We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodlands guest house Drumnadrochit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #10 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2007

First of all I must say a big big thank you to
Roy and Alison .We could not give this guest house enough praise. Our 2 night stay extended to 4 nights! ,We stayed in the Skye suite and it was a home from home . The room was very clean in fact it was immaculate . The view of the hills on the frosty mornings was breathtaking. The breakfasts were to die for! Alison makes a wicked scrambled egg on toast! There is such a varied menu you will struggle to choose from it .They were so helpful and shared their knowledge of the area by recommending some fantastic places such as Plodder Falls and Urquhart castle plus other walks . I would recommend a trip on the Gondola ride up Ben Nevis to see the spectactular views . We stayed here in Feb 07 and saw the winter side of Scotland and we already planning our return in summer. Of course we will be staying at the Woodlands again. I would highly recommend this fantastic B&B to anyone. Paul & Angela from Manchester

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank royle0947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 175 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2006

My wife and I enjoyed our short stay at Woodlands. Our room was enormous and the ensuite also. It was clean and well kept, the grounds and surroundings were lovely. The local pub, 7 mins walk away, provided good pub food and friendly service. The full breakfast in the morning was excellent.
This was our second stay at Woodlands and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryBriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2006

We stayed at Woodlands for two nights during a trip around Scotland. Colin and Alison were excellent hosts and had thought of everything.

The rooms were very well presented, clean and comfortable. Ours had a separate sitting area with TV and DVD player.

The options for breakfast were huge and having already overdosed on 5 days of full cooked breakfasts it was nice to have a lot of options to choose from.

Colin recommended some excellent places to eat and also pointed out some good places to walk which we would not have found on our own.

A short walk down the road from Woodlands is a Site of Specific Scientific Interest (SSSI). It is well worth the walk as you can walk through the woodland right to the edge of Loch Ness and get a fantastic view of the surrounding mountains and the Loch.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JohnRIngham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed at the Woodlands guest house for 2 nights while walking the Great Glen Way as part of a charity walk for the Alzheimers Society in August 2006. After a long days walking, looking wet, dirty and bedraggled we were warmly welcomed into our luxury rooms . Delightful, modern decor, friendly but professional service and the tastiest breakfast I've had anywhere - you must try the porridge! Don't usually write reviews but this place must be recommended to anyone travelling in Scotland . Zan

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank zaneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

Hi

Just came back from a 3 night stay. Could of stayed forever. Roy and Alison are two truly lovely people. Nothing to much trouble. We stayed in the Iona. A lovely, spotless room and the queen size bed lovely. Definetely 5 star plus rating.

Breakfasts to die for you dont want to be on a diet.
Views spectacular. Lovely walk to the Ben Leva Hotel where we had lovely meals and went back twice.
Woodlands is an ideal location to view all the wonderful places that Scotland has to offer.
I would most defintely visit again.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank fluffie9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2006

We stayed at Woodlands on 16 and 17 June 2006. Absolute perfection. And the food at the local pubs recommended by Roy and Alison was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

We have recently returned from a five night stay at Woodlands which is just minutes from the stunning Loch Ness.
This is an immaculately presented guest house with large bedrooms that you can actually move around. It is beautifully furnished throughout.
The breakfasts are first class. We tried everything.Just look at the menu on the website!
Obviously Roy and Alison are dedicated to their guests and nothing is too much trouble for them. This is by far the best accomodation that we have stayed in and we'll certainly be returning.
This has to be a must for anyone holidaying in Scotland and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
428 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
358 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $65 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing