We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a refreshing find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Stone Fort State Archaeological Park

Old Stone Fort State Archaeological Park
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 2000-year old American Indian ceremonial site consisting of a natural enclosure measuring 1-1/4 miles around.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a refreshing find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Went to dinner with my son and a friend I hadn't seen in a great while and when we drove home, we found this place. It was right before dark so we didn't have much time, but in the little time I was there it was so relaxing and I can't wait to go back to have a picnic, hike thru the trails and listen to the water.

It was just breath taking and I really needed to relax, if only for a moment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenJoleneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    55
    31
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Pretty hike, good for all ages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Signs could be better on trail but they do point out upper and lower trail areas you can hike, with lower closer to falls and a bit more difficult. But overall, an easy hike. Most of the mile is walking with views of the river or falls-very pretty. There is a nature center but since they seemed to be remodeling it, we did not see much as we tried to stay out of the way. There are restrooms in the nature center and they were clean. We enjoyed visiting this park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NC5Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

beautiful the water was clean the trails were awesome. the picnic area was very clean and they have swings and a slide for the kids

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fascinating - just want to know the "why"!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We hiked all the trails - above and below the actual Stone Fort area. All well marked and only one difficult portion on the lower loop trail for about 1/4 mile due to rock climb. Beautiful park with significant history - but like Stonehenge, we really won't ever understand exactly why it was built. The Ranger on duty was very friendly & explained some details for us which were a bit sketchy in the introduction video - which is a don't miss deal if you are interested in the history.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KRKTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crane Hill, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We recently went and visited this state park. A small park but packed with many waterfalls. We took the long way around the park and saw so many beautiful waterfalls and the remains of the old paper mill.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luvbama68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Stone Fort State Archaeological Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Stone Fort State Archaeological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing