We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall a good hotel/b&B”
Review of Fiddler's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fiddler's
Ranked #22 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
perth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“overall a good hotel/b&B”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here as part of a 3 day tour to the Highlands and the accommodation was clean and the management friendly and eager to please. Our room had a separate bathroom-ie it wasn't attached to our room, but our bedroom was largish. Other people in our group had private facilities, but smaller bedrooms-if you are carrying a bit of luggage, it can be squeezy. Breakfast was sufficient and tasty, but continental with cold meats and cheeses,as well as croissants, fresh rolls etc. All delivered with a friendly smile. I can recommend the boat trip, you may not get to see Nessie, however the ducks are quite beautiful and friendly

Room Tip: best to request a private 'ensuite' room. We ended up taking the bedroom with a separate bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    27
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2011

A group of 3 of us stayed here for the night whilst walking the Great Glen Way and it has to be one of the nicest and best value B&B's around. The room was very comfortable, particularly the lovely beds, and was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also spotless and had underfloor heating, for which our sore feet were very grateful! Over the road is the Fiddler's bar and restaurant, which has loads of character and a lot of whiskey! The food was lovely, perfectly cooked, and generous portions for a very reasonable price. The staff were also great, very friendly and attentive. Two of our group actually work in the hospitality industry so we know a good thing when we see it. Staying here was a highlight of our trip and we will definatly be coming back again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank saraheturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here last year with the girlfriend when we were walking in the Highlands, Really nice and there was a lovely little restaurant just down the road but, the name escapes me (sorry) but, I do remember the Hotel and I was'nt disapointed. The rooms were clean and well organised and the staff were very friendly. I would reccomend this place for couples wanting a nice hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davissam16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

A wonderful find. The rooms we stayed in were across the road from the bar and restaurant. We were in a room with a shared bathroom but this didn’t matter at all. Everything was spotless – beds and bathroom.

The bar and restaurant were wonderful. A huuuuge selection of whiskeys, the food was a real surprise, much better than perhaps we were expecting. You’re recommended to book if you fancy eating in the restaurant during summer periods as the queues go out the door. And rightly so. It seems Fiddler’s has a good reputation amongst the small group of hotels and food places nearby.

The staff and knowledgeable and helpful and charming. Would love to back someday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank London_BW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Stayed in the B+B opposite for one night - which is also owned by the Fiddlers. Room was superb and also had lunch and dinner at the Inn, which were both excellent. Only one complaint though - no cooked breakfast for B+B guests, just a very sparse continental offering. Clearly they have the facilities as they have a resteraunt, so can only assume it is to save money - but at £75 a night you expect a cooked breakfast. Come on guys stop being tight! One night would be limit for this reason alone!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breaky20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moray
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We had a lovely stay in the Fiddlers on our Great Glen Walk - the room was comfortable and the evening meal in the restaurant was delicious, the staff unfailingly polite and helpful despite being extremely busy.
But oh dear - the breakfast left a lot to be desired. I can't eat bread and there was no other alternative - not an outcake in sight- in the heart of Scotland! And my goodness Dairylea cheese slices - surely 35 quid a night buys you some real Scottish cheese!
You can do better Fiddlers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobodyhomeMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

Turned up on chance in Drumnadrochit and managed to get a room at the Fiddlers. Really comfy room, en-suite and fantastic hospitality. Also ate in the Restaurant that evening and the food was excellent. If you like Whisky this place is a must - over 600 to choose from and Jon can advise you on which to try. Good continental breakfast in the morning in the coffe shop, everythihg the Fiddlers does it does with quality. Wish we could have stayed longer or were more up for a few more whiskys in the evening, alas we were walking 20 plus miles a day on the Great Glen Way.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#7 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakf...
#12 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rooms at Elmbank
Rooms at Elmbank
#21 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
#16 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiddler's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddler's

Property: Fiddler's
Address: The Village Green, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Fiddler's Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing