We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting!”
Review of Morlea B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morlea B&B
Ranked #8 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

I cant believe from the other reviews that we are talking about the same hotel. On arrival there was a picture of a lady being spanked by a paddle on the landing, we were told this was a lighthearted reminder not to smoke. when eventually we booked into our room on the back of the door was a pornographic picture of a lady bending over and being spanked. Also in the visitor manual there was a spanking paddle and cartoon of a lady being spanked with handwritten comment that if we were to smoke then 'young lady' you will be spanked. To be honest we were really freaked out by our stay in this hotel and only stayed one night when we were planning to stay longer. I definately would not recommend this hotel, unless your very broad minded!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chickadeeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sellicks, owner at Morlea B&B, responded to this review, August 21, 2009
I have responded to the reviewer and have explained that the notices were not mean't to offend our guests.
We felt we had to do something radical to stop guests smoking not just for the comfort of other guests but the fact that our family has ashma. The notices were only up for one day and we have apologised to the reviewer. We hope that you may see the funny side of it and come & stay with us anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    53
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
107
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed one night here, while travelling with my parents, so we had two rooms. Both rooms were very nicely decorated, and very clean. The B&B is located right in Drumnadrochit, just off the main road, but it's still very quiet. We had off-street parking at the back of the house. Lawrence met us and showed us to our rooms. He suggested some places for us to eat (we chose the take away bar for fish and chips near Lewiston, but brought it back to the B&B to eat in the small park just in front of the B&B). It's a beautiful area, and if you're touring, and prefer nature and small town to the city, don't go to Inverness! Stay here instead. My husband and I took a walk to the Urquhart Woods, which was very nice - but do speak to Lawrence about this before you set out, as he can probably tell you how to get a view of Loch Ness (we hadn't, so didn't know about the trail). Breakfast was excellent. The rooms weren't huge, but they were comfortable and very clean. We all slept very well, and would certainly recommend Morlea to others coming to this area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, Essex.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2008

The Morlea B&B is right in the heart of a very pretty village, just the sort of location I like to stay in. Very covenient for touring around the area. With a lovely full english breakfast to start the day, cooked, so I am told, by the man of the house! The room was light, nicely furnished and most important of all very very clean. I shall be returning later this year for another relaxing enjoyable visit.

  • Liked — The clean and fresh appearance as you walk throught the front door.
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike - a good all rounder B&B.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mytraveltoiletries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Upon entering the village of Drumnadrochit on the
north end of Loch Ness, my friend and I stopped
in front of the Morlea B&B to ask a man outside how
to get to our hostel. As it turned out, this man was
the manager of the Morlea and talked us into staying
there instead.

The B&B was built around 1885 I believe and built
well. The insulation was excellent, very quiet and
our room was extremely comfortable...we had 1 single
and 1 full bed with an en-suite bathroom. The price of
22.50 GBP included full, hot cooked breakfast.

We were the only guests that night, and I would stay
there again. The Inn Keeper, Lawrence was very
personable and made us feel very welcome. I wish
I had more information but since I came upon this
B&B by chance I don't have a website or phone number
for them. They are located less than a block away from
the Loch Ness Visitor's Center.

  • Liked — Our room was extremely comfortable and decorated quite nicely..a mix of contemporary & traditional Scotland.
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mayqueen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
417 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benleva Hotel
Benleva Hotel
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morlea B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morlea B&B

Property: Morlea B&B
Address: Morlea The Village, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Morlea B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morlea B&B Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing