We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location,Staff ....love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here in Setember and we where blessed with some fine weather , the staff where amazing and very helpfull with places to visit and local pubs, Spa and pool very good indeed (if a little small) would completly recommend this place and we will be back.

Room Tip: top floor over looking the Loch in the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16355mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 181 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed in abbey church 12 for a family of three for five nights, in part of the old chapel sympathetically restored. This was a stunning apartment with all 5 star luxuries and gadgets. The facilities, the spa and the common room were great, they were nice at the end of the day to relax. The setting of the abbey grounds were gorgeous, perched on the edge of Loch Ness - Simply beautiful! Thanks to Lorraine who's little touches made it perfect for our stay, we will be back for definite.
Shirley,Terry & Jasmine.

Room Tip: Any room within the Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in the Abbey Church 12 apartment and made the most of The Highland Club facilities. We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us this review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed in the Abbots Rest for 2 nights and 6 family members. Extremely serene and peaceful apartment. The living room is big and has a beautiful view of Loch Ness. The kitchen is well equipped and clean. The beds are very comfortable and cozy. Shore of Loch Ness is literally 50 meters walk in the campus and they have laid out small benches and also lawn for people to sit around the lake. Its a sight of unbelievable beauty and you may actually "find yourself" sitting on this shore. The restaurant on the lake is amazing and the staff are also very pleasant and helpful. Highly recommended for people visiting the Highlands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RViBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for recommending our apartments at the beautiful Abbey. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the lovely Abbots Rest apartment and hope to welcome you back some time soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed in Scriptorium 2 for 2 nights last weekend. Total silence, beautiful quirky apartment - a very sympathetic conversion of one of the 2 former scriptoria at the Abbey. Apartment also came with a small garden, and some stern looking gargoyles. Shown round by Lorraine, who had thoughtfully bought in milk. Pool complex also meticulously clean and very well thought out for what was the old chapel!! Made me think of John the Baptist, after whom one of the former monk's was named, and is buried in the grounds. Note you have to book an hour slot for swimming, so do it early. Could sit in the cloisters or the club lounge for hours where there is free wifi. S2 comes with freeview and numerous DVDs (we watched The Shining). No problems with mobile signal - but secretly wished I didn't have any. Well tended grounds, makes a good 5 km run going round it twice. Lochside unspoiled, Boathouse restaurant on the grounds very beautiful in its simplicity. Found good coffee at the Little Neuk coffee shop in Fort Augustus, and the post office cashpoint doesn't charge to withdraw, but watch out as the Londis one up the road does.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: For solo or couples, book the Scriptorium or Scriptorium 2. If you are after a view, pick one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a super review. Scriptorium 2 is a lovely apartment and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay there. It sounds like you made the most of your holiday and I am pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds and swimming pool. You mentioned your run, perhaps fit in the Loch Ness Marathon on your next visit? :) Thank you once again & very best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for 5nights at wicket view(raven wing) in October ,1 bed appt,well equipped with everything needed,olive oil,tin foil ,condiments,coffee etc,even Hoover and drying maiden.beautifully clean and well presented excellent wifi and sky tv,only have to walk few yards to outside front entrance for mobile phone signal. The building itself is fantastic,atmospheric ,full of history,pool is lovely with hot steam room,only gripe is only 2 changing rooms.fort Augustus is busy during day,but then in evening becomes very quiet need to eat before 8pm,remember this isn't a city! And you are here for peace and quiet,not fast open all hours food!.all food shopping can be done at petrol station and butcher and not much costly than mainstream supermarkets.dont bother with mcveans,poor food selection and sulky staff.nice pint of Guinness can be found at lock inn which was friendly as well.
We visited Skye and Eillean donan castle one day,also Inverness and the quiet south side of Loch Ness which was a hidden treasure,and only 30 minutes drive to see falls of foyers.
With reference to previous review,yes the building is dark in places,but it is an old abbey,we had no problems with light switches and never felt uneasy.fort Augustus maybe too peaceful for some,but this is Scotland in October!and at end of season.we loved the building,it is amazing to walk around including the grounds which look down the length of Loch Ness with fantastic scenery especially in autumn.we only had one "shinning"moment,maybe it was the previous reviewers two little girls walking around the cloisters hand in hand that we saw!,
Would definitely return with no hesitation,thanks to Claire and Gary for allowing our little extra guest(Claire will understand!).

Room Tip: If you are easily spooked book newer raven wing/riverside cottages,during low season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gertiegrotbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and for your support. We managed to get the previous review removed as they didn't book their stay with us. I am so pleased that you appreciated our beautiful Abbey and hope that your extra little guest enjoyed themselves too :) Thanks again & best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just back from our 3 night stay at the Monastery Tower. Accommodation was first class, very unique with amazing views over the Loch. Highland club facilities were second to none. Excellent location for the surrounding areas. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugibr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for recommending us and writing us a review, that is very kind of you. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Monastery Tower and the Highland Club facilities and hope to welcome you back sometime. Thank you & best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I, having had to cancel a foreign holiday on health grounds, managed to get a last minute booking through Aonach Mor at the Highland Club - and we were so fortunate! Not only did the sun shine on us for 2 whole weeks in July, but the standard of the accommodation and the facilities in the Abbey were quite simply magnificent. Gary, Clare and Paul could not have been more helpful, and the location was such that we were able to visit Inverness and Skye, as well as friends in the Black Isle. We managed an excellent boat trip on Loch Ness, and I had a day's fishing on Loch Knockie. The restaurants, both the one on-site and those in the village gave us a wide variety to choose from, and everyone was very friendly.
All in all, for us this was a first class experience, and one to be repeated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, we have had a wonderful summer and I am glad the sun continued to shine for you. With our very best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,259 reviews
6.8 mi away
Invergarry Hotel
Invergarry Hotel
#2 of 2 in Invergarry
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#2 of 26 in Fort Augustus
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonach Mor at the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Address: Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range: $116 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor at The Highland Club Scotland is within the incredible environment of the Grade I listed St Benedict's Abbey and sleeps from 1 - 8 people. We care for over 40 apartments, one, two and three bedroomed. Every apartment is fully equipped, overlooking either the beautiful Abbey grounds or stunning Loch Ness. We are not just a booking agent, we own one apartment and are on-site every day to care for the apartments and our guests.There are 20 acres of grounds, tennis, cricket pitch, football pitch. The Club Lounge has a full size snooker table, table tennis, table football and free Wi-Fi. There is also an adventure playground, barbeques, picnic tables and a superb waterside restaurant. Our accommodation will give you an unforgettable holiday or short break. Fantastic INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, sauna and steam room and fitness room now available to guests. The lovely village of Fort Augustus is just a two minute walk, central in The Highlands for touring. Wheelchair access is available in some apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aonach Mor at the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor At The Highland Club Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing