We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad for the price”
Review of Motel 6 Manchester

Motel 6 Manchester
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel 6 Manchester
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Clermont, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not bad for the price”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I think the room is under constrution some outlits are not covered,there is no fire alarm and the sink had grime in it. The workers were nice. The wifi is great just make sure u get the password from the office at check-in. The pool was closed at our time of vist. It was quite ever one stayed to them selfs. The parking was good it has room to park a trailer. The shell gas station has good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    8
    11
    19
See reviews for
10
12
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

In a town where trucker style motel's are pretty much the only option, this place is on the top end of a bunch of shady dirty motels. Doesn't mean it's a nice hotel by any means, just means it's one of the better choices out of a lot of terrible options.

Pro's:
- Customer service. The guy at the front desk was very nice. He knows what he's working with there, and tries to make the best of it for everyone.
- Location. Right next to Walmart, across the street from O'Charley's (a great pub), and walking distance to a few other restaurants.
- Clean. When staying in motels like these, all you can really ask is that it's clean. Sure everything is old and out dated and worn out, but it's clean. And there were no signs of any bugs.
- Housekeeping lady was really nice and respectful; also did a good job tidying up.

Con's:
- Air conditioner doesn't stay on, which doesn't help in the Tennessee heat.
- Bed was very uncomfortable.
- Pillows are terrible; but Walmart sells them for cheap.
- Sink has exposed water pipes that leak all over the floor directly below the sink.
- The "Free Wifi" only works if you sit right next to the window, and even then it's very weak.

If you're staying on vacation, you will not like this hotel. (Not sure if Manchester is a big vacation destination). If you just need a place to catch some sleep, this place will work in comparison to the other available motels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baseballguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I guess Super 8 was embarrassed to keep this property, because it's now a Motel 6. They advertised it as a new, cutting edge property on their website. All they did was slop some paint over the filth and stick a Motel 6 sign out front. I was over charged for my room and I didn't get the room I reserved even after being moved to another room. The bathroom was nasty with something (feces, vomit?) splatted on the wall around the toilet. The carpet turned my white socks black. There was a huge crack under the old rickety door and bugs were coming in. The wifi never worked. The bed felt more like box springs and made me itch. Just about the time I was ready to sleep, a fight broke out amongst the drunken loiterers at my front door. Somebody banged my door and slung beer everywhere. Fearing for my safety, I made a dash for my car and left. The town of Manchester needs to declare this place a public nuisance and the health department needs to condem it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hawkeyes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I were driving to the east coast and stopped here as it was on our path. All of the other hotels were already filled for the night in the town of Manchester, TN. It was very late and we did not think we could go wrong with a Super 8. But we did. This one was owned privately. Upon entering the room it looked okay at first, just very dated. After undressing and getting ready for a shower, after walking in the bathroom I was disgusted to see that the bathroom had not even been cleaned. The walls around the toilet were covered with diareaha spray! It was so obvious, not sure how their cleaning staff could have missed it. The bath tub was also dirty. Avoid this place at all costs! Drive to the next town if this is your last resort. Totally dirty and disgusting!

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — It was very filthy!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huskyluvingal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2008

Don't even think about staying here unless you have a penchant for old, smelly, and bare bones hotels.

It was LATE when I arrived, so I was desparate, many other hotels were sold out. I checked in and was given an upstairs room. I went to the room. Only 1 of the 4 lamps worked. The room was malodorous, both body odor and grunge smells. The bath tub had a greasy (as in black grease) smear along the ledge.

There was not a TV remote (I looked everywhere). I also found a pair of socks (not mine) while I was looking.

The sheet had a hole in it, as did the blanket. The comforter was horribly stained.

And for all this I paid $69! Very over priced, very poor accommodations!

  • Liked — Checkout!
  • Disliked — The quality of the room.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mlbGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene County, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

After reading the reviews, I almost canceled our stay here. But in Manchester for TripRewards users, there is not much choice (actually there are no Choice Hotels). We prepared for the worst.
First, we passed up the motel because they did not have their sign turned on. When I checked in there was no one at the front desk, even after I rang the bell several times. I finally called the front desk on my cell phone and the staff member showed up. She was very friendly. She did seem a bit confused because the only information my reservation had was a name and date. Thankfully we were able to get a big enough room for a family of five and was able to redeem our points for it.
We were prepared for the worst but it was better than we expected. The king bed room was big enough for all of us. It was run down with mold. We didn't see any bugs but it was late October. Breakfast was limited to say the least. But we know that breakfast at these places are pretty much non-existent. There was no staff available at check-out.
If you have allergies, you won't want to stay here. My husband's and two kids' allergies went nuts.
We travel the country quite a bit with three young children so we're always looking for good deals and free stays. We don't expect much and we know what to expect. Believe it or not we stayed in worse places but this one was near the bottom. This stay just cements that we will try to avoid Super 8s from now on (expect for the one in Plainfield, IN which is awesome).

  • Liked — The room was big.
  • Disliked — Run down accomodations. Aggravated allergies.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bigwaggsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

My wife's name for the place says it all. We're pretty easy to please. We traveled for two weeks from Florida to Colorado and back and this is the only place that I definitely would not recommend. Very unclean. The mold in the shower was so bad that we both felt bad the next morning. And my wife is usually not allergic to anything. From our experience and the other reviews, it sounds like they were flooded or have major water distribution problems there.

  • Disliked — Mold
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAGBolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manchester
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites, Manchester, TN
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 17 in Manchester
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 17 in Manchester
206 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ambassador Inn & Luxury Suites
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Manchester-Conf Ctr (Tullahoma)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Manchester

Property: Motel 6 Manchester
Address: 2430 Hillsboro Blvd, I-24 & Highway 41, exit 114, Manchester, TN 37355-6535
Location: United States > Tennessee > Manchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Motel 6 Manchester 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Manchester, TN is located off I-24, halfway between Nashville and Chattanooga. Manchester is the host of the Bonnaroo Music Festival each June. Free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms, pet friendly environment and the lowest rate of any national chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6 and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing