We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for the 5th Time in 5 years. The MG Club love it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonian Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Back for the 5th Time in 5 years. The MG Club love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Back for the 5th MG Club trip. Stayed from Saturday till Wednesday. Toured the West Coast to Inverewe Gardens and Nairn on the East side as well as the Road to Nowhere. (Ask Chris for directions) Caledonian was well up to standard, pleasant welcome as ever. Great value the best in Scotland. Bar prices very good, entertainment by Jim Terry and the local musicians great.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We initially booked “The Caley” for a single night. However because the hospitality was found to be truly wonderful and homely we ended up extending our stay for the 5 days left of our holiday!

This small family run hotel is in an ideal location just a couple of minutes walk from the Loch Ness, where we had a fast and exhilarating ride on the rigid inflatable boat (RIB) – highly recommended.

The accommodation is just what you need, nice clean and comfortable rooms with a modern shower room. The breakfast and evening meal is excellent and the service and welcome you get is one of the best we have experienced. There is a small bar area where you can relax and unwind at the end of the day to sample some of the local whiskeys and chat to some of the locals who often come in. Once a fortnight they have local musicians who come in and liven up the atmosphere with traditional Scottish music. The husband and wife who run the hotel are very friendly and very helpful, if you need anything or need advice where to visit.

The only criticism was we were made to feel so welcome we didn’t want to leave. Will we visit and stay again, that’s a definite!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

I know - it doesn't look much from the outside, but don't be fooled. The hotel is spotless, the service is personal and friendly, the position is perfect, and the food the drink tops the list of plus points in our opinion. It is honestly 5* food at 2* prices.
Maybe internet access would be the only addition I would make, to search the area for things to do, I know it would be welcomed.

Conclusion excellent all round!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

This 3 star hotel excells at what it sets out to do. No spas, massages, pools or other expensive trimmings but good clean, well appointed accomodation. There is a large dinning room, a comfortable lounge and a bar which attracts outsiders. Prices are set at a very reasonable £40 B&B plus £22.50 for dinner but this is reduced dramatically to £50 D, B&B for stays of more than 3 nights. Bar prices are the fairest in town with all beers (cask ales) and Guinness priced at £2.50 a pint.
Our room was small but we were the last booking. This was compensated for by a good sized, newly appointed bathroom, not just a shower room.
During our 5 nights we were entertained variously by a saxophonist, folk violinists and a rendition of Robbie Burnes in true Scots vernacular. Chris the co-owner seems to have an endless source of musician friends.
No complaints but one suggestion. There could be more maps and guide books available for guests to peruse in the lounge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is our 7th annual trip to Scotland with our MG car club. The 4th trip to this hotel. We took over the whole of the hotel as well as 2 rooms in the Cedar Gates B and B 200yards up the road. We stayed on a Bed Breakfast and evening meal tariff. Once again service was excellent, the bar ideal and the food well up to standard. For me the Caledonian is still the best value hotel in Scotland. The rest of my party must agree as i am being asked already to book again in 2011

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pschmgoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

For comfort. hospitality and food and a real highland welcome you just can't beat "The Caley". We love it and have no hesitation in recommending it. It appears to be the favourite of the locals.We will return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

Spent three nights DBB here. Wonderful friendly staff who looked after every need. Accommodation is a good size and very comfortable. Hearty breakfast and dinner cooked to order with a varied menu. Wonderful home cooked food and attentive friendly waiting staff. Friendly bar and lounge area downstairs extends the welcome. (even a putting green out the back!). An excellent base at the south of Loch Ness

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust78202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.1 mi away
Glengarry Castle Hotel
Glengarry Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Invergarry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian House
Caledonian House
#12 of 29 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Fort William Road | by Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Highland Hotel has been run by MacLellans of Mallaig Bheag since 1978. Over the last 30 years the Caledononian Hotel has built up a large number or visitors who stay at least once a year. They find the Caledonian Hotel is an ideal base to visit the rest of the Highlands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing