We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm hospitality on a cold Scottish night”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 29 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality on a cold Scottish night”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Welcomed in from a cold Scottish evening efficiently and warmly. Found the downstairs double room to be excellent value for money, ample room for everything we needed. The shower was a welcome sight and worked fantastically well with very good pressure and decent heat. Breakfast was served with a smile and a bit of a blether. Great hosts, clean and tidy room and a hearty breakfast, well worth a visit!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotsmanSaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    19
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
104
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed in the ground floor double room. It was fully renovated, clean, big washroom and excellent shower, comfortable bed. Breakfast was very nice and host was helpful, friendly and accommodating. B&B is well located in town and walking distance to everything. Would definately recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melliesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed for three nights in early September as I was in Fort Augustus for a wedding. I loved staying at Abbey Cottage and was made to feel welcome from the moment I arrived. My room was nice (if a little small) and it had a lovely en-suite bathroom. The bed was also very comfortable. A highlight for me was the great cooked breakfast. The best cooked breakfast I've had in a long time! I hope to visit again some time soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night when we were up for the loch ness marathon. Fantastic b and b in a great position. Handy for sight seeing and meals out. Great owners who were very accomodating. Would definitely recommend the double room in the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestCoastCouple6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and my Girlfriend stayed here early Autumn 2011. We managed to get a lovely double bedroom last minute and arrived a bit late in the evening around 8pm which was no problem, Mike was very welcoming and made us feel at home straight away! The bedroom was wonderfully appointed and made us feel like we could really relax. The bathroom too felt clean and new. We had a great night sleep and breakfast in the morning was also extremely good. The dining area is in a lovely bright conservatory type room. A large selections of different food options and great cooked food with daily specials.

The location was ideal too, next to Loch Ness and the perfect stop over on our trip round Scotland!

Would definitely stay again and absolutely would recommend Abbey Cottage!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J2012UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A truly great find. We were very fortunate to get a room in this lovely b & b. Mike was most welcoming, even carried our bags upstairs for us. The room is very thoughtfully appointed. Our only complaint would be the lack of reading lights by the bed.
The breakfast, served in a wonderful bright sunroom, was made to order and delicious and filling.
A wonderful location for touring around the Loch Ness area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Abbey Cottage was a great mix of old and new. Charming, yet equipped with modern comforts; spotless yet retaining the cottage feel. Right in the heart of Ft. Augustus and a few steps from restaurants, shops, pubs, and the impressive lock system. Loch Ness is a short stroll away, on paths that open to a panoramic vista of this natural icon.

Lovely decor. A truly impressive attention to detail. The innkeepers were friendly, accomodating. Several options for breakfast, including the traditional Scottish spread-were served in the light-filled sunroom and were delicious. The only issue was a long wait on morning two.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,131 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 29 in Fort Augustus
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
#3 of 10 in Fort Augustus
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing