We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfiest bed of our trip”
Review of Fiddler's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fiddler's
Ranked #23 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we stopped off during the Glen Great Way walk and spent a lovely evening at Fiddlers restaurant and stayed at Oakdale across the road. Our room was just what we needed - spacious, clean and cosy with a HUGE bed. After 6 nights in various B&B accommodation this was our most comfortable night - the pillows and duvet were amazing.Lovely hot shower in the morning and a great breakfast. We didn't want yet another cooked breakfast so the cereal, fruit, yoghurt, breads and meat/cheese selection were perfect! We also ordered a packed lunch to take the next day which again was the best of the trip.

Room Tip: if you want an ensuite room go for the upstairs room with huge bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegoodnamesaregone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 67 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in the rooms across the street (Oakdale). Had a clean, large room with a large bed. Had an excellent night sleep. Bathroom is little, but has everything you need. Perfect hot and strong shower. Just what you need. Jon welcomed us very friendly

Breakfast is continental. Not a minus for us but a plus if you're not used to eat a large meal in the morning. It was perfect to have a day without a fully cooked breakfast.

We ate in the restaurant. Beware, you should reservate! Place is fully packed in the evening.

A friend recommended us the stay, and we don't regret it. Would book a room again if going back to the region!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FemkeVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Really appreciated being offered a room with en-suite, or our own bathroom (for our exclusive use, but down the hall). My only feedback would be to re-key that door to the room key; not sure all of the other guests understood it was meant to be for our use exclusively!
Our room was over the pub, yet was surprisingly quiet. It was also huge for a Scottish or UK guesthouse (and I have a fair number with which to compare it!). The breakfast staff were very accommodating, and the offerings diverse. Fiddlers is located smack in the middle of the village so is convenient to everything.
Dinner at the restaurant was delicious and unique. I would definitely stay there again.
Dinner

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettygirl_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed upstairs over the restaurant... the bathroom was supposedly belonging to the room but was down the corridor... okay, but a little inconvenient. Also seemed a bit odd that other guest rooms were also provided with a key to the external door but for some reason this room was not.

The room appeared to be an old living room or similar, which made it big and rather quaint. While the restaurant downstairs is very good, the breakfast provided in the cafe next door was a little bland as other reviewers have described. Overall it is a comfortable enough place, but I couldn't honestly rate it any more than average. It might be a different experience for different rooms.

Room Tip: If you do expect an en-suite bathroom, make sure you ask for a room that has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robs-au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place was the highlight of our 3 week holiday. The accommodation was gorgeous, heated floors in the bathroom and beautiful decor. The restaurant is right across the road (same owners), right on the village green, so a very convenient location. Breakfast was also across the road and was great. This place was recommended to us by friends and I definitely wouldn't hesitate in recommending to anyone else.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank nicsimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here as part of a 3 day tour to the Highlands and the accommodation was clean and the management friendly and eager to please. Our room had a separate bathroom-ie it wasn't attached to our room, but our bedroom was largish. Other people in our group had private facilities, but smaller bedrooms-if you are carrying a bit of luggage, it can be squeezy. Breakfast was sufficient and tasty, but continental with cold meats and cheeses,as well as croissants, fresh rolls etc. All delivered with a friendly smile. I can recommend the boat trip, you may not get to see Nessie, however the ducks are quite beautiful and friendly

Room Tip: best to request a private 'ensuite' room. We ended up taking the bedroom with a separate bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A group of 3 of us stayed here for the night whilst walking the Great Glen Way and it has to be one of the nicest and best value B&B's around. The room was very comfortable, particularly the lovely beds, and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also spotless and had underfloor heating, for which our sore feet were very grateful! Over the road is the Fiddler's bar and restaurant, which has loads of character and a lot of whiskey! The food was lovely, perfectly cooked, and generous portions for a very reasonable price. The staff were also great, very friendly and attentive. Two of our group actually work in the hospitality industry so we know a good thing when we see it. Staying here was a highlight of our trip and we will definatly be coming back again.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank saraheturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
179 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ancarraig Lodges
Ancarraig Lodges
#1 of 1 in Bunloit
194 reviews
4.5 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
BCC Loch Ness Hostel
#2 of 2 in Bearnock
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's

Address: The Village Green, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Fiddler's Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing