We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glen Rowan Guest House
Ranked #5 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Glen Rowan Guest House was one of 2 B & B's that we stayed in during our UK adventures. It was homely and we felt very welcomed and comfortable here. We were greeting warmly by Alistair and shown to a lovely room. The room had a view of the back garden, was well equipped and had a really comfy bed.
Alistair gave us an honest review of restaurants in the area which was really helpful. We had a lovely chat with Alistair later that evening that my husband and I really enjoyed and will remember warmly.
Breakfast was delicious the next morning, served in the lovely bright breakfast room.
It was a shame we could only stay one night but if we are ever back in that neck of the woods - we'll definitely be staying with Alistair and Vanessa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarbynJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    27
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
72
153
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were pleasantly greeted with a cup of coffee, biscuits and a chat, and our host discussed with us the dining possibilities in the area and places we might want to tour or walk in while there. He even reserved us a table at our restaurant of choice.They are very friendly people who really enjoy their work and seem truly interested in their guests - after having mentioned when booking that we were arriving on our anniversary, they had a greeting card waiting for us - how thoughtful ! The house is charming and in a quiet location in a small village .Our room and bathroom were quite small , but clean , comfortable and with all the accessories one needed, and there were two cozy lounges where one could sit if one wanted to and of course one could make use of the beautiful garden with the stream running by. The ample delicious breakfast was served by a kilted Alisdair in a very attractive room. We spent two nights here, felt very comfortable and warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here with Mr Lonewolf only just a few days ago,who has just added his own comments ...

Everything was just excellent with a big safe double garage for our motorbikes. Alistair and his wife were most welcoming, the house was very clean and tidy and breakfast, served by said kilted gentleman was a real set up for the rest of the day. A great place to stay with a genuine decent host.
You can't go wrong at Glen Rowan.

Room Tip: All as good as each other !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Glen Rowan on Sunday 23rd June, my second visit to this location and indeed to Glen Rowan. From a travelling motorcyclists point of view it is perfect, Alistair the proprietor has a large, secure double garage which will accommodate many bikes and he even has a drying room which he will gladly use to air off your kit should it have been raining.
The accommodation itself is homely, tastefully decorated and very clean. My room which was ensuite was ideal to relax in after a long day exploring. There was a TV, tea & coffee facilities etc in my room and ample space to place your belongings. The property is detached and has a large private garden to its rear with a trout stream running along it.
Alistair is more than happy to suggest some local quality restaurants and actually helped by booking a table for the two of us at the Lochness Inn just a few hundred yards from Glen Rowan.
Breakfast at Glen Rowan was substantial and consists of many choices, from cereals, yoghurts, toast and full Scottish breakfast. You can, as we did, have it all!
I would highly recommend Glen Rowan to all and in particular to travelling motorcyclists as you will probably not find a more accommodating host and safe and secure parking for your pride and joy.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lonewolf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a great place to stay. Vanessa showed us a map of the area with recommendations. Lovely home with a river in the back yard. She did a load of laundry for us which we really needed. Recommended a wonderful inn for dinner. The breakfast was especially good. The room was clean and quiet. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken and Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a great stay there and our motorcycle was save in the garage.
We would stay there again on our next trip to Scotland.
The location close to Loch Ness is also perfect to spend a few days more there.

Thanks again Alistair and Vanessa

Patrick

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Alistair welcomed us as if we were family. He gave us coffee first thing and told us all about the area and the various restaurents. Our stay MORE THAN exceeded our expectations and we would unhesitatingly return if we are ever back ths way. In addition to the clean room and great breakfast, Alistair gave us tips on things to see and do on the day we left. He was 100 per cent bang on! We received everything his website offered.
Good job Alistair and Vanessa
We highly recommend this clean,quiet and very safe accommodation.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LarryStein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.8 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Rowan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Rowan Guest House

Property: Glen Rowan Guest House
Address: West Lewiston, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scottish Family Bed and Breakfast, Comfortable Bedrooms, Hearty Scottish Breakfast, Riverside Garden and Guest Lounge. Close to Loch Ness, Urquhart Castle & Loch Meiklie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glen Rowan Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing