We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are much better B&Bs.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed in the downstairs back room and it felt damp. First night - the sheets felt damp and it seemed to be the only room with the damp, musty smell.

There was builing work going on in the sun room beside this room and the windows were left open all day in there - this just added to the coldness of this back bedroom.

There didn't seem to be any heating on, and as a result - all the clothes we had brought became musty smelling from just being in the room.

The water pumps from the bathrooms sounded like pneumatic drills.

Breakfast was in a cramped dark room, and was of a pretty poor standard. Vegetarian breakfast was tiny and the only replacement for meat was a teaspoon of mushrooms.

The B&B was in a good location though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2010

We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us, and it is unfortunate that they didn't share their problems so that we could solve them during their 3 day stay.

We have built a sun-room that will shortly be our guest breakfast room, but this is separated from the guests until it is finished and we feel does not impact on the guests experience, however we have remedied the view for the short term.

We do offer a fruit alternative to our cooked vegetarian option, and as this is a new addition to our menu we would have gratefully accepted any advice on improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2010

We booked two rooms at Abbey Cottage. We paid the required deposit and our booking was accepted. A little over two weeks later our booking was cancelled "due to circumstances out of our control we are uable to offer you one of the rooms ". The room was already booked. You make up your own mind!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank GeeMickDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 13, 2010

Unfortunatly we had to advise the guest that one of the rooms they booked would be unavailable, which was due to our concerns over the required works to the room being completed in time, and rather than wait and chance it we decided to give them us much notice as possible, 23 days.

We offered the booking for one of the rooms and advised of availability at an nearby B&B with rooms available at the time, however this offer was not taken and a full refund of the deposit for both rooms was given.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

A quaint and qurky building seeped in history. Set in a fabulous location next to the canal and a short walk from Loch Ness. Very clean and welcoming offering top hospitality, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearsonjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank anne4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinmarillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank aristo315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 27 in Fort Augustus
197 reviews
0 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#13 of 27 in Fort Augustus
117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corrie Liath B & B
Corrie Liath B & B
#11 of 27 in Fort Augustus
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $67 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing