We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning location, excellent accommodation and...”

Review of The Highland Club

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Fort -
22 Bedrooms, 22 Bathrooms, Sleeps 44
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lbc1000
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning location, excellent accommodation and amenities”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

An amazing holiday with the family (all ages!). The accommodation is of very high quality, and the setting has to be seen to be believed. We had a brilliant time - everything you could need - restaurants and pubs in 5 mins walk, stunning grounds and things to do for all the family (football, tennis, croquet, garden chess, swimming pool, lounge area) and walks and bike rides from the door, plus lovely little stores, and a well-stocked grocery store.
We all thoroughly enjoyed it and can't recommend it highly enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sbv2018
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed April 22, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

The Highland Club definitely has the wow factor! A beautiful building steeped in history, in an absolutely stunning location. We stayed in the Linse & were super impressed with how beautifully furnished & spacious this apartment was. My family of four arrived to a spotlessly clean apartment that offered amazing views over Loch Ness from both of the bedrooms & the living room. The kitchen/diner was beautiful & had everything we could possibly need or want. In addition we were welcomed with a bag full of goodies which included a choice of cereals, chocolates, biscuits, crackers & wine. The staff really went that extra mile to make our stay very special.
The on site swimming pool was fabulous & my young daughters particularly enjoyed the adventure playground & giant chess board. The entire grounds were beautifully kept & we really enjoyed dinner at the Boathouse Restaurant which also offered superb views over the Loch.
We had an amazing family holiday & can’t thank the staff enough for catering to our every need. We can’t wait to visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_kalpooni...
Canmore, Canada
1 review
“The Highland Club”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

A stunningly beautiful place to relax & play. Plenty of activities for the whole family to enjoy. Clean, quiet and luxurious. Excellent location on the edge of Loch Ness with stunning views. A must place to experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherpa767...
1 review
“Unique Building in stunning location”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Had a wonderful stay in a spacious, apartment with views over Loch Ness from lounge window. Perfect base from which to explore surrounding areas. Lots of outdoor activities available. Pool nice place for a bit of relaxation after the activities. Beautiful kitchen equipped with all you need. Would definitely stay here again if visiting Highlands.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connector...
1 review
“Unforgettable Highlands Club”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2015

This place is a haven of beauty and peace. The Highlands Club is like no other, unique in its setting and admirable from the inside & out. The apartments are of very high quality with all your needs & luxuries. This is a place where you can be with nature by yourself, your family or a big group. The views are scenic & stunning and inspires all.

Although the apartments have the equipment and luxuries to cater for your needs the Boathouse restaurant serves delightful food.

The facilities are outstanding: giant chess board, tranquilizing swimming pool, complete with many more outdoor and indoor activities.

Thank you so much for the stay, we are sure to return soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHUNKYJAC...
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Special place, like no other”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have been visiting the Former Abbey for around four years, we have seen many new apartments come online and we've now stayed in quite a few now. The Highland Club has a range of accommodation from charming little apartments for 2 people right up to accommodation which can take eight.

We as a family of 4 like to use Abbey Church 9, it is on the ground level and has easy access for offloading the car. It is also very close to the pool facilities, and as we have kids it also has a private garden with some outdoor toys and a bar-b-q. The master bedroom has a very comfortable king sized bed with a newly refurbished shower-room en-suite. Like most of the living areas in the Highland clubs rental its has an open kitchen, dining room and lounge area. The apartments are all very well kitted out. their are tennis courts, a football pitch, fishing rights, croquet and several other outdoor activities. the pool area is due open up again after being fully refurbished due to fie damage. The pool is amazing, you can look out the gothic arched windows to a view of the heather clad hills and mountains in the distance while you let all your stresses of everyday life just melt away. There is also a sauna and steam room and gymnasium too.

The rooms are very well appointed, modern but with a classic Scottish feel because of the carefully selected décor and furnishings.

You cant help but feel you are somewhere very special when staying at the Highland Club. Because of its history it filled with unique stonework and period features. The old cloisters are fantastic to wander around and from the outside it is simply breath taking, it is sometimes nick named Hogworts because of the setting. The views around the abbey are fantastic, there are plenty of walks in and around Fort Augustus, and the Caledonian canal locks are well worth a visit.

We love the Highland Club so much we decided to get married there in May. The venue had everything we could possible ask for and more . We booked around 15 apartments for friends and family. Each and everyone of our guests were taken aback by the sheer beauty of the location and the high standard of their accommodation. I know that many of them plan to return again in the future. The grounds are extensive and with them being on the southern banks of the world famous Loch Ness you have one of the best views in Bonnie Scotland right on your doorstep..

There is an onsite restaurant called the Boathouse, which has a spectacular view up the Loch. You can eat in or on a nice day have your food looking right up the length of the loch from their outside seating area. well worth a visit and the Nessie hotpot pie is worth a taste too.

You will not regret visiting the Highland Club, and I am sure if like us you will return time after time..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJPKW3
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Highland resort oozing Scottish charm”
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family enjoyed a lovely short break at the Highland Club over Easter. The Highland Club has been tastefully converted, cleverly retaining the tranquillity of its monastic origins. We had the opportunity to look round several apartments and found them both stylish and welcoming. They are thoroughly modern and fully-equipped with everything you need for a comfortable break, each with its own individual look.
Being on the banks of Loch Ness, the Highland Club enjoys a stunning location, with magnificent views across the loch. While there is plenty to keep the whole family occupied without leaving the club, venture further afield and there are enough walks, castles, and distilleries to keep everybody busy. Overall a lovely resort, well worth visiting.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing