We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect luxurious romantic getaway”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground.
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emma T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect luxurious romantic getaway”
Reviewed January 5, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We stayed in the Boys Dormitory for 5 nights for my 30th birthday weekend and it lived up to and exceeded our expectations. Much bigger than it seemed from the photos it still managed to be warm and cosy, you could quite easily spend every evening sunk into the comfy sofas reading, watching TV or just looking at the amazing view from the living room window. We were lucky enough to have snow after a couple of days as well, my camera got a new lease of life! It's all top spec, there's no expense spared on the furnishings - I wish my kitchen at home was as well kitted out.

The abbey itself is fascinating to walk around, it feels a bit like Hogwarts and it was all but deserted apart from a few workmen who were building the swimming pool. We had a sneeky look around it and it looks like it would be very nice when built. There is a giant club lounge with snooker table and an oversized chess board in the courtyard for wizards chess. Highlights of Fort Augustus village are the canal, The Lock Inn for really tasty pub grub, the Lovat restaurant for more gourmet and pricey food for a special occasion and we quite liked the 'Rare Breeds Croft' which was like a zoo for farmyard animals (they have a sheep called Elvis!). It was a shame that very often things seemed to be closed such as the souvenir shop and the pub on occasions but I suppose we did go out of season, probably not worth them being open if there's no-one about.

We didn't go on a Loch Ness boat tour but we did take the bus up to Urquhart castle and walked (!) to Drumnadrochit village. The guy at the castle told us it was 5 minutes but I think he assumed we had a car (I think we were quite unusual in not having one). A rainy hour later we made it and had the same problem with nothing being open. We took sanctuary, tired and hungry in the Ben Leva pub/B&B who weren't serving food but had a cosy fire, and then we realised why the dormitory provides you with shortbread which we had brought. It was the ONLY way we managed to survive. If I were to go back there I would like to go to the Loch Ness museum, I think there is a lot more to be gotten out of Loch Ness in the summer months, but the price of accommodation does reflect that.

Overall a place to go to relax, not do much, look out for nessie (unfortunately we did not see her) and escape from the world. We heeded someone elses advice and bought a lot of food in Inverness to take with us, but I think the village was pretty well stocked actually. There was a butcher and couple of small supermarkets that were open most of the time. It's a gorgeous place to stay, I would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Leaving :(
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WOOLFRW
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2011

My wife and I spent a week in July of 2011 at The Boy's Dormitory and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The apartment is spacious, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished, and comfortable, with a wonderful view over Loch Ness. The location was ideal as a base for exploring. We travelled the circumference of Loch Ness, hiked Highland trails, made two trips to Skye with many side trips enroute and each day loved coming "home" to the apartment. The staff at the monastery were very helpful, as well. It is necessary to climb a number of flights of stairs to reach the apartment but the view and the loveliness of the accomodation make this a minor inconvenience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning apartment, outstanding location, in one word perfection!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in November 2011

This is the best holiday apartment that we have stayed in and we have been staying in self catering accommodation for over 20 years. The apartment is equipped to a very high standard and there is everything you could possibly want. The location within the Abbey would be difficult to surpass. After the climb up the stairs (phew!) the spectacular view from this apartment makes the effort pale into insignificance. On arrival we were warmly greeted and nothing was too much trouble. A short walk brings you to The Boathouse Restaurant which we found to be very pleasant, good views over Loch Ness, very polite staff and not least, good food. A trip up the loch on the Royal Scot is a must as is a trip up the cable car at Anoch Mor (a clear day is best to enjoy the stunning views). Even though it was November we were blessed with a week of excellent weather, clear blue skies and sunshine. A loch side stroll, illuminated by a full moon, was an experience never to be forgotten. This is somewhere that we definitely want to return and our thanks go to Mark & Laurie for allowing us to stay in their wonderful apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the apartment
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puzzlelli...
Telford, Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Idyllic, magical and truly wonderful”
Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in September 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Boys Dormitory for one week at the end of September and it was the first and only holiday we've ever had where we didn't want to come back home. The location is truly wonderful and the views are spectacular.

We unashamedly stayed in the apartment for most nights as no matter where else you went, the views from the sofa looking over the Loch were unrivalled and we wanted to savour every moment.

There is every imaginable luxury in the apartment and attention to detail is second to none. I cooked some lovely food during our stay and never had a problem with lack of utensils or equipment.

The village of Fort Augustus is gorgeous and only a short but and scenic walk from the Abbey. Food in The Bothy was good and the staff friendly. For something quick and easy, the cafe opposite the Abbey was very good too. The local butchers sold nice quality food if you too fancy a night or two in. :-)). There is a good quality local store for essentials but the staff were always a little grumpy. This was a small detail to an otherwise perfect holiday.

Driving out to the Loch Ness Centre was a nice trip out and the short cruise down the Loch was beautiful too.

The only thing to be aware of at The Boys Dormitory are the numerous steps to get there if you are not fit and able bodied. However, the owners do make this perfectly clear on their website and, you don't mind this once you reach the top and arrive at a little slice of heaven.

Every turn in the Abbey and the apartment itself holds a different breathtaking view and wonderful surprise and if we had the opportunity I wouldn't hesitate in attempting to buy it from the owners (but I'm sure they wouldn't sell).

We will definitely be going back once we've got our heads around the very long journey from Shropshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the apartment finish, the furnishings and spectacular views
Liked least: Havjng to leave at the end of the week
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$135
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing