We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B&B we've ever stayed in”
Review of Tramps B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tramps B & B
Ranked #15 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Bavaria
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best B&B we've ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 4, 2009

To keep it short: We were so happy that we decided to extend our stay.
Mary the hostess is really lovely. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hed-Sipple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
63
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I thoroughly agree with whoever on here said not to be put off by the name. Nothing shabby about Tramps! We stayed in the clean and spacious self-catering lodge for one night, with our 8 year-old daughter and 13 year-old son. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room - and cold breakfast pre-set in the kitchen. After five days dragging ourselves out of bed at other B&Bs to eat within the 8-9 am time frame, it was great to have some flexibility in the morning. Mary could not have been sunnier or more welcoming. She also gave us a terrific dinner recommendation - Cobb's at the Clansman Harbour Hotel - it was our best meal in Scotland. They offer a complimentary pickup car service which was a relief to my husband, who was able to enjoy a drink and not have to worry about negotiating the winding road back. (And the driver was a terrifically colorful local character!) The location is ideal for a Loch Ness visit, as Drumnadrochit is home to the Loch Ness exhibit, the horseback riding centre and is the departure point for the Jacobite boat tours. My only regret is that we weren't there longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeycorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2009

Mary is a friendly and helpful hostess. The room was spacious and spotless. Rates are very reasonable, value for money.

  • Liked — Excellent Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FriendSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cook Forest, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Tramps B & B in Drumnadrochit, Scotland is the absolute best B & B we have ever been in. The rooms are large and spotless; the bathrooms are fantastic; the breakfasts are big and delicious; the location is excellent as Loch Ness is only a short walk away and any place in the Highlands is within a days journey to and back to The Tramps; and the Scottish hospitality provided by Mary is without equal. The small village of Drumnadrochit is peaceful and quiet with excellent restaurants and services, and the surrounding scenery of the Scottish Highlands is absolutely beautiful. Just give Mary a call, she can arrange anything. Garry & Dee Sheets --- Pennsylvania

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteshaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2009

On a hiking trip through the Great Glen, my sister and I found this little pearl almost right on the trail.
The landlady of this beautiful little B & B (which by the way is expanding it's capacity due to popularity), Mary, was the sweetest thing! They have a wee sign outside that says: "Scots hospitality ensured", and it sure was! We felt welcomed like long lost family, and she made a great fuss to ensure we had everything we needed.
The rooms were clean, tidy and cozy, and the breakfast served the next morning, left nothing left to be desired.
Overall: A great place on the Glen to rest if you are hiking, and a brilliant base-location also if you are travelling by car to enjoy the Highland's many wonders.
Can be highly recommended!

Ida & Signe

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Mary was an excellent hostess supplying cakes and tea on arrival and a special birthday cake

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakes0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Mary is an extremely welcoming, helpful and friendly hostess, with top-notch culinary skills and accommodation to match! She made us feel very much at home despite our late arrival without a booking, and provided plenty of local knowledge for our evening entertainment and further travels in the area.

The room was spacious, well appointed and perfectly clean, with a fantastic en-suite featuring a lovely shower. Breakfast is served in the large conservatory, giving a lovely view out over the countryside. The breakfast was absolutely incredible, with a wide choice including full Scottish, and eggs Balmoral (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.) Mary is happy to cater for anyone, including my vegetarian fiancee.

Tramps is a short walk from the "centre" of Drumnadrochit, with a great local pub (Fiddler's) in which we spent a thoroughly enjoyable evening. By all accounts, there are similarly excellent hotels and restaurants in the locality. There is also a small supermarket on the corner of the road with a cash point.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilBurningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Ness Backpackers
Loch Ness Backpackers
#1 of 1 in East Lewiston
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tramps B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tramps B & B

Property: Tramps B & B
Address: Tramps Balmacaan Road, Drumnadrochit, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tramps B & B Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing