We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B
Ranked #8 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A B&B based just on the edge of Drumnadrochit in the Scottish Highlands. The building is an old church which has been tastefully converted. Our room was large, very clean and with an en suite bathroom. A warm welcome and very friendly, helpful greeting got our stay off to a good start. There was no tea/coffee making facilities in our room, but both were freely available in the guest living room, as was use of a laptop if we wanted to get on the internet. A lovely breakfast, cooked just as we asked, and a friendly goodbye to round off our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 175 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

There are many B&Bs in this area, but the building really stood out for me when scrolling through the options. Then, after looking closer, it appeared to be well-located. Both of my initial impressions were correct! This is a lovely place to stay with warm and helpful owners, and it is close to anything you want to do in this area of the Highlands. The breakfast was yummy and full of homemade items. Both owners were really good at mingling with their guests and getting conversation going as well as answering any questions about the area and pointing out the best places to go. This is really useful for walks as you could walk all day, every day, for your entire life, and still have a new area to walk in the Highlands. So it was nice to have an idea of which approach to a loch was the best and so on. Thank you for helping to make our vacation great!

Room Tip: I think there are only 3 rooms. I didn't see the other ones, but we had Room 1 and it was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snichols14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Clean and tidy room without being exceptional. No TV or tea / coffee in the room although there is a nice resident's lounge with these available. Breakfast was fine. Hospitality was friendly without a genuine sense of warmth. Attractive building. Worthy of its 4 stars but did not wow in our opinion.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank D895123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic four night stay at the Glenkirk in Drumnadrochit. The B+B, which used to be a chapel, has been beautifully transformed into a wonderful place to stay.

Outside and in, the B+B is of an extremely high standard. The room we had was excellent with a soft bed and modern bathroom.

Breakfast was excellent - especially the porridge and the oat cakes with with local honey, Tea and coffee was available from the well appointed lounge and my wife took a particular liking to Fiona's home made shortbread.

Location was good, Drumnadrochit is a quiet little village on Loch Ness but near to lots of things to see and do. It's within walking distance of a couple of restaurants including Fiddlers, which is good and no more expensive than any of the other eateries in the area. The haggis and dram was a particular favorite.

Fiona and Ross obviously take great pride in the Glenkirk and it shows. They are also extremely welcoming and offer good advice on making the most of the Highland area.

I would highly recommend the Glenkirk for those wanting to visit this magnificent part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidRoughdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

super old church converted into b&b..nice room tho no tv in it which is in the guest lounge which is nice with tea and coffee and homemade shortbread.lovely breakfast with home made oatcakes and jam..a wee bit pricey at £40 each but its a stunning building

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fras65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My second visit to Glenkirk and I was not disapointed. Walked with my wife this time and she adored the house. Breakfast was excellent and Fiona and Ross made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martha1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We stayed at Glenkirk for two nights in May 2012. We chose it as it is so close to Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle. It is very nicely decorated throughout, with extra interest as it used to be a church building.
Ross welcomed us and made sure we had everything we needed. Ross and Fiona are both Highlanders so were very knowledgeable regarding local sightseeing and culture.
Fiona’s homemade oatcakes with butter and honey were a real treat at breakfast. Fiona herself suggested I try them this way and she was absolutely right, they are a perfect combination. Breakfast was great, fresh and filling, with locally sourced and home-made produce.
We knew in advance that we wouldn’t have tv or tea-making facilities in our room as these are in the guests’ lounge, but we missed them more than we expected. It was nice to mix with the other guests in the lounge and at breakfast, but sometimes you just want a bit of time to yourselves, and I think the addition of tv and tea-making in the bedrooms would make Glenkirk even better. This is obviously down to personal preference.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrisIsis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
15.4 mi away
Loch Ness Guest House
Loch Ness Guest House
#3 of 27 in Fort Augustus
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
361 reviews
4.3 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenkirk Loch Ness B and B

Address: Glenkirk, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $53 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tastefully converted Old Scottish Church offering quality, homely Bed and Breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenkirk Loch Ness b And b Hotel Drumnadrochit
Glenkirk Loch Ness B And B Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing