We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bonny and very cosy.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #6 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very bonny and very cosy.....”
Reviewed July 5, 2009

There was quite a few of us staying at the B&B, we booked out 3 rooms. We had such a nice time there. The rooms are as nice as everyone says. Very clean too. I should know, I was lying on the ground watching TV ( as you do ) and looked around for fluff, hair whatever. Nothing!!
Breakfast was really good, Liz has it down to a fine art. We had dinner at the Loch Ness Inn which was excellent. Fine Scottish fare with a twist in comfortable surroundings. Could not fault it. Really good children's menu too, not the usual rubbish. Big bowl of fruit salad for the wee lass.
My husband managed to kick his mobile under his bed too. Once Liz knew where to post it to, it arrived the next day and we'd only spoken to her in the afternoon. Great customer service!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitepuddingsupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eumundi
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2009

This B&B has all the little extras that make it the best we have been in so far. (We have stayed in 4 to date).
Extras include cotton buds, shoe shine pad, shampoo, "fast" and free wireless internet, DVD library, more than 1 teabag per person per night, big towels.
Super breakfasts too.
Well done Liz, it was pleasure staying at Woodlands.
Paul Lupi and Chris Sutton from Eumundi Queensland Australia

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PTQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2009

Nice stay near Loch Ness. Large clean room, cracking breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixy&Fairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We had a wonderful night at Woodlands. Liz was very friendly and welcoming. The house has recently been re-furbished and the rooms are decorated beautifully and very comfortably. Our bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up! The location is perfect for seeing Urquhart Castle. The house is less than 2 miles from the Castle and Loch Ness. It is within easy walking distance of some lovely restaurants. We had dinner at the Loch Ness Inn which I would highly recommend!

Breakfast was good too. I had the continental and it was very filling, plenty of food! All in all a great stay, would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucykate44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Gorgeous room - I was really impressed with the decor of our room (Rum).
Breakfast was great - cereal, juice and full Scotish with plenty of extra toast if required!
Location was just what we wanted - only 5mins drive from Urqhuart Castle (beautifully lit at night) and I would recommend the "Fiddlers pub" where we had a lovely meal (20minute walk).
The only thing that I would improve with this place was the shower which was not powerful at all but I did like the bathroom in general with the little shampoos/lotions/extras.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We traveled from Canada and we stayed in Scotland for a week and traveled to London and Paris afterwards and this was definately the best place we stayed on our vacation.

The hostess, Liz is not only pleasant and a great cook but she is helpful and has the answers to all of our questions. And if she didn't have the answer, she would go out of her way to get it.

The town is small and a nice place to go for a walk. There is a farm a couple of minutes away that you can go for a horse ride. For a good pint head to the Benleva Hotel and for the most spectacular selection of Scotch I have ever seen go to Fiddler's. The Indian/International take away (take out) has excellent food and I would recommend it.

We stayed in the Skye room which was very large, clean and it had tea and biscuits waiting for us upon arrival. The bottom line is that this place is perfect for a get away and you wont get a better breakfast in all of Britain.

Thank You Liz,
David & Crystal

  • Liked — The breakfast and the hostess
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightsout56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

We only spent one night at Woodlands, but would've been happy to stay there longer if travel plans had permitted.
Liz, the host, was helpful and welcoming, booking us in for dinner at a local restaurant ,as we arrived too late to do so ourselves.
The room was of a good size, nicely decorated and very clean, with more than adequate facilities - tourist information, tea and coffee making, TV and DVD player, largish bathroom with lots of nice 'extra' touches, such as sewing kit, shoe shine, shower cap, etc
Breakfast was downstairs, (all bedrooms are upstairs - but only one shortish flight!), in a room with a large window/door overlooking the garden. We enjoyed the food, which was very filling.
Would definitely recommend Woodlands.

  • Liked — Comfortable and welcoming
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jay2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,198 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#7 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing