We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ale, super friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benleva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Benleva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ale, super friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The only reason not to give this 5 stars is that there are so many great budget options in the Highlands and the rooms at the Benleva are quite average. However, the staff are the friendliest we have met - we told one of them we were enjoying the book we had found in their library and he immediately gave it to us as a gift. If you like ales, the bar is the perfect place to try the Loch Ness Brewery's range, and you can buy a few bottles yourself if you ask someone to open up the little on-site gift shop for you. Bar is lively and cosy, breakfast is decent and the rooms are fine for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratat0skr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    73
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a great place to go and stay where you will get a really friendly welcome from Steve, Alan and their team, who will look after you very well. It is very clean, comfortable and homely, but don't expect it to be plush or posh. The food is good and they have their own brewery, the Loch Ness Brewery, with an excellent selection of real ales. All rooms have free WIFI, or you can sit in the bar with your laptop and a pint! There is a good mix of people in the bar, locals and tourists and it is also animal friendly. It is in a lovely part of Scotland, very close to Loch Ness and in the village of Drumnadrochit, where there are Nessie tourist attractions, shops and cafes. I can thoroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were married here in September 2010 at the 'Loch Ness Beer Festival' What lovely, helpful people they were. Nothing was too much trouble and Steve & Alan even brought out their kilts and wore them at the ceremony under the fantastic Chestnut Tree (or Hanging Tree as it is known). I cannot recommend enough as the whole experience was perfect!
Now they also run their own brewery, can't wait to sample some of their lovely range.
Thank you to you all and we both look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbJGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was my first stop on the Great Glen Way after walking 18 miles from Inverness, the staff were very friendly and the food for my evening meal and for breakfast was excellent. My room was very basic and could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulyB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Any real ale drinker will have a wonderful time here. Several ales on tap, mostly from their own Loch Ness Brewery (out the back!) plus a couple of guest ales. Variety was superb: one dark ale, one IPA, etc. Good bar food as well, just what we wanted. Staff were very good, happy to discuss their beers - as was I!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank profdrrgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with the kids and dogs in tow and we all left very satisfied customers. All our meals (risotto, haggis, pizzas) were fab and the overall bill was under £40 including drinks. Very friendly staff, other customers stopped and said hello to the dogs and the kids were happy with a game of pool to finish off. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night on a visit to Loch Ness. I have stayed in many similar hotels in my days, its relatively clean but hasn't been wallpapered in about 20 years. Rooms are big but very basic.

Bar was super friendly, and the hotel was dog friendly, which is the main reason we booked. But I'm afraid that it is far from worth the £70 per night we paid. More like £40 in my experience.

Room Tip: Get it cheap
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Hardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
14.4 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 5 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benleva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benleva Hotel

Property: Benleva Hotel
Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benleva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Drumnadrochit, by Loch Ness, the Benleva is the only hotel in the village which is open all year round. Serving award-winning Highland real ales, malt whiskies & excellent locally sourced food. The Benleva has 6 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and was voted the CAMRA Highlands & Islands Pub of the Year in 2003 & 2005. The Benleva has 2 family rooms for those with children and dogs are also welcome in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Benleva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benleva Hotel Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing