We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcome as it should be”
Review of Benleva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benleva Hotel
Ranked #15 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wife and I stayed here with friends during a whistle stop tour of the highlands. My friends had stayed here previously.

On arrival we were greeted like old friends, huge smiles and a hearty hand shake. Ok the decor would benefit from a spruce up, but look past that and the places is clean and comfortable, with tea and coffee in abundance in the rooms. We arrived on foot with back packs on and this was apparently the norm as its on the Great Glen way.

A quick spruce up, and into the bar to sample home grown beer. Yes the place has its own micro brewery! The Loch Ness brewery brews a range of beers and it would have been rude not to try them.

The food was hale and hearty, just what was needed after a days walking. The hotel is dog friendly and this is apparent by the water bowl and the regular snack purchases.

It is our intention to return soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 233 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

A pub with locals and tourists together in a great relaxed atmosphere. Real ales, real people, real pub. The food was something special, on both nights that we visited. Two adults, two kids, and dog were made to feel welcome, and guaranteed to return again. Thanks

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank derek5504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

On a short driving tour of Scotland, the Benleva was our hotel of choice for the Loch Ness area. Don't let the first impressions put you off (the front of the hotel can look a little gloomy on a cloudy day); the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast was great and the overall ambience is friendly and informal. the micro-brewery beer is a must try and our dog gives this a ***** rating for maximum dog-friendliness.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We actually chose this place because my husband loves trying micro-brewery beer. But we fell in love with the charming house and stayed 2 nights instead of the 1 we had intended. The house is still being worked on, but it is comfortable. The pub is frequented by the locals every night which always makes things more interesting! Dogs are welcome in the pub too which was fun! The breakfast was outstanding and the dinner we enjoyed there was very good. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed over night while walking the GGW. When we first arrived bar maid seemed a bit disinterested but we booked in and the rooms were basic, but had plainly been newly painted with new bathrooms fitted. We ate in the bar and food was pub food but good and fairly priced. Steve the manager? was chatty and a good host very friendly. It suited our purposes fine

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oowweenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Can't really comment on the place for a stay but went in for a meal on Saturday night and it was one of the worst meals we have ever had.

The fries looked and tasted as if they were a week old. The burger buns were huge but untoasted and dry (no spread) and the burger itself looked tiny sitting in the middle. The whole presentation was very poor.

Whilst waiting for about an hour to be served our meal and whilst eating it, not a single member of staff approached us to see if we wanted drinks, our to see if our meal was satisfactory. Had we been eating in the bar this may have been more acceptable but certainly not in the dining room.

The outside of the building was very run down and the upper windows looked like a derelict building.

The barman was friendly and the beer was good.

Sorry but having travelled quite extensively over the last 8 years, this has to be our worst experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredandBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our third visit and we will return. Great bar with a terrific selection of beers. The atmosphere is special, so friendly. The food is fine and plentiful, the breakfast sets you up for a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.5 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
Clunebeg Lodge Guest House
#19 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#30 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benleva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benleva Hotel

Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $109 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benleva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Drumnadrochit, by Loch Ness, the Benleva is the only hotel in the village which is open all year round. Serving award-winning Highland real ales, malt whiskies & excellent locally sourced food. The Benleva has 6 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and was voted the CAMRA Highlands & Islands Pub of the Year in 2003 & 2005. The Benleva has 2 family rooms for those with children and dogs are also welcome in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Benleva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benleva Hotel Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing