We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Augustus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A truly great find. We were very fortunate to get a room in this lovely b & b. Mike was most welcoming, even carried our bags upstairs for us. The room is very thoughtfully appointed. Our only complaint would be the lack of reading lights by the bed.
The breakfast, served in a wonderful bright sunroom, was made to order and delicious and filling.
A wonderful location for touring around the Loch Ness area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    21
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
110
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Abbey Cottage was a great mix of old and new. Charming, yet equipped with modern comforts; spotless yet retaining the cottage feel. Right in the heart of Ft. Augustus and a few steps from restaurants, shops, pubs, and the impressive lock system. Loch Ness is a short stroll away, on paths that open to a panoramic vista of this natural icon.

Lovely decor. A truly impressive attention to detail. The innkeepers were friendly, accomodating. Several options for breakfast, including the traditional Scottish spread-were served in the light-filled sunroom and were delicious. The only issue was a long wait on morning two.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked late and found this 'gem' in the village. Easy to find and centrally placed. Great reception from the owner (Jason). Shown room and given a briefing on Fort Augustus - a wonderful place to spend an enjoyable weekend. Village was very busy due to major event (Coast to Coast) in the area over the weekend which made it an enjoyable lively place to be. Our room was immaculate and had everything one would need - tea & coffee, safe, large, wine glasses, bottle opener & comfortable bed with pristine sheets and pillows. Bathroom / shower room was ideal - large walk in power shower with shampoo and shower gel. All in all the room had everything we needed and as good as any 5 start hotel.
Breakfast was delightful - well presented and varied choice. The conservatory was an opportunity to have breakfast and watch the local wildlife.
One of, if not the best B&B, we have stayed in. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room. Can only imagine all the rooms will be similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved this little b & b - it is scrupulously clean, with very good breakfasts, and a charming host who went out of his way to make us welcome. We were impressed by little touches like two wine-glasses and a bottle opener in the room, flannels provided (very unusual) and all lovely matching things in their signature colour of white (even to the juice glasses on the breakfast table - very tasteful!) There are also families of rabbits wandering round the front lawn watching us eat our breakfast!
Fort Augustus is not a particularly lively place, and I cannot imagine anyone staying there for more than one night as a stop-off, but we would thoroughly recommend Abbey Cottage to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citybreakfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I booked the single and a double for myself and two teenage girls and we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay here for two nights.
The house itelf is lovely and the owners, Mike and Jay, could not have been more friendly or welcoming. They were very helpful in pointing us to some local highlights (Thanks - the meal at the Boathouse was very nice!).
I was worried that the two teen girls would be too loud etc but the owners were absoultely fine and we all found our rooms perfectly clean, tidy and well equipped.
Breakfast in the mornings were lovely in the conservatory, watching wild rabbits in the garden etc and the food itself was cooked and presented to perfection (though we admit we didn't sample the black pudding or haggis).
I can seriously not find anything to nitpick at bar 1 thing: the girls in the double room had a gorgeous huge walk-in shower while my single room only had a normal (excellent strength) shower cubicle - i couldn't dance and sing in mine like they could!

Room Tip: I would book a double even if I was a single just to get that huge walk-in shower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcaroundworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Abbey Cottage was definitely the best B&B we stayed in during our 10days road trip round Scotland. Beautiful and clean rooms and the breakfast, with choice from several options and a day`s special, was served in conservatory. We recommend this B&B to everyone planning their stay in Fort Augustus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fantastic B&B in a beautiful village!!! Rooms are decorated with very good taste. There's also a variety of coffe, tea, milk etc. so you can prepare yourself your hot drinks before going to bed. But the best of the place is the breakfast. It is prepared to order and you have a wide range to choose from the traditional scottish breakfast to the speciallity of the day. Whatever you choose is delicious. In addition when it is served with the amability of the owners, the chill out music and the weather forecast news on the screen, it makes the perfect start of the day. Very reasonable quality - price!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29carles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richmond House Hotel
Richmond House Hotel
#12 of 27 in Fort Augustus
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Abbey Cottage Main Street | Off the A82 between the former Benedictine Abbey and the Caledonian Canal, Fort Augustus PH32 4BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of Fort Augustus. We offer 4 fully en-suite bedrooms throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Cottage Bed And Breakfast Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing