in so far - so good in fact that we will be returning next year! Located on the first floor overlooking the cloisters, this apartment was the perfect base for our holiday. The location and facilities are excellent and we can't wait to come back for another relaxing week in this beautiful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review Rosemary and I look forward to welcoming you again next year, thank you for returning to Old School 11
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alastair...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality apartment, spacious, very well equipped and lots of on site activities for adults and children”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were shown around the facilities and the accommodation with everything clearly explained and questions answered. The apartment was spacious, well looked after and very well equipped with everything you would need for self catering. The quality of furnishings is excellent. An added bonus is free wifi.
The grounds of the Old Abbey are large and mainly grass with facilities too numerous to mention. Inside there is a really spacious clubroom which includes a snooker table,reading room and numerous games. There is a swimming pool,sauna,steam room and exercise room.
All these facilities are free.
A short walk takes you to the small village with well stocked local shops, hotels and pubs.
The area is great for walking,touring,and loch trips to go monster spotting!
Great place to stay and explore the highlands of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and spaciousness of the apartment and the views
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities and location of Old School 11 apartment. May I just say that some owners at The Highland Club charge extra for use of the facilities but Rosemary and I have never been keen on "extras" so offer fully inclusive prices which are nevertheless still lower than that of many of the other apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha O
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Blown away by this place, it was absolutely fantastic, could not of asked for better.

Long weekend away with the husband and 2 small boys (5 and 3). The accommodation was perfect, clean, tidy and modern.

The facilities were brilliant, especially having small children, outside playground, chess, bikes to hire, indoor pool, snooker room with games for children to also play with.

Being right on the Loch as well was stunning and fantastic.

The architecture and history of this place is wonderful.

Fort Augustus is also a lovely place, with all that you need on your doorstep.

We would 100% definitely return at some point.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Old School 11 apartment, we have so tried to make it into a home from home for our guests. We would love for you to return and look forward to greeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
Hi Rosemary and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our apartment, we are very proud of it. We look forward to welcoming you back,if there is anything you would like us to arrange for your return please let us know and we will do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ultratrav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great apartment with an amazing view of the courtyard!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Really happy with our stay in the Old School 11 apartment. Situated within the old abbey at the Highland Club, the views the many large windows display the courtyard beautifully. The decor was fresh and light. We came with our parents and a child and they all fit comfortably in this apartment. It is a unique lodging experience to be able to stay in an old abbey, felt as if we were on set at a Harry Potter movie. You cannot beat the location, as it is right on Loch Ness and you can catch the boat tours by walking down a short path from the Highland Club. Would love to come back again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing