We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for good price”

The Bothy Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food for good price”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We liked the food here, and the setting. We had dinner which was nice, although we were surprised by the speed since it says in the menu that we should prepare for some slowness and that it would be all the more enjoyable. This latter was true though, the food was good! We even went back the next day for a sandwich.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    324
    176
    97
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The food is good quality bar food but what lets this place down is the rather bizarre approach to opening hours. We went but had to struggle to make sure our meal time fit within the limited opening hours. No food served after 2.30 and evening meals stop at 8.30. We went for lunch and saw 4 different lots of people turned away while we were finishing our meal. I am sure that in peak season it would be reasonable to expect to at least get a sandwich in the afternoon after 2.30 and lots of foreign visitors must feel let down at not being able to buy food. The service was also average with the more senior waitress really looking like she would rather you weren't there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wellow, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Atmospheric bar area but average food/service”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Bar area was used by locals so had a bit of atmosphere, but perhaps (as such) staff not as welcoming. Food was OK but 'pub food' and priced as such.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Big portions, great food, good ales, and a lovely homely atmosphere. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good beer”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Popped in to the Bothy for a Caledonia beer while waiting for the bridge to open after boats had exited the locks, lovely stuff, going back at lunch, hopefully bridge will be closed again. :-)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neilhay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness
 

Been to The Bothy Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing