We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Magical”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
45 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MyBackPag...
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed a the Boy's Dormitory for a week this April for our first trip to Scotland. It was the best experience we have ever had in all of our years of traveling. The location at the foot of Loch Ness was gorgeous. The property was so serene and beautiful we could have stayed there all week and been happy! The rooms themselves were immaculate and beautiful, comfortable and homey... Mark & Laurie have provided every possible thing you can think of to make a stay here comfortable and enjoyable. We had everything we could need from a welcome bottle of wine to fluffy bathrobes... It was better than we had even imagined it would be. Thank you! We will not hesitate to stay again on our next visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki G
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Completely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I've visited Scotland 3 times and have stayed in several self catering and B&B's. I can honestly say that the Abbey and the Boys Dormitory is by far and above the BEST place I've stayed. I spent 10 nights there and did not want to leave.
The apartment view is well worth the climb up the stairs. The view is beyond spectacular. There's nothing better than sitting with a cup of tea and shortbread and watching the rain or snow on Loch Ness from that gorgeous arched window in the main room.
Every amenity is provided and the decor is really comfortable and lovely. I felt at home the moment I walked in the door.
I got the wi-fi to work in the apartment most of the time, even though it's only supposed to work in the lounge. The bed was extremely comfortable. The claw foot tub was a welcome amenity after a day of skiing (and falling). The books and movies provided offered something for everyone and kept the spirit of the Highlands going even while staying in for the evening.
The Abbey itself is gorgeous and a lot of fun to explore on a snowy day. The booklet that Mark and Laurie provide is full of really wonderful places to explore. Ft. Augustus is a great base to explore the Highlands.
The staff and residents of the Abbey were equally great. They make you feel right at home. I left with several new friends.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: sometimes the wifi didn't work in the apt, but technically, it's only supposed to work in the lounge anyway.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katyed
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Matches up to expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The apartment matches up to all the good comments. The decor and quality of the apartment is superior to any other self catering place that we have stayed. The most important part however is the amazing view of the Loch! The apartment owners are very friendly and helpful as are the staff at the Highland Club.

The village is only a minute or two to walk and has essential shops and at least one very good pub - The Loch Inn. The longest drive we made was an hour to see Eilean Donan but there are plenty of nearby sights and information is left in the apartment to help you out.

We were on our honeymoon as were the people before us and it sounds like the people after got engaged!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falcontra...
everywhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Engagement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights stay in the Boys Dormitory. We left a happy couple and returned a happy couple who are now engaged! I popped the question in the lounge overlooking the loch with the sun streaming through...it couldn't have been better :)

We arrived with high expectations given the wonderful reviews and lovely pictures and I have to say even those were exceeded. The whole Abbey is beautiful with copious facilities to help you enjoy your stay but the apartment and that incredible view are what made this such a special place for us. We will certainly be returning in the years to come (as lots of others have done according to the guestbook) and could not praise the Boys Dormitory highly enough. 10/10!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The amazing view of the loch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katiemayb...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect place for a romantic, relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We booked a four-night stay in February, arriving by bus from Inverness Airport. Getting there was simple and we were welcomed with a thorough tour of the abbey's facilities and the apartment including a bottle of fizz in the fridge.

The location was idea for the amount of time we had - we were able to take a different walking route each day without needing a car. We brought some food with us for the first couple of days but needn't have as the local shops and butcher in Fort Augustus are well stocked.

February was a great time to visit because it was very quiet and peaceful. The pool, sauna and steam room are beautifully converted and well managed. We were usually the only ones there.

The apartment itself is absolutely stunning. Everything is of high quality and all our needs were catered for, including a kitchen that was a joy to cook in and a good stash of DVDs for the evenings. We were sad to leave and will definitely be visiting again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZurichAla...
2 reviews
“Best apartment we have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We booked a romantic three night stay between Christmas and Hogmanay, and couldn't have been more pleased with the choice! The fort is a huge, breathtaking building located at the heart of the highlands with unsurpassed views over the loch. The Boys Dormitory is a luxurious conversion fitted to the highest standards. The two main views over the Abbey and loch need to be seen to be believed! We loved the small touches and enjoyed our first evening watching Braveheart with the complimentary wine and Scottish shortcakes. Really a very unique and enjoyable vacation. If you want to see the highlands you couldn't pick a more romantic or historic location to stay

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrsbradbu...
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Can't wait to book again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

The Boys Dormitory is a truly wonderful place , it's warm and cosy and the view from the arch window down the loch is magnificent whether its raining or the sun is shinning . We have been there on two occasions in the last two years , and can't wait to go back . The area is great for walking, mountain biking or just sitting by the canal with a pint watching the boats navigating through the various lochs.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: View of Loch Ness out of the arch window
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing