We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”
Review of The Moorings

The Moorings
Ranked #13 of 16 Restaurants in Fort Augustus
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Location is nice - right next to the Cruise Loch Ness stop. Food was just okay and service was slow. If you go here, beware the hourly rush of just before and after the cruises. There is a barage of people around lunch time and difficult to use the restroom.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    55
    76
    45
    132
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Terrible food! No service! Opportunistic! If it were not for the Loch Ness this "restaurant" could not exist. Simply unedible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Greasy, Greasy, Greasy”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

On our way back to our holiday apartment in Portavadie Marina we decided to stop at this place for lunch after visiting Neptune's Staircase. On ordering our food and drinks, which were kindly bought over to our table we noticed that 2 of the glasses had lipstick on them, not a good sign I thought. We took the drinks back to the bar, the lady was apologetic and obviously replaced our drinks. Shortly after that our lunch was bought out,the fish and chips were a good sized portion but was so greasy all I could eat was the chips and peas. Our other 2 dining companions had no complaints about their food, they said it was very tasty. With 4 drinks and 4 meals the bill came to over £60 so it wasn't a cheap lunch. Avoid this place, not worth it!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice Snack”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place to go if you looking for a quick snack before going on the boat trips ect. Priced very reasonably and waiter very nice man from Italy. Relaxed atmosphere, lovely view of the Canal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingle Creek hotel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Outstanding Food”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have just moved into the area and have had several takeaways from here. We can honestly say that this is the best food that we have had in Scotland. There are four of us and we have a takeaway night every week. What makes this place stand out from others is that the quality of the food is always excellent.

We highly recommend their food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BENcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorings also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Moorings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing