We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B
Ranked #8 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a converted church very tastefully done. Lovely welcome from the hostess, great sitting room with tea/coffee and home made shortbread which was delicious. There was a bath in the room which was very welcome but only a shower attachment which was a shame. Also no TV in the bedrooms and the Wi-Fi is switched off from 11pm till 8am.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    18
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two night here on the great glen way walk as we did two legs from here. What a great place renovated by themselves from an old church. Accommodation is 1st class clean and of very high spec. Shower was great and room very comfortable, we got good advice on where to eat, and loads to eat for breakfast. Our hosts were very friendly with plenty of good advice regards the walk and places to eat. At must stay on the great glen walk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This has to be the pick of all the B&Bs in Drumnadrochit. The first thing that caught my attention was the appearance of the building which has obviously been lovingly converted into a home and B&B. The charming and friendly hosts live downstairs and an upper level contains loft style guest rooms with Velux windows. Each room has its own ensuite and one even has a bath. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and have little touches that make it feel like home. The room was very warm and cosy even though the outside temperature was very cold.

There is a lovely guest lounge with TV and tea & coffee making facilities. The dining room is located on the ground level where breakfast is served each morning. I enjoyed the porridge and the hot breakfast very much. I would have happily stayed at Glenkirk for longer as I felt very comfortable there, just like home. Glenkirk is easily one of the best B&Bs in the UK.

Room Tip: My favourite room was room number 1 but the other rooms can accommodate more. They are all tastefull...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenkirk, Owner at Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time in writing your lovely review
on your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your
stay and hope it added to your whole Scottish experience!
Cheers Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We picked this place because of its central location for our road trip around the Scottish highlands and because of the church conversion. Stayed here with my wife and relatives for 3 nights and we just loved the place from the moment we set foot through the front door. The place was immaculate and had a very warm and charming feel about it. Fiona greeted us when we arrived and showed us around like the great host that she is and gave us very helpful advice on local attractions and general info. Ross is a very friendly guy and is amazing in recommending sites to see and driving directions. Both Fiona and Ross are amazing hosts and so very nice and helpful. The lobby and dining/breakfast room are on the ground floor and up the stairs are a sitting room, where you can have tea/coffee, biscuits, play games, read or watch tv. I enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room after a long days adventure around the Highlands. There is also free WiFi. Several steps up will take you to the 3 bedrooms. We stayed in a spacious and light double room with shower, which was very quiet, clean and comfortable. If I had a gripe to make, it would probably be the water pressure of the shower as I love a power shower, but this is so minor considering everything else. The other rooms are family rooms, they have a double bed plus a twin bed and have baths w/ shower. The B&B is very well located in Drumnadrochit in a quiet area and 2mins drive from restaurants such as Fiddlers and the Loch Ness Inn. There is also a small grocer and gas station in the town. Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle are only 5mins away by car. Breakfast was divine! There is a note pad in the lobby to make your food requests and I was stuffed after every meal as I enjoyed it all. A must is the porridge and the oatcakes with a little butter and honey as Fiona recommended. As I said, Glenkirk is a gem of a B&B and I am so glad we found it and I will definitely recommend it to my family and friends if they are ever visiting the area. I know next time I visit, I'll be staying with Fiona and Ross. Thank you both so much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenkirk, Owner at Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write your wonderful review
on your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed it and
hope it only added to your whole Scottish experience!
Cheers Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night and absolutely loved it! Beautiful building, very clean and warm with wonderful hosts. The rooms were large and perfectly kitted out and the bed was very comfortable. A lot of friendly chat, with Ross and Fiona, Ross was very helpful with driving tips and telling us all about the local game Shinty. We were there in the off season so had the whole place to ourselves. I really couldn't rate it highly enough, the best b&b on our 10 day trip.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laf_Dupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We chose to stay in this B&B while on a road trip around Scotland as it looked different from everything else we were staying in. Like other readers have said we felt that the introduction to the facilities was a bit regimented but this didn't take any charm off the experience. The room itself was clean and pleasant but the only downside would be the lack of tea making facilities and tv, these are located in a common room down the hall from the rooms. However after a day driving and exploring we only wanted somewhere to rest for the evening.
The breakfast in the morning was very good and the porridge is definitely worth tasting!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I chose this bed and breakfast because of the historic church conversion, and it is lovely and well done. Apart from that, this B&B really rates very highly in my experience for the way in which everything about the decor, bathroom, fixtures, soft furnishings and so on had the feel of being spotlessly clean and practically brand new. At first, upon arrival, my daughter and I were a bit taken aback by what seemed like a very brisk and extensive explanation from our hostess of procedures, but found all of our later interactions to be very friendly and we agreed that it was just a mannerism developed over delivering the same information so many times before. The enduring memory of this stay was of the extremely high quality of the accomodation provided and a very friendly breakfast time chatting with our hostess and two poor walkers who were hiking in the pouring rain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.3 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#7 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Benleva Hotel
Benleva Hotel
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B

Property: Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B
Address: Glenkirk, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully converted Old Scottish Church offering quality, homely Bed and Breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenkirk Loch Ness b And b Hotel Drumnadrochit
Glenkirk Loch Ness B And B Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing