We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highland Club at the Abbey, Fort Augustus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Certificate of Excellence
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Highland Club at the Abbey, Fort Augustus”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent a week at one of the self-catering houses here, 2 adults 1 10-year old boy and a collie. Excellent accommodation especially the well-equipped kitchen (not many places you can bake a decent loaf of bread) which means that self-catering is much easier. Also a very good shower, and the TV will take an X-box. The swimming pool isnt very deep but is beautiful; its in the old scriptorium with a view of the mountains-how cool is that? The village is a short walk away through the grounds, which are also lovely and the view of the loch in the morning is stunning. Pictures dont really do it justice. The village is small but has a decent supermarket and butcher so you can find almost everything you need. Dont underestimate how long it takes to get here (the highland roads are slow and windy) but its a fabulous place. Make sure you take the speedboat ride too, and take your dog with you-a dog lifejacket is provided!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvbStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for the information provide in your review, I am sure other guests of Aonach Mor at The Highland Club will find it very useful. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back some time soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    19
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
87
54
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 5 nights in this 3rd floor apartment with views directly down the loch. Just fantastic! I'm Scottish and have NEVER stayed in a Scottish rental place as cool as this. I booked directly with the owner who, along with the staff at the venue, Charles and Pebble were very kind and helpful when we had an unforeseeable problem.

The 2 bed apt was luxuriously appointed, the pool was warm and spotlessly clean, the club room was quiet and beautiful but the view from the window of the apt makes it really special.

We were a family group of in laws and our 4 year old daughter and we want to return so that we can use the grounds /and facilities to their full extent, Snow and icy wind hindered that but didn't stop the trout from attacking my lures 50 yards from the back door. 5 minute walk to the shops and pubs too so it really is all good.

Our boiler broke down so we had limited hot water and we were told that there may not have been enough hot water to shower 6 people consecutively even if it had worked. Just one to bear in mind. That said. We'd be back in a hearbeat,..Well done the owners!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank STEVEUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is our second visit to the Highland club in six months. We first came in September 2013 and stayed in Abbey church 15, it was fantastic with Great views of the loch. This time we wanted to stay in another of the stunning apartments and we took the three bedroomed old school 12. It has a fantastic open space for the living room, dining area and kitchen with the most beautiful window over looking the sports facilities , Caledonian canel and Loch Ness. The appartment has 3 spacious bedrooms and two bathrooms. We've taken residence in the very large mezenne bedroom which also shares the large gothic window.

We have two boys aged 2 and 4, the first time we came to the abbey we did wonder if we could fill a week keeping the boys entertained, but it was brilliant, we never moved the car for the first 5 days, we were lucky with the weather and the boys and us were so relaxed just playing in the grounds ,spending time by the loch shore, swimming and wandering up into fort Augustus itself. There are some good entertaining things for the kids on route to Inverness and to fort William. So we are back again and the kids just love it, they don't want to leave, and we will be back time and time again.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, you can't help but feeling a little bit special when you wander around the Highland Club...

It's a strange thing , I want to tell the world about the highland club , but at the same time I want to keep it to myself, just in case it's fully booked the next time we want to visit...

The Highland Club is a fantastic highland retreat where you can't help but chill out..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHUNKYJACOBITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome you and your family back to the Highland Club. Sounds like your boys had a great time! Thanks again, we hope to see you back for your 3rd visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent a week at the Luxurious fabulous St Andrews Chapel over New Year 2013/2014.
Cannot recommend this apartment highly enough, the quality and finish combined with the tranquility of the resort were unsurpassed.
Thanks To the management team for welcome and service, the whole experience was superb,
the Chapel stunning and quality of furnishings amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for your review of the beautiful St Andrew's Chapel Apartment, it was lovely to welcome you back and we hope to see you again some time soon. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay for a week in 2 families (4 children between 5 and 8 years). We each had our apartment and they are very comfortable, spacious, clean and functional. The common areas are wonderful: a heated swimming pool, hammam, sauna, lounge, garden ...
those in charge of management are very helpful and attentive (Thanks Clare and Lorraine!)
the atmosphere is special because of the abbey and the loch ness it overlooks. Fort Augusts is located ou were able to do a lot of acticté from this point: visit the Isle of Sky, the castle of Urquhart, cruise on Loch Ness, Fort William, Inverness, the distelleries ...
A bonus: the restaurant The boathouse : delicate cuisine with a very friendly welcome!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss2roub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both apartments and our team at Aonach Mor met your needs. I will pass on your comments to the Boathouse Restaurant and hope to welcome you all back some time in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We arrived after a two leg journey from Essex to be warmly greeted and thoroughly shown around. Our original apartment had unfortunately suffered damage during recent storms and this had already resulted in an alternative (upgraded) place to stay. The apartment was spacious and had everything that one could want. The kitchen was well equipped as was the lounge. All rooms were decorated to a high standard with attention to detail in all areas. It was warm and comfortable with amazing views over the Loch. The setting and building has been sensitively converted and is stunning. The pool was warm (although became busy towards the end of our week). Not sure all guest abided by the signing in rule which was meant to control numbers to 16 max. The people who run this complex are extremely efficient from the moment you book always responding to questions via email promptly and making themselves available when you are there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. I am pleased that the apartment met all your needs and that you enjoyed the beautiful view of Loch Ness. I am also pleased that our team at Aonach Mor met all your expectations. Thank you again, we hope to welcome you back some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is our second time at the abbey. This time we stayed in the raven wing in the glenwood apartment. A perfect sized apartment for the two of us, had everything you could have wanted and furnished to a really high standard, the bed was soooo comfortable. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room in the Abbey have been added since we last went and it's beautiful. I think this time of year is great to visit the highlands, the scenery and colourful landscape is stunning, we were also lucky enough to see some wild stags walking down the road near loch tarff.

We ate at the boathouse which looks out over lochness and it was really nice food. I'm sure we'll be back again. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for returning to Aonach Mor at The Highland Club. I am so pleased that you found everything you needed in the Glenwood Apartment and enjoyed the swimming pool complex. There is some wonderful wildlife in The Highlands, i'm really pleased that you got to see some stags :) Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,183 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
582 reviews
15.2 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
364 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonach Mor at the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Property: Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Address: Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor at The Highland Club Scotland is within the incredible environment of the Grade I listed St Benedict's Abbey and sleeps from 1 - 8 people. We care for over 40 apartments, one, two and three bedroomed. Every apartment is fully equipped, overlooking either the beautiful Abbey grounds or stunning Loch Ness. We are not just a booking agent, we own one apartment and are on-site every day to care for the apartments and our guests.There are 20 acres of grounds, tennis, cricket pitch, football pitch. The Club Lounge has a full size snooker table, table tennis, table football and free Wi-Fi. There is also an adventure playground, barbeques, picnic tables and a superb waterside restaurant. Our accommodation will give you an unforgettable holiday or short break. Fantastic INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, sauna and steam room and fitness room now available to guests. The lovely village of Fort Augustus is just a two minute walk, central in The Highlands for touring. Wheelchair access is available in some apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aonach Mor at the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor At The Highland Club Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing