We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful location for a relaxing break”
other travelers have booked this property
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Spacious south facing sunny lounge The lounge overlooking the abbey cloisters and mountains
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Highland Club at St Benedicts abbey
Spacious south facing sunny lounge
The lounge overlooking the abbey cloisters and mountains
Master ensuite bedroom with King size bed
Large twin bedroom
Spacious twin bedded room with 2 single beds
The Old School at Fort Augustus Abbey
The Boathouse restaurant on site has superb views of Loch Ness
the Boathouse restaurant from Loch Ness
The club room with snooker and other table games
The Spa and swimming pool area showing the beautiful architecture
The Highland Club swimming pool
The Cloisters connects all parts of the abbey
The monastery and Loch Ness from the Old School clock tower
Kids love the giant lawn chess
Super views from the dining room
Children play safely in the Highland Club grounds
Light and airy master bedroom with kingsize bed
Caledonian canal is a short walk from the apartment
The Highland Club seen from Loch Ness
The depths of winter is simply magical at Loch Ness
Tennis court free to use
Open plan living area
Loch Ness from the roadside on south east side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
miller280
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful location for a relaxing break”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

This was our fourth time at the Highland Club and the best apartment we've stayed in so far - so good in fact that we will be returning next year! Located on the first floor overlooking the cloisters, this apartment was the perfect base for our holiday. The location and facilities are excellent and we can't wait to come back for another relaxing week in this beautiful place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review Rosemary and I look forward to welcoming you again next year, thank you for returning to Old School 11
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alastair...
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality apartment, spacious, very well equipped and lots of on site activities for adults and children”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were shown around the facilities and the accommodation with everything clearly explained and questions answered. The apartment was spacious, well looked after and very well equipped with everything you would need for self catering. The quality of furnishings is excellent. An added bonus is free wifi.
The grounds of the Old Abbey are large and mainly grass with facilities too numerous to mention. Inside there is a really spacious clubroom which includes a snooker table,reading room and numerous games. There is a swimming pool,sauna,steam room and exercise room.
All these facilities are free.
A short walk takes you to the small village with well stocked local shops, hotels and pubs.
The area is great for walking,touring,and loch trips to go monster spotting!
Great place to stay and explore the highlands of Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and spaciousness of the apartment and the views
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities and location of Old School 11 apartment. May I just say that some owners at The Highland Club charge extra for use of the facilities but Rosemary and I have never been keen on "extras" so offer fully inclusive prices which are nevertheless still lower than that of many of the other apartments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasha O
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Blown away by this place, it was absolutely fantastic, could not of asked for better.

Long weekend away with the husband and 2 small boys (5 and 3). The accommodation was perfect, clean, tidy and modern.

The facilities were brilliant, especially having small children, outside playground, chess, bikes to hire, indoor pool, snooker room with games for children to also play with.

Being right on the Loch as well was stunning and fantastic.

The architecture and history of this place is wonderful.

Fort Augustus is also a lovely place, with all that you need on your doorstep.

We would 100% definitely return at some point.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Old School 11 apartment, we have so tried to make it into a home from home for our guests. We would love for you to return and look forward to greeting you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
Hi Rosemary and I are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our apartment, we are very proud of it. We look forward to welcoming you back,if there is anything you would like us to arrange for your return please let us know and we will do our best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ultratrav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great apartment with an amazing view of the courtyard!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2013

Really happy with our stay in the Old School 11 apartment. Situated within the old abbey at the Highland Club, the views the many large windows display the courtyard beautifully. The decor was fresh and light. We came with our parents and a child and they all fit comfortably in this apartment. It is a unique lodging experience to be able to stay in an old abbey, felt as if we were on set at a Harry Potter movie. You cannot beat the location, as it is right on Loch Ness and you can catch the boat tours by walking down a short path from the Highland Club. Would love to come back again!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StefBrisb...
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Abbey apartment”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful old Abbey in lovely setting in good location (Fort Augustus) for exploring several areas around West Scotland. Good local restaurants/pubs – with a good restaurant on site by the Loch. Very comfortable spacious apartment – with all kitchen and other amenities provided – great place to stay for several days. Clean, attractive décor – and other facilities available at Abbey e.g. pool table etc. Abbey manager showed us to the apartment but there were no staff or other concierge type services (e.g. someone to carry bags) but didn’t matter – it was lovely – quite a few stairs to the apartment but that was good for us after eating all that yummy food!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous setting and comfortable well appointed
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No Faults
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2013
We are proud of our apartment and absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review and we would love to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$116
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing