We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Certificate of Excellence
Heiloo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in Abbey Church (#18): what an excellent apartment, fully equiped and luxurious! The entire setting of the Aonach Mor is lovely: very nice apartments in a historic surrounding (they abbey), so close to Loch Ness. Village is easily reachable by 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Abbey Church 18 and hope to welcome you back sometime. Thanks again, with best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    20
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
89
55
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in courtyard cottage 11 at the Highland Club. The cottage was lovely, spacious and clean with very comfortable beds. The grounds were lovely with good facilities! We had our dogs and children who all had a great time at such a lovely location with great walks. The staff were very helpful and the locals were very friendly - will definitely visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy3017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write as a review for Cottage 11 at the Highland Club. We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We are French and our English is not perfect. So we'll use a few words to describe that excellent week... We had a marvelous week in "Highland Club House" . Our apartment (Raven Wing 12) was so lovely, and what a kind place that Monastery ! We will go again, that's sure !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlandomamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Your English was very good :) thank you very much for taking the time and effort to write a review, that was very kind of you. With best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the top of the Monastery tower. The views over Loch Ness were fantastic, well worth the climb. The amenities both within the apartment (fully equipped kitchen, towels and bedding, television and DVD) and the complex (swimming pool, snooker, table tennis, free Wi-Fi...) were top notch. Fort Augustus itself is a great base for visiting the region, some nice pubs serving food, a fish and chip shop and good road links for getting to local attractions. Would definitely recommend over staying in Invermoriston or Drumnadrochit.

Just a couple of points to note- this is an excellent base for families so be prepared for sharing the pool and common areas with lots of children, also there are a lot of birds nesting in the tower- bring some earplugs if you don't want to wake at dawn!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garymlee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. it is certainly worth the climb to The Monastery Tower, we are really pleased that you enjoyed the apartment, The Abbey and the beautiful views of Loch Ness. There are apartments on the ground floor and all floors in-between for those who would prefer. Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Aonach Mor at The Highland Club very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The apartment we stayed in was simply stunning, stunning location, right on the shores of Loch Ness. The village of Fort Augustus was lovely too and watching the boats coming down the 6 lochs was amazing. Beautiful food at very good price at the Loch Inn. First time in Scotland and loved it . Only downer was we didn't see Nessie .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garymlee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very the review it is very much appreciated. I also love sitting by the Locks and watching the boats, nothing better! We are really pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Highland Club and we are Aonach Mor hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Aussie
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We, a family of 5 stayed in The Averon apartment for 3 nights in May. Our first thoughts were WOW.. Such a beautiful place. Our apartment was fantastic. Clean, and Very modern and spacious. Beds were super comfy and warm. Kids were thrilled to find the Braveheart dvd as we'd just been discussing it in the car. So, on our first night in the Scottish highlands, we all sat down together and watched Braveheart. Very cool. :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadacaphlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the lovely Averon apartment, maybe we need to add a Braveheart DVD to every apartment :)
We hope to welcome you back one day, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a week over Easter as a family of 5. This is a top floor apartment so lots of stairs to climb ... but it's worth it. A really lovely, spacious, well equiped "home from home". Views over Loch Ness from main bedroom, Living room and especially good view from main bathroom window. We had beautiful weather all week but cold - however apartment nice and warm. Our 3 boys loved it as a big TV, DVD, and WIFI in apartment. Pool area very nice but was busy and you need to book in order to get an hour a day. Small gym but had enough to do a cardio and weights workout. Location is great as Fort Augustus has good facilities, is pretty, interesting due to the boats of all sizes passing through the canal. A great fish and chip shop and a few pubs and places to get coffee. Loved driving as the roads are amazing and very little on them - we did Skye one day in 1 hour. You have to visit Skye - amazing and the road there is stunning. Take the little ferry over and the bridge back. One of the best 1 week holidays we've had as a family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank noel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLee, Manager at Aonach Mor at the Highland Club, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful holiday. I also love the drive to the Isle of Skye and the little ferry to get you across...great fun. We very much hope to welcome you all back sometime in the future. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Augustus
0.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
587 reviews
15.2 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Club Scotland
Highland Club Scotland
#2 of 10 in Fort Augustus
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morag's Lodge
Morag's Lodge
#1 of 10 in Fort Augustus
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aonach Mor at the Highland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aonach Mor at the Highland Club

Property: Aonach Mor at the Highland Club
Address: Fort Augustus Abbey | Loch Ness, Fort Augustus PH32 4BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Fort Augustus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Fort Augustus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aonach Mor at The Highland Club Scotland is within the incredible environment of the Grade I listed St Benedict's Abbey and sleeps from 1 - 8 people. We care for over 40 apartments, one, two and three bedroomed. Every apartment is fully equipped, overlooking either the beautiful Abbey grounds or stunning Loch Ness. We are not just a booking agent, we own one apartment and are on-site every day to care for the apartments and our guests.There are 20 acres of grounds, tennis, cricket pitch, football pitch. The Club Lounge has a full size snooker table, table tennis, table football and free Wi-Fi. There is also an adventure playground, barbeques, picnic tables and a superb waterside restaurant. Our accommodation will give you an unforgettable holiday or short break. Fantastic INDOOR SWIMMING POOL, sauna and steam room and fitness room now available to guests. The lovely village of Fort Augustus is just a two minute walk, central in The Highlands for touring. Wheelchair access is available in some apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Aonach Mor at the Highland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aonach Mor At The Highland Club Fort Augustus, Scotland - Loch Ness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing