We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stopped here for a night on our way past on the Great Glen Way. It was in a good location in the village. Very comfortable and bright rooms and breakfast was very good. Dinner in the hotel is an option. Lovely bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela99X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel quiet and unpretentious , beautifully clean and the family owners gave us a silver service tea tray upon arrival
We will most definately return for a week next year and use the hotel as our base for walking
Fort Augustus so much nicer than fort William

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eljay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is a family run hotel. Johanna and her husband presently manage the property. We found them to be very warm and friendly. The room was nice (room # 4). The en-suite bathroom is worth mentioning. Wonderful view from the bedroom window. The hotel is a short walk away from the village and the loch. enjoyed the breakfast as well.
Overall, this is a good hotel to stay.
I would have appreciated if the room rate had been a tad lower. I would have loved to see this to be GBP 75 for 2 in place of GBP 85.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kdsmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just back from a bike trip and stayed again at the Caledonian. Hotel was marvellous again with great service and food. I had a breakdown on the bike and when Chris heard he arranged for the local garage to open up at 8.30pm on the Saturday night to start the repair, bike needed a part and Chris once again got on the phone around the village and by the Sunday lunchtime the bike was back on the road. He really goes out of his way to make you welcome and because of this we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easyriderScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longniddry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Small but perfectly formed, with a family atmosphere, cosy beds, great bar and excellent locally sourced food. Hearty breakfasts and nourishing, classic dinners with good wines. Worth every penny. Also mine host is a font of local knowledge.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

There is very little I can add to what others have said. The place is GREAT. It has the best porridge in Scotland. Be sure to order it before bedtime. Chris also has one of the better stocked scotch bars that I've come across. He very graciously helped me sample many of the ones I had never tried before. Thanks Chris.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elgin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are 2 lady walkers who experienced such amazing Highland hospitality and kindness from Chris who helped us out during our Great Glen walk last week. His generosity was much appreciated and ......we weren't even residents! Thank you from Lesley and Alison. We'll be back for the ceilidh!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dodson_lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. They find the Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing