We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Benleva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Benleva Hotel
Ranked #19 of 31 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited only for food and drinks.
As per the other reviews, the place is bit worn around the edges, however the hospitality and quality make up for this. Service was great, despite him being rushed off his feet. food was excellent, and a very generous proportion, which made it excellent value. great selection of real ales, particularly nice seeing as they are brewed on site.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammiecowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    73
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
104
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel on a sunny weekend in Febuary .. On arriving i was a bit miffed at the decor ( needs a makeover ) but the staff made us welcome from the first instant . The room was a good size the bed was clean and fresh and the bathroom was new ,(The rest of the rooms will be getting decorated soon) The food was fresh and plenty and the beer was Real Ale made in the Hotel brewery .. We had a beer tasting lesson from Steven and found this very intresting , the more we tasted the more we liked it ! This is not only a dog friendly hotel but a person friendly hotel ..quite rare , Dont pack your frocks and ties wear your jeans and boots and relax by the open fires , we shall be back .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeemScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only every came here for drinks while staying in a fantastic rented cottage in Drumandrochit.

The Benleva is a wonderful and very welcoming "local" old-school pub to such visitors with tremendous real ales including several they make for themselves, including (no surprise here) Loch Ness and a a whole host of others with Ness on the end, my favourite during the stay being Wilder Ness (I like a hoppy beer), though they also do Hoppy Ness and Dark Ness (I daresay you are starting to get the hang of the puns now). These are all very good real ales, though they also do some excellent Isle of Skye and cairngorm Brewery examples, too. Then there is a great selection of single malts to choose form, too - all very good value for money.

The people are very friendly here and genuine - nothing pushy or false about any of it. Great advice was offered on local walks and local tipples. The place is also dog-friendly too. It's one of my favourite pubs, now. I'm ready to relocate to make it my local....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelbenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in December. It wasnt overly expensive for the 2 nights we were there so definitely was good value for money. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They really make the place and the bar/restaurant is really fun and welcoming. This isnt a hotel for a romantic holiday. Its just somewhere comfortable to stay especially if touring. There is plenty of parking and the food was cheap and good. The rooms are not great. They could use some work as the furniture and linen all looked a little tatty and rough around the edges and we had one of the nicest rooms. This is more budget hotel but go just to see the cutest dog in the world!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkempen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Didn't stay in the hotel but drank beer and had a meal here during the first few days of the annual Loch Ness beer festival. Great choice of ales, including some they brew themselves, and the food was fantastic. Awesome few days!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank backnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Three of us stayed at the great B&B Kilmore Farm, behind the Benleva and they advised us to eat there. We had a great meal. My feta salad followed by 6 scallops were lovely. My partner had a wonderful haggis tower and whiskey sauce and then squid. Odd that they never asked us if we wanted a pudding!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for one night in August while touring Scotland.

The Good
It is well sign posted and easy to find. Lots of parking. Staff are very friendly, chatty and helpful. Food in restaurant was fabulous with several traditional Scottish dishes.
The pub has some great proper beers on tap and they even brew there own which are damn fine!!!
The night we stayed there was an open mic night in the pub. Lots of great, traditional Scottish music. Couldnt here it in the room.
If you feeling adventurous there is a path that takes you to a nice secluded beach on Loch Ness. (Pics attached) Be warned that you have to cross a stream to get to it.

The Not So Good.
Place really needs a bit of TLC splashed around.
The electric shower was extremely tempremental and cycled between freezing cold and scolding hot. The shower area also showed lots of mouldy areas. Same with the sink.

There was a heater in the room on which the control knob was melted. Luckily we were there during a warm time of year as i wouldnt have felt safe using it in that state.

Beds were pretty uncomfortable.

The hotel has wifi which works well in the restaurant and pub but due to thickness of walls there was no signal in the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shugggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.4 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
14.5 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 5 in Lewiston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 31 in Drumnadrochit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benleva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benleva Hotel

Property: Benleva Hotel
Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Benleva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Drumnadrochit, by Loch Ness, the Benleva is the only hotel in the village which is open all year round. Serving award-winning Highland real ales, malt whiskies & excellent locally sourced food. The Benleva has 6 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and was voted the CAMRA Highlands & Islands Pub of the Year in 2003 & 2005. The Benleva has 2 family rooms for those with children and dogs are also welcome in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benleva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benleva Hotel Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing