We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home only better !”
Review of Drumbuie Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drumbuie Farm
Ranked #10 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like home only better !”
Reviewed June 6, 2008

Many thanks to Caroline for a wonderful stay. The room was very lovely and had everything you could want! The food was wonderful, and the conversation even better. I have already recommended this B&B to my family and friends. I only wished we had stayed there longer.
If you are in Loch Ness, this is the place to stay !

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — I really can't find anything to complain about at all.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna_B40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed at the Drumbuie for 2 nights at end of April and absolutely enjoyed our stay there. Caroline, the owner, gave us many useful tips about the surroundings and served us delicious Scottish breakfasts – including the special “black pudding”, which we enjoyed thoroughly.

Our room was clean and very comfortable, the furnishing is modern and the carpet has just been newly laid a few days before our arrival. We had a quiet stay and although Caroline is always at hand to answer our needs, she is very discreet with her presence and we enjoyed our privacy in her warm and cosy farmhouse.

We find the comment left in the earlier review about being ignored at breakfast a little hard to believe because of the bubbly and hospitable personality of Caroline. In addition, the farmhouse only has 3 rooms for guests and this ensures that every guest is well attended to and taken care of.

If you prefer to stay in a tranquil and calm environment as opposed to being in a city like Inverness, we strongly recommend this farmhouse. The view from the breakfast room is indeed magnificent as commented by the others before this.

  • Liked — Service & cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannisze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We found Drumbuie to be a great place to stay. It was a bit more "off the beaten path" than some of the other towns and B&Bs we had looked into, which we preferred. It's not high luxury, and I see some who have criticized it, but I guess we were thrilled to be in the Highlands, cared for by the Urquharts, and enjoying the laid back, relaxed atmosphere here. Breakfast was served in a lovely little breakfast nook that had a nice bay window looking out onto the farm and to Loch Ness. Not a bad view at ALL to start your day with! The cows and the farm atmosphere were enjoyable and entertaining to discuss with other guests over breakfast. What a great start for us in the Highlands. The room had everything we needed, it was quiet, and an enjoyable stay. Breakfast was a great introduction to a true Scottish Breakfast, and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests and the owners. We took in the local highland games that were going on which were probably the highlight of our Highlands trip.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hokie-traveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2007

+ good location, nice view at breakfast of Loch Ness and cool highland cows (hail'in coos)

- breakfast was very disappointing and killed the whole stay for us: the couple who arrived 5 minutes after us were promptly served first with tea/coffee and even received their main dish well before we got our tea ...making us feel ignored and insignificant, not to mention wasting our morning time, options for vegetarian were poor and certainly gave no hint of the "pancakes", "maple syrup", "monster grill" or "eggs benedict" as their website suggests, overall during the stay hosting was severly lacking - only seeing one host at check-in/out and breakfast, cash only

= inexpensive but nothing special past the view and the highland cows, would not stay again unless pressed

- no internet access or phone

  • Liked — location, hail'in coos, breakfast view
  • Disliked — everything else, well below average B&B
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 2H's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2006

I stayed at Drumbuie Farm July 2006 and found the accomodations very nice. It is a true working farm with cattle, including Highland cattle which I found adorable. Comfortable room with lots of space for luggage. Good shower. The breakfast were average quality but conversation with other guests at breakfast was great. Drumbuie Farm is just outside Drumnadrochit and there is a good view of Loch Ness from the farm house. Inverness is just 15-20 minutes away. If you like being in the country I highly recommend this farm. Nothing fancy, but quite comfortable.

Helpful?
2 Thank FarmerJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.5 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
394 reviews
5.0 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
109 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Spring burn Cottage Bed & Breakf...
#11 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumbuie Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumbuie Farm

Property: Drumbuie Farm
Address: Drumbuie, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Drumbuie Farm Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing