We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! We loved that place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 27 Fort Augustus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Elaine and John gives us a very very warm welcome! After a long trip with our bikes, this welcome was so lovely!
The room was just perfect! We had a big bed and a very sweet bathroom with a bathtub! (This was perfect after our long trip :-))
Of course it was very clean, too!
Also the breakfast was very good! We had Scottish breakfast. John cooked that perfectly! Thank you so much for that!

A really highlight was that Eleane took us to the city center and picked us up there again!! so we had a very good dinner there.

All in all it was a very very lovely place and we enjoyed our stay so much! Unfortunately it was only one night, but it prepared us perfectly fort the next trip to drumnadrochit!
Dear Elaine and John, Thank you so much for everything and the wonderful stay!

Cheers
Jessie & Flo

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallysubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Hello Jessie and Flo

Well, thank you so much for such a glowing review, John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you found everything to your liking.

I was more than happy to drop you both off into the village for your meal, as you had a long cycle that day and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal too.

John also says thank you for the mention of his breakfast, he does his best to please.

Thank you both again and we hope that the rest of your trip on the Great Glen Way went smoothly for you.

It was lovely to meet you both.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Only stayed one night while cycling The Great Glen Way.
I received a really warm welcome from John and Elaine and was shown to a really lovely single room. The bathroom across the landing was also first class.
Breakfast was first class and was served in a lovely breakfast room.
The property is a couple of mile from the center of St Augustus and set in a beautiful, peaceful location.
Nothing is too much trouble for John and Elaine. They even offers lifts to and from the village center for visitors who might need to get to pubs and restaurants in the evening, ie cyclist.
An exceptional guesthouse at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: The property is immaculate throughout. I'm sure all the bedrooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Hello Graham

Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review on your stay with us here at Mavisburn. John and I are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. John is also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast too, which we hope set you up for the next part of your trip up the Glen!

It was lovely to meet you and we hope that the rest of your tour was also enjoyable for you.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The helpfulness, suggestions for sites to see, a simple gesture as to pick us up after a long hike for our way back, the friendliness and hospitality. I can not stretch enough how driven John and Elaine are to make your stay a welcome and a good one. Thanks to both of you for doing so! ;-) whenever we will be back in the neighborhood we will be sure to drop by! Cheers, Corno and Tanya

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornoTanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hello Corno and Tanja

Thank you for writing such a lovely review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and you were both more than welcome; we enjoyed your company.

If you ever come back this way again, of course, we would be delighted to see you both here at Mavisburn.

Thanks again

Best Wishes
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My partner and I spent two nights there, although it was not the superior our room was big and warm, the garden is lovely and the whole place perfectly clean. Just so you know there is a 5 minutes drive to town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Ben. John and I are pleased that the standard double room was comfortable for you and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and it was a pleasure to meet you both.

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lovely warm welcome from Elaine as I arrived and the accommodation is beautiful. Every conceivable item you would need is supplied. Slept very well and woke to the sounds of birds chirping away. Fabulous Scottish breakfast, would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much Alison for taking the time to put a review on Tripadvisor, with regards to your short stay with us. John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your welcome to our home and that everything was perfect for you. It was a pleasure to meet you.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards
Elaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Elaine and John were wonderful hosts, with an eye for detail and a beautiful guest house.
We stayed in a very large double en suite (first one at the top of the stairs). The bed was huge, and the bathroom was fresh and modern, with big fluffy towels.
The room was warm and made up daily
We had complementary mineral water with biscuits in our room, replaced daily.
The breakfast room/guest sitting room was bright and airy with the breakfast table looking out on to the garden and bird feeders. Goes without saying that breakfast was beautiful.
We were initially worried that the guesthouse was too far out of Fort Augustus village but it was a short drive (or walk) down to dinner. Coming back to such a beautiful place with the sky lit up with the stars made any short car trip into the village worth it.
Elaine and John could not have been more helpful recommending walks and places to go, plus an honest overview of the different dinner options in the village.

I really think that this guesthouse could charge more, given that we have paid the same at other guest houses and had much less of a room and welcome!

Room Tip: 1st room at top of stairs : used to be a family (3 bed) room but they converted it into a large luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExploringTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and reviewing your stay with us here. John and I are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the room and that everything needed was available for you.

It was a pleasure to meet you both and hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Scotland and that your journey back home was a good one.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We are big travellers, both abroad and the UK, in particular Scotland. We are diverse travellers, regularly "roughing it" with the family tent and occasionally B+B's. The first thing to note is price. It worked out £30 per adult per night and when you consider or indeed compare this price with one at, say, Blackpool (urgh), you get a flavour of the sheer quality of this cottage. If you thin of it as basically somebody's retirement dream home, large as a home yet small / modest as a business. Lovely cosy hallway the second you walk in and believe me the first thing your instinct tells you to do is....take your shoes off lol. It really is that clean! We stayed in a double room - en suite and so very very cozy. Went mid Feb when the temps outside were as you would expect in the Highlands in winter. Yet the room was constantly warm and snug! Secure parking and only about 2 miles to the village, St Augustus. Easy to walk into the village but if you are thinking of driving because you can't be bothered walking, Elaine and John will probably run you there in the car!! Hosts most friendly, welcoming, fantastic breakfast with attention to detail SO fab that they seat you at breakfast facing out across their acre of garden where they have over the years persuaded dozens of species of wildlife to have their breakfast too! As you eat yours, the birds eat theirs with the glorious Scottish Highlands as your wallpaper. I say "under rated" because the books / guides (Visit this and that / AA etc etc) say 3 star??? I have stayed in 4 star places that were so very much pretending, in hindsight. Warm, VERY comfortable, GREAT rooms, GREAT atmosphere, GREAT location. (Some young-uns may say its too far out from the "night life" etc lol. Thats good isn't it?? It's in the middle of Scottish woodland / nature land, one road in one road out....brilliant. Close enough to all you will need or want. 15 minutes brisk walk or 25 summer plod.)
If you're going to the area anyway, why bother searching for days online - couples / newlyweds - PERFECT. Walkers / Climbers / Bikers - PERFECT. Quiet !!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We stayed in the "Red room" down the hallway to your right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mavisburn, Owner at Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

John and I are delighted to see your wonderful review and we are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to offer all guests the hospitality and comfort expected during their stay and it is always greatly appreciated when we receive reviews that confirm we have succeeded!

Thank you both again and we hope to see you again one day.

Kind regards
Elaine and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Augustus hotels
0 mi away
Kettle House B&B
Kettle House B&B
#1 of 27 in Fort Augustus
197 reviews
0 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
162 reviews
0 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
403 reviews
0 mi away
Caledonian Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Mavis Burn 2 The Steadings, Fort Augustus PH32 4BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Fort Augustus
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mavisburn B&B offers 3 rooms on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The B&B is situated in a forested area, just 2.5 Miles (approx 3.75 Kms) from the centre of Fort Augustus. We have a large Superior Double room and a standard double room, both with en-suite facilities, along with a single room, which has it's own private shower facilities opposite the room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mavisburn Bed & Breakfast Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing