We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #6 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a three day cycling trip. The accomodation is very clean and tidy. Breakfast was very good. Liz was very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h2jx7f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
105
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

My sister and I stayed here whilst walking the 'Great Glen Way' and I jokingly said "After to days 14 mile walk a bath would be the perfect end to the day", and we both laughed as there always seems to be a distinctive lack of baths on these walks. To our surprise after a warm welcome from Liz, she showed us to a lovely room and the light, large modern bathroom with an extremely comfortable bath with overhead shower - Bliss! The breakfast was delicious and it was nice to have fresh grapefruit and fresh coffee too. The guest house is conveniently located less than 5 minutes walk to the 'Loch Ness Inn' which does very good food and delicious local beer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My father and I stayed here for 2 nights during a one week trip to Scotland and loved it. The scenery around the B&B is just amazing. Though we were incredibly close to all the sights in Loch Ness (or amazing walking trails at Glen Affric) it was wonderful to feel like you had escaped into the Scottish countryside. The room was very nicely appointed and the bathroom was spacious. Liz was very helpful with recommendations regarding restaurants and we were delighted with her suggestion of an Indian restaurant just down the street that was very tasty. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Excellent accommodation and breakfast. Great quiet location, yet close to all facilities. Liz was very friendly and clearly took great care about everything.

Room Tip: Skye suite was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Woodlands is in the perfect location for exploring Loch Ness and the surrounding area. It is a 5 minute walk from the bus stop and 10 minutes from Drumnadroichit town. The main street of Lewiston is just down the road (the Lewiston Inn does fantastic food).

The owner Liz is very friendly and willing to offer advice about the area. She cooks guests a fantastic breakfast every morning. Our room had a fridge which was very useful.

Liz also went out of her way to provide us breakfast when we checked out - we were leaving before breakfast time so she brought up some food items the night before that we could store in our fridge for an early breakfast the next day.

Be sure to ask the owners how to get to their local - and more secluded - view of Loch Ness. It's well worth the hike - but wear runners!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I loved this B&B. While researching places to stay in this town, the Woodlands wasn't our first pick but it was available and fit our budget so we booked it. We were not disappointed! I believe there are three rooms to choose from and we chose the Rum Room...which was decorated with pictures from local artists. The window overlooks the backyard and at night you can hear the river running towards Loch Ness.
Each day we were able to select what we wanted for breakfast the next day from a page of choices! The food was delightful, as was our hostess. One night my husband and I came back earlier and the evening and watched a movie from their DVD library. There is also free wifi and a wonderful binder and book of all sorts of touristy things to do in the area. We used this in determining a few of the activities we did.
We stayed for two nights, went up north, and then came back for a night before heading back to Edinburgh. If you're looking for a comfortable, enjoyable place to base out of to go to Inverness or Loch Ness, this is a fantastic place. We would stay again - and hope to one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2worldtravel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here in July while walking the Great Glen Way. The house is furnished and decorated to the highest standard. We felt we could have been staying in a five-star hotel. the house is located in a quiet area but within walking distance of the village centre. We had a fabulous, well prepared breakfast to set us up for the 18-mile walk to Inverness. Yes Liz, we did manage to finish it! We have no hesitation in recommending Woodlands as a truly wonderful place to stay. We hope to come back. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellieandmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.6 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
416 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,200 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#7 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: East Lewiston | Inverness-shire, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guesthouse is situated in its own spacious grounds with excellent parking and is within walking distance of the world famous Loch Ness. This family run Guest House is a real home from home and a must stay on your Highlands of Scotland Adventure. Run by Rory and Lisa Cameron you are assured of a real Scottish Welcome, with Rory's Australian and Scottish connections affectionately known as a "Scozzie" and Lisa with her Welsh heritage adds a real Celtic flavour to Woodlands. Rory having been in the hospitality business in the area for many years, is extremely knowledgeable of what to do, where to go and what to see and also has a great network of local contacts for organising Fishing trips, Walking trips, dining out, storytelling, and of course "Monster Spotting". The area around Drumnadrochit has a wealth of walks and is situated on the Great Glen Way and Woodlands is an Excellent Haven to rest up for the night. A short FREE taxi ride is on offer from Rory and Lisa to take you for dinner to the award winning Cobbs Restaurant, the only Restaurant and bar overlooking Loch Ness, where you can sample fine Single Malt Whisky and Local Beer from the Loch Ness Brewery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing