We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast was horrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emma's Family Restaurant

Emma's Family Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 64 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
augusta Ga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“breakfast was horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I don't know about lunch or dinner but breakfast buffet was horrible. Bacon (GREASY) sausage tasted like more soy than meat. Eggs were not real tasting..commercial bagged type. nothing tasted homemade about this meal except for the grits..oh yeah and quite frankly the biscuits taste like bisquick...service was good and staff friendly...food not great...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sstepp624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    11
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sorry, but it was simply dreadful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Let me start by saying, everyone at Enma's was very nice. The folks at the front - the waitress - the guy who checked us out. They were very polite and helpful, and acted like they cared about what they were doing.

But, WOW, was this bad food. I've had better food at a college cafeteria. Anybody who says this is "southern home cookin'" hasn't had it. The chicken tasted like it was cooked elsewhere and warmed up. The veggies were the best of Gordon's commercial food products (actually, not even "the best" -- some of their stuff isn't bad ! This was.) The cobblers were all commercial units, mostly frozen stuff, and lower-end products at that. The best of the lot was the fish (think it was catfish). It actually wasn't bad - but it wasn't enough to carry things.

And the place itself is "dingy", to put it mildly. The bathroom is dirty, the floors are dirty, the tables are grungy --- the place just looks like it needs a total makeover. I've been in local places where the place is a dump, but the food is so damned good, you just don't care !!!!!
But bad food, in a dump ??? Makes it a dump twice over.

We stopped in to Emma's after catching it on our Garmin. I like to try local places - I normally try to avoid "freeway food" like the Cracker Barrel right across the street from Emma's. Usually, we guess right. We've had some great successes in doing this -- however, Emma's was not one of them.

Sorry, but you should definitely avoid this place at all costs. Nothing personal, folks --- your food's just really, really bad. Truthfully, I wouldn't eat there again if you offered me a free meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice country buffet. The chicken and cobbler were excellent. Most of the veggies tasted canned, but were seasoned just right. Friendly service. WWII vets will like the decor. Really low price for what you get. Down home, country local atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonikashears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Good home style cooking with reasonable rates. Small buffet with minimal selections but overall good quality and taste.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kerusso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, FL
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Love Emma's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everytime we go to the Manchester area, my husband knows he is taking me to Emma's. We discovered this little gem when we got off the interstate to eat at Cracker Barrel across the street. Since we like to eat at local restaurants when we travel, we decided to give Emma's a try. I'm so glad we did! This is a real southern buffet. There is always a good selection of meats, and their veggies taste like they are cooked fresh from the garden. They have a nice salad bar and good selection of desserts. Their strawberry shortcake tastes like my mom used to make. It's delicious! The ladies that serve you are examples of true southern hospitality. You know the sign of a good restaurant is the number of cars outside, and the locals love this place. It's great food at a great price. If you want the same old stuff, go across the street, but if you want real southern food, go to Emma's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragonflymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emma's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Emma's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing