We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Loch Ness Glamping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drumnadrochit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Ness Glamping
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights was brilliant, stayed at the cabin number one, this was glaming of a very
high standard, there really is everything you need so you dont need to overload your car!!
we took our gas stove and cooked outside every evening and had a campfire every night,
saw deer in the field behind the cabins, lots of wildlife around, amazing location to go off and explore, had an amazing time, cant wait to return. thanks so much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cathngaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    24
    12
    2
    7
See reviews for
30
106
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Tidworth, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were really lucky to get this on a cancellation as it was all previously booked up. We had an email response to our request immediately just to confirm they d seen it and then a phone call the next day. Instructions and directions were clear, the cabins fully and beautifully decked out. We wanted for nothing, all we ever had to do was ask and Sonia and Graham helped where ever they could. They gave us suggestions for walks and were really kind to even facilitate our lively Springer Spanial.
The site was amazingly equiped with indoor BBQ facilities as well incase the weather didnt play ball. There are only 4 or 5 huts so it was never noisy or overcrowded and space for everyone to have their own fun or join in with others.
Really highly recommend and would love to go again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had originally wanted to book the Glamping Cabins but as we have 5 in the family, these weren't available. So we booked the Stables that was able to accommodate all 5 of us. From first sight, The Stables were great. Clean, comfortable, modern kitchen with all the essentials already in place (including a Welcome Pack of tea bags and milk) and bathroom and the best thing was it was self contained private house with a practical BBQ outside in the small garden at the back. There was more than enough room for all five of us (2 adults and 3 early teens). We arrived at around 5.30pm, settled in, went off to the local supermarket to buy food to throw on the BBQ and were eating by 7.30pm. Everyone was happy. We will definitely stay again but this time for a little longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had never tried glamping before so, did not know what to expect. We stayed in the armadillo shown on the website. It literally has everything you need, shower, toilet, kettle cutlery etc. It was so good, we only had to bring food. You also have your own BBQ, so we would sit with a few beers and enjoy the quietness of the surroundings. There is also FreeSat in the armadillo and wifi, which was good to have in the evening. This is also a great place to stay if you wish to visit other villages / sites around Loch Ness.
We where delighted with our glamping experience and will certainly return.

Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The location was beautiful, cabins very confortable, with all amenities. The owners were very nice, and a bonus that we picked the sunniest time of the year to go!!! Would go back in a heartbeat if it didn't take at least 13hrs to drive there

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Loch Ness Glamping in June 2013. We stayed two nights in one of the Armadillo pods and the facilities were great, the only downside was the bed wasn't that comfortable, maybe a thicker roll out mattress would help. However the shower had good power, fridge, kettle, toaster all adequate and communal washing area, lounger seats, bbq facilities all very good quality. We had an outdoor BBQ using a fire pit provided which made for a lovely evening sat outside the pod. On our third night we moved into the Stables which was a 2 bedroom apartment and all of the furnishings were good quality, included a hot tub too. The breakfast offered in the main house included cereals, toast, fruit and a choice of cooked options. It was nice to sit with other guests at breakfast and share stories about the local area. It was useful to be able to use a complimentary minibus service to some local restaurants who collected us and brought us back to the site. We spent a full day at Fort Augustus seeing the Caledonian Locks, a cruise on Loch Ness and visiting the Rare Breeds Farm which was excellent value for money. We also went cycling in the forest opposite the site which was an experience! I would recommend Loch Ness Glamping and Great Glen B & B because of the quality of the site and its location for tourist attractions. Hopefully we will visit Scotland again and if we do would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandChappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The armadillos are appointed as advertised and allow for a comfortable stay. However, there are a few details that are lacking. For example, we received no instruction (verbally or in the manual) about how to get hot water and evening phone calls to the owners are only permitted in case of emergency. Additionally, when we ordered charcoal (at a completely reasonable price) we were not appraised of the fact that we had to separately order and be charged for matches. This was not a crisis, but certainly an annoyance that could have been avoided. Moreover, these little annoyances seemed even more frustrating by the contrast with the hundreds of channels of satellite tv that were available- i could watch foreign sports, but couldn't light a fire for dinner. Not my preferred allocation of resources. Coffee lovers please note, the armadillos do not have coffee pots (french press or otherwise), we bought our own at a grocery store. If you go in the summer time, i would also recommend bringing your own citronella candles- because of the midgies it is a necessity if you want to enjoy the outdoor spaces (and again, they are not provided on site). Lastly, there is wifi on the property, but you can only access it from inside your armadillo if you are in one of the first three structures, the farthest two don't get signal inside, and pages/sites related to alcohol are blocked- making it hard to plan any distillery visits in the area. Overall, we were warm, dry and there were no surprises with price or location; but these details are what keeps this from being a rave review.

Room Tip: request an armadillo close to the B&B if you need to make use of wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham A, Owner at Loch Ness Glamping, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that overall you had a fine stay.However we would like to make it clear to prospective visitors that this is basically a camping holiday without the need to bring a tent. The Armadilla's are small and should not be compared to hotel accommodation. We provide ad lib tea, coffee (instant) and sugar along with plates, bowls and cutlery along with mugs, a toaster and a kettle. Full details of the facilities provided can be found on our web site. Logs,charcoal and matches are available to buy from 7am to 7pm (later if you arrive late.) We provide an emergency number during sleeping hours for guests. WiFi is available on the site. There are 4 Armadilla's on a site which is 200m long. The furthest Armadilla has a weak signal but there are 2 communal undercover areas with internet access. Due to strict internet access guidelines for family accommodation Loch Ness Glamping has a live parental control management system in operation. We apologise for the lack of instruction regarding hot water. Loch Ness Glamping has since labelled the switch for hot water in the Armadilla's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
2.1 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
395 reviews
14.7 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,171 reviews
13.9 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
41 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inver Coille
Inver Coille
#2 of 2 in Invermoriston
25 reviews
2.5 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Glamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Glamping

Property: Loch Ness Glamping
Address: | Anderson Farmhouse, Drumnadrochit IV63 6XT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glamping is glamorous camping. The site is set in Glenurquhart by Loch Ness close to the beautiful Glen Affric. Glamping is the ideal compromise between camping and luxury accommodation. The accommodation units are called Armadillas and have full en suite facilities, underfloor heating TV, DVD, iPod dock, fridge and a fantastic view. Breakfast is available for those who are not into making it themselves. The area is a haven for walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Glamping Drumnadrochit, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing