We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice friendly hotel”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the Drumnadrochit Hotel over Easter weekend with my husband. We were made very welcome on arrival after a long journey. We were personally taken to our room, which was very clean with all the basic requirements. Ample coat hangers in the wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities with shortbread biscuits. Would definitely stay here again, although the rooms are a little tired and the bathroom is very old fashioned the hotel is very clean. Breakfast was included and very tasty with lots of variety. Lovely staff and a fantastic location for the beautiful village of Drumnadrochit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Debbs
Hello Debbie thank you for reviewing our hotel, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thought our service was good as we pride ourselves in our customer care.
We took over the hotel in April last year and redecorated the rooms over the winter.
If you would ever like to stay again please phone us direct as we will beat any internet site price
Thank you again
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    107
    77
    40
    45
See reviews for
88
153
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is my fourth visit to drumnadrochit and my second stay in the hotel, and in comparison with my last stay this one was so much better mainly due to the staff.
My partner organised this from a groupon deal for a birthday treat for me but at the time we couldn't go,, the staff were only too happy to change the dates for us.
The rooms have recently been decorated to a high standard, there was a powerfull shower in the room and the bed was comfortable.
We had a lovely breakfast each morning and we decided to eat in the restaurant both evenings, the food was plentiful and to a high standard and the chef was accommodating when we ordered a dish not ment for that evenings menu,
I was a bit chilly in the restaurant so was brought a portable heater to my table
The staff really can't do enough for you,
I will be back to stay again
Thank you all
Jenny and Greg

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weejenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Weejenn
Hello weejen thank you for your kind review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we are especially pleased you think the service was good as this is our main priority here at the drum hotel.
Thank you for spotting our recently refurbished rooms, we are very proud of them as the whole team spent over 12 weeks painting all 29!!
We have also recently spent a lot of time and effort on our restaurant food, sourcing all our products as locally as possible.
Were very happy to hear you will be back to stay with us, please phone us direct when you do and we will offer you a better deal than any internet site
Thank you again Jenny and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed here on March 22/23 with my wife and two-year old son and were made welcome from the get-go. Everyone here was a joy to deal with and any questions or requests were handled quickly and politely.

The room was clean, comfortable and nicely laid out and furnished and even with a travel-cot, just the right size for the three of us to stay comfortably and enjoy a cosy night in when the outside temperatures dropped during cold-snap.

Breakfast was good and filling, although nothing fancy (not quite what I remember from growing up in Scotland), with enough at hand for the three of s to enjoy with some very different tastes.

Of course, this is no 5-star venue, but as a place to holiday far from home its perfect. Comfortable environment, friendly staff and comfy beds.

Thanks to all involved, we'll probably be back later in the year. Full compliments from my wife and myself (and probably my son too, if he ever gets 'round to thinking about it).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Kevin B
Hi Kevin thank you for your kind review, I’m very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially the furnishings as we shut in November and myself and the team painted and decorated each room!!
We understand we are no hilton but our belief is to ensure that every guest receives 5 star service and leaves wanting to return.
Thanks again for the compliments from you, your better half and the wee man and if you were to return then please phone us direct as we will always offer you a better rate than internet sites.
Thanks again, see you soon
Kind regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callander, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great find! I only meant to stay for one night but stayed for 3! This was mainly due to the excellent customer service , wonderful Scottish fayre inn the restaurant and the genuine welcome.
I look forward to returning later in the year with friends.
If you are looking for somewhere to base yourself whilst touring the Highlands, I highly recommend this hotel.
Thank you Sean, Tara & Chloe, see you in September!

Room Tip: A great place to base yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibees62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Owner at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hibees62
Thank you hibees for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay, myself and all the kitchen staff are delighted you enjoyed your meal each night as we have spent much considerable time sourcing fresh local ingrediants for all our dishes.
We try to make sure our guests are well taken care of and always enjoy hearing people’s opinions of our much loved hotel.
When you return please phone us direct as we will always beat any internet site.
Thanks again and we look forward to having you back!
P.S Try our new local lamb dish next time your back, think you will love it!!!
Kind regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I did not expect this hotel to be anywhere near as good as it was. We took advantage of the Groupon offer and stayed 2 nights, the offer included breakfast, a free bottle of wine and entry to the exhibition next door. The room was clean and comfortable having been recently refurbished, it had everything we needed. The breakfast was included in the very reasonable price and was first class. We also chose to eat in the restaurant and were delighted that we did. The overall experience was brilliant and the icing on the cake was the helpfulness of the Manager, whose personal attention to detail made it a memorable short break. Thank you very much

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F C, Public Relations Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you Kay for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay at our hotel, your comment on our recently refurbished rooms has made us smile as myself and the team spent 12 weeks painting each and everyone!! 
 
We try very hard to make peoples stay as fun and relaxing as possible and its nice to know we did just that for you!!
 
We will be putting on entertainment, live music and scottish themed events throughout the year so it would be fantastic if you could come back and see us when we do!!
 
If you do fancy coming back please give us a phone before you book on 01456 450 218 as we can offer better deals than any internet site.
 
Thanks again Kay
 
Sean (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Just had 2 nights stay here, I got a good deal with the booking so it made it more reasonable. Got a full English breakfast each morning....which I would expect if we were in England... I think a full Scottish breakfast would have been better...although I did mention this and they gave me black pudding and haggis with my breakfast. The dinner menu was a bit overpriced and it was £4 for a pint, wasn't much on as is out of season, rooms have just been decorated and new carpets fitted they were that new we couldn't get the room door open. The Staff were very friendly amd couldn't do enough for you. Would I stay here again??? Yes I would as long as I got a good deal again and they changed the breakfast menu. ...Lorne sausage, black pudding, potato scone, fried egg,bacon, fried bread and beans. And irn bru. ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoothenoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james037, Public Relations Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your review , we refurbished all the rooms over this winter and just opened again in February . Also glad you noticed that the staff were helpful and friendly and you ended up with a " " full Scottish "
We are very proud of the dedication the staff have in the Hotel , they are genuinely upset when they don't please the guest 100% .
I'm sorry you found our menu expensive , we only use the best of ingredients locally sourced and will never compromise that, with recent events in the press , we are glad we know exactly where each and every product is produced , this does add to a slight increase in menu cost , however we are confident with the end product .
I'm glad to see you would come back and stay with us , if you phone direct you should get a great rate bed and Scottish breakfast , better than any Internet advertised rates , phone 01456450218 .
Do think 3 out of 5 a bit harsh as from your review you did enjoy the experience .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hi there, it is my first ever review:) I bought deal for two night true groupon.

Stuff members were very friendly 5+++ service especially the Hotel Manager :) Young lad.

Rooms were not the best I've been to but for the money they were good and clean. Shower was OK as well.

Mattress was a bit to soft and old but I didn’t expect it to bee five star hotel anyway. Had a small TV it was nice and cosy.

We had breakfast included which was great. They had a menu with even a porridge!!! My wife was happy as she doesn't like English breakfast.

We also had a dinner next day. And it was the best meat and mushroom sauce ever. We had two drinks, beer and coffee and two meals paid £37. We were given 10% discount when we arrived off our meal. And apparently we received even 20% off the bill.

Overall I think it is great Hotel with great people working in it. Lochness is amazing place to visit and if you visit it stay at this hotel and you will not regret.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james037, Public Relations Manager at Drumnadrochit Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for Kind review , Sean is our manager and Director , who wants every one of his guest to leave his hotel having enjoyed the experience , we are no hilton we know that, but believe we offer a better friendly service , certainly you will remember us !!

The guests are giving great feed back on Mike ( head chef ) new menu , he uses only fresh local produce and cooked brilliantly .

We look forward to welcoming you back , tip : we can offer the best deals by booking direct with the hotel beter that the Internet prices . Also as I have mentioned before the Loch Ness Exhibition has had additional attraction added and well worth a visit , gives unbiased story of everything Loch Ness . Also the Center has it's own boat taking 12 passengers every hour on to Loch Ness added bonus , the skipper( John the Boat )is part of the Loch Ness Project and expert on all the monster
sightings .

Again thank you for your kind words

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
14.7 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glenurquhart House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drumnadrochit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drumnadrochit Hotel

Property: Drumnadrochit Hotel
Address: Loch Ness Centre & Exhibition, Drumnadrochit IV63 6TU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Drumnadrochit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the world-famous Loch Ness Exhibition Centre, this family-run hotel is ideally located for touring the Highlands and offers peaceful surroundings, cosy accommodation and free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.A warm, friendly welcome awaits all guests and the Hotel is committed to providing efficient, attentive service with all the hallmarks of true Highland hospitality. As part of the Exhibition Centre, the Hotel also benefits from a variety of shops (including the Nessie Shop and the Whisky Shop) and can even offer cruises on Loch Ness during the Summer months.The Hotel offers 29 en-suite rooms, each of which is effortlessly comfortable and impeccably maintained. All rooms come fully equipped with a wide range of modern facilities and conveniences including free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV with Sky channels, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. There is a choice of Single, Twin, Double and Family Rooms as well as inviting Superior Rooms.The Loch Ness Bistro offers hearty home-cooked cuisine made from the finest locally sourced produce and ingredients. Diners can expect to enjoy comfortable surroundings set against some spectacular views of the village of Drumnadrochit, the hills and the Great Glen beyond. The Loch Ness Cafe serves a variety of hot and cold drinks as well as snacks and light lunches. They can also arrange special packed lunches, perfect for a delicious loch-side picnic whilst enjoying a day of sightseeing. For those seeking further relaxation the Hotel offers a selection of lifestyle enhancing massage treatments. Business delegates are sure to appreciate the excellent conference and meeting facilities, flexible and well-equipped they can cater to a wide variety of different events.The Hotel is located in the Highland village of Drumnadrochit on the west shore of Loch Ness and offers ample on-site parking for all guests. It is situated just off the A82 and is approximately a twenty minute drive from Inverness which offers excellent rail links to all major destinations across the UK. For those flying in, Inverness Airport is a 40 minute drive from the Hotel.The Hotel is located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands next to the world famous Loch Ness. Whether enjoying a scenic stroll along the shore or a spot of monster hunting on the Loch itself, there is always some new adventure just waiting to be discovered. The Loch Ness Exhibition Centre offers a world-class insight into the Loch’s wider significance through a multimedia exhibition that takes visitors on a journey from the dawn of time to the third millennium. In the summer months it also provides intimate cruises across the Loch taking in the imposing ruins of Urquhart Castle and the unspoilt beauty of the Great Glen. A diverse selection of tour options are also provided by Jacobite Cruises, offering indoor and outdoor viewing, snacks, refreshments and a fully licensed bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Drumnadrochit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drumnadrochit Hotel Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing