We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Review”
Review of Shoney's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
Restaurant details
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The service was great. The restaurant was clean, family friendly and convenient to the interstate. Two of my party ordered food and it was good; however, the third member of our party got the bar and the food was luke warm at best, crutons on salad bar were stale, and salad as a whole wasn't appealing. If we were passing thru again and wanted to order hot items, we would eat here again but not for their salad or hot bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant and prompt service”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The menu is extensive, and the service was cheery and prompt, much appreciated at the close of a long day travelling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nukeprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“In a hurry? Grow your own food and cook it.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

1 hour wait, food was horrible, staff was worse. Manager could not cared less if customers had a bad meal or not. Half of the sea-food was burnt on the sampler. Chicken was not cooked done on the appetizer sampler.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Shot in the dark”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The place I had in mind was further away than I could get to for my break today so I was just watching the road signs. And with time as an issue I lean towards something with a salad bar or a buffet.

Plenty of room to get a couple of big rig’s in and out so parking was not an issue.The street heads into a residential area so not sure where someone would go if they couldn’t get there rig in and out of here.

I was seated as soon as I walked in, waited on as soon as I got back from checking out the buffet. I did go with the buffet.

I was here at about 2PM on a Sunday so the crowds are gone and the food is no longer turning over as fast. One issue was the turkey ? (I didn’t try it), but it was thinly sliced and the corners were starting to curl like lunch-meat does when it dries. A few other items looked like they were starting to ‘crust,’ from lack of use. And this one had nothing to do with sitting, the meatloaf had a thick burnt crust around the edge.

I did have the meatloaf, I really like meatloaf, and this was good, but I left the crust. The only ‘spread’ I could find was not butter, and the mashed potatoes were not hot enough to melt the spread. Today's soup was potato and it was just not to my liking … taste wise. That does not mean it was bad, I just didn’t care for it. I also tired a couple of other items which I have forgotten and then two trips to the salad bar. Salad bar was all fresh and seemed to be well kept up, I didn’t see any ‘droppings’ from one item into another, so either there are no sloppy eateries in Manchester or someone was staying on top of things.

I expect to be through this area a few more times in the next few months and will likely end up here a time or two again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing