We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drumnadrochit hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel one night during the week for a quick stop by lochness on our first trip to scotland room was fine it did the job we didnt watch tv however our uncle did an he had to be moved two times because the tvs didnt work, an older type hotel dinner at the hotel was lovely couldnt complain, complementary breakfast was ok too its free so wasnt expecting much! Free wifi too an the hotel staff were very friendly an accommodating.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank belnsmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 430 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stay done night at this hotel located just up the road from Loch Ness. The room was nice and cozy, but had a bit of cracked plaster and worn carpet. The bed and sheets were very comfortable. However, there was no heater in the bathroom so it was absolutely freezing! Not pleasant. Lighting a bit dim. On plus side, the hotel restaurant is really rather excellent, with great service. Dinner was really great, while breakfast was merely good.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Drumnadrochit Hotel for two nights (Thurs & Fri) – how I wished we’d have only booked for one!!

On arrival all was ok. We were checked in by a friendly receptionist (even if reception itself looked a bit tired and in need of a spruce up) and were allocated our room (number 10 overlooking the car park and main road) on the second floor. The room was fine, a nice size with seating and a double bed, and the bathroom was a good size also – although this was in need of updating as was a bit of a throw-back to the ‘70’s.

We ate in the restaurant on the first evening (Thurs), and we were reserved a window table by a member of staff from the first floor bar. The food was fine, if a little cold, and the ‘Manager’ was friendly and chatty – although it should be noted that no-one, Manager or waitress, asked if everything was ok with our meals.

Breakfast the next morning was ok at best. As there is a menu to choose from, this gave the impression that it was perhaps to be cooked to order, however this is not the case. My partner and I both had a cooked breakfast, one with fried egg (warm), one with scrambled egg (fridge cold!). Again, no-one had asked if everything was ok with the food – a common courtesy I would expect in all places servicing food.

The came Friday evening………

We returned from eating out in the village to find that there was 50th birthday party being held (for a local lady we later realised) in the function room on the first floor – directly underneath our bedroom! Not a problem, if the party had been courteous to the paying guests within the hotel.

However, we could not actually reach our room as there were adults, children and plates of buffet food strewn along the corridor and up the staircase – we later found out there were 120 guests (including the hotel staff) attending the party.

The music was so loud, and being above the function room (and the gent’s toilets!) it was like we were inadvertently attending the party ourselves. I made a call to Reception at 11.00pm to ask what time the music would be playing until. On the second call attempt the ‘Manager’ finally answered to telephone and said ‘oh, I think it’s probably about 12 midnight’. In the meantime we were treated to an array of disco classics, along with the foul language, shouting and talk of fighting coming from the car park.

At 12.20am I again called Reception (answered first time) to which the ‘Manger’ said the DJ was just finishing the last couple of songs – and sounded like he was taking my call from the party (how true this turned out to be!).

At 1.15am – and at the end of my tether – I again called Reception. This however proved more difficult, as obviously more alcohol had been consumed, and the music was still as loud as ever. After several attempts, I was able to voice my displeasure, and had tried to get an answer to why on earth we were placed in Room 10, given that this part was taking place. The ‘Manager’ offered to refund the price paid for our visit and told me to speak to him at breakfast. Later that night we were also woken by fighting in rooms above us, more music, and shouting from both sexes.

Breakfast runs in this hotel from 8.00am until 9.30am, this is explained on arrival, and is in the literature in the room. At 9.10am when we went downstairs to the restaurant, we found this to be locked, in darkness, with a queue of displeased hotel guests waiting in the carpark surrounded by broken glass.

A room cleaner appeared sometime later saying that the ‘Manager’ would be along shortly. He appeared bleary eyed, reeking of alcohol, and had his trouser flies undone, looking sheepish and offering no real reason why all the hotel staff were not working that morning. He explained that he was the only member of staff with keys – but there seemed to be an absence of a chef, waitresses etc waiting to start their shift. It became apparent that the majority of hotel staff attended the private function.

I cannot believe that the hotel owner lets this gent run his business – bearing in mind it is situated by a tourist attraction, is probably very busy most of the time, and gets an enormous amount of passing trade from the Loch Ness Exhibition next door. That is why I have used the word ‘Manager’ very loosely to describe this person, as he does not seem to be able to control his own actions, let alone that of his staff.

We were refunded the complete amount for our stay – and could honestly have not been more pleased to leave!!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 10 - in fact avoid this hotel altogether!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissLMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, so glad your first night stay was pleasant, in regards to the second I confirm there was a private hire function for one of the locals, and a mistake was made with your room selection, we have other rooms within the grounds of the hotel which would have been more suitable, we tried our best to maintain a level of order although one individual who was intoxicated was forcibly removed from the building.

We have learned that private functions whilst the majority go to plan we cannot guarantee people's behaviour every time and have taken the decision not to accommodate this type of business in the future.

In regards to your other comments we dispute to being incorrect and hope your 100% refund and compensation (40%) went some way to recompense you for the second night.

You are correct we are a very busy hotel and have many thousands of people through our doors
Who are satisfied with our friendly and accommodating hotel on lochness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was bought a voucher to visit the area and presumed walking distance to the Loch Ness but not so however beautiful walks and a boat trip only 5 mins away made is a lovely first visit to the area. Walks around 'Drum' lovely also.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I can't beleive our travel agent even booked us into this place. In the middle or nowhere, no views. Over 2 months traveling we stayed in 40 hotels& B&B mostly which had been good until this shocker.We arrived to a room with Wooden bunk beds , no working lights in the bathroom of any soaps, shampoos etc. Not inclined to stay in the room & no Wi Fi we went to dinner at the restaurant the staff were completely disinterested & the food average. We asked at the Desk , (that is if you could find someone at the desk) for the soap to be filled up but told they had run out. Next morning we were covered in big red itchy bites, and they weren't mosquito bites ??? At breakfast we asked for a Bacon Butty and were given 2 bits if cold bread ,no butter with a piece of cold greasy bacon, again the breakfast staff were cold & just didn't want to be there serving guests, they would much rather talk amongst themselves . If you asked for service they gave you a look " how dare you interupt them

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thought we'd try for a wee bit luxury on our second last night as we were walking the Great Glen Way. Been to Drumnadrochit beforeand stayed in an excellent B&B, (Tramps) but thought we'll go for a place with everything on site, restaurant, bar etc. Cost £20 more than the B&B so thought we would be getting a really nice place. Not quite sure whats happening to the place. Entire place is decorated in black and brown, TV had only 6 channels, only one of which we recognised, which was a shame as we wanted up to date weather forecasts for the walk and the last B&B we stayed in had Sky TV. Room was clean enough but walls were paper thin. Could hear the person in the next room snoring while we were watching the TV looking for a news program, heard people closing their curtains. Looked at other places first where we'd eaten before but they were closed. eturned to Hotel and went looking for food and went to the room advertised as the restaurant and bar. It was set up but totaly empty, no customers or staff. wanmdered downstairs to a cafe section which should have been closed but, had customers and staff. Apparently they are changing them round. Asked for a pint of Best, ran out! Had lager. Food, excellent quality, very tasty but very expensive for what we had. Breakfast, OK. One thing, the staff were excellent, reception, waiting staff were very good and, doing their very best in the circumstances. A credit to the place, Afraid we won't be back though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Disturbed all 3 nights that we stayed here by what can only be described as constant running water that could also be heard in the corridor of the hotel. Walls that thin that you could heard other conversations going on. TV very poor. Breakfast was not that great and no porridge available. The only plus was the Free WiFi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGR247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
791 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumnadrochit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumnadrochit Hotel

Address: Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $64 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumnadrochit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the world-famous Loch Ness Exhibition Centre, this family-run hotel is ideally located for touring the Highlands and offers peaceful surroundings, cosy accommodation and free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.A warm, friendly welcome awaits all guests and the Hotel is committed to providing efficient, attentive service with all the hallmarks of true Highland hospitality. As part of the Exhibition Centre, the Hotel also benefits from a variety of shops (including the Nessie Shop and the Whisky Shop) and can even offer cruises on Loch Ness during the Summer months.The Hotel offers 29 en-suite rooms, each of which is effortlessly comfortable and impeccably maintained. All rooms come fully equipped with a wide range of modern facilities and conveniences including free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There is a choice of Single, Twin, Double and Family Rooms as well as inviting Superior Rooms.The Loch Ness Bistro offers hearty home-cooked cuisine made from the finest locally sourced produce and ingredients. Diners can expect to enjoy comfortable surroundings set against some spectacular views of the village of Drumnadrochit, the hills and the Great Glen beyond. The Loch Ness Cafe serves a variety of hot and cold drinks as well as snacks and light lunches. They can also arrange special packed lunches, perfect for a delicious loch-side picnic whilst enjoying a day of sightseeing. For those seeking further relaxation the Hotel offers a selection of lifestyle enhancing massage treatments. Business delegates are sure to appreciate the excellent conference and meeting facilities, flexible and well-equipped they can cater to a wide variety of different events.The Hotel is located in the Highland village of Drumnadrochit on the west shore of Loch Ness and offers ample on-site parking for all guests. It is situated just off the A82 and is approximately a twenty minute drive from Inverness which offers excellent rail links to all major destinations across the UK. For those flying in, Inverness Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands next to the world famous Loch Ness. Whether enjoying a scenic stroll along the shore or a spot of monster hunting on the Loch itself, there is always some new adventure just waiting to be discovered. The Loch Ness Exhibition Centre offers a world-class insight into the Loch’s wider significance through a multimedia exhibition that takes visitors on a journey from the dawn of time to the third millennium. In the summer months it also provides intimate cruises across the Loch taking in the imposing ruins of Urquhart Castle and the unspoilt beauty of the Great Glen. A diverse selection of tour options are also provided by Jacobite Cruises, offering indoor and outdoor viewing, snacks, refreshments and a fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drumnadrochit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumnadrochit Hotel Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing