We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Real Ale and food”
Review of Benleva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Benleva Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Didn't stay in the hotel but drank beer and had a meal here during the first few days of the annual Loch Ness beer festival. Great choice of ales, including some they brew themselves, and the food was fantastic. Awesome few days!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank backnerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for Benleva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Three of us stayed at the great B&B Kilmore Farm, behind the Benleva and they advised us to eat there. We had a great meal. My feta salad followed by 6 scallops were lovely. My partner had a wonderful haggis tower and whiskey sauce and then squid. Odd that they never asked us if we wanted a pudding!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valerie_1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for one night in August while touring Scotland.

The Good
It is well sign posted and easy to find. Lots of parking. Staff are very friendly, chatty and helpful. Food in restaurant was fabulous with several traditional Scottish dishes.
The pub has some great proper beers on tap and they even brew there own which are damn fine!!!
The night we stayed there was an open mic night in the pub. Lots of great, traditional Scottish music. Couldnt here it in the room.
If you feeling adventurous there is a path that takes you to a nice secluded beach on Loch Ness. (Pics attached) Be warned that you have to cross a stream to get to it.

The Not So Good.
Place really needs a bit of TLC splashed around.
The electric shower was extremely tempremental and cycled between freezing cold and scolding hot. The shower area also showed lots of mouldy areas. Same with the sink.

There was a heater in the room on which the control knob was melted. Luckily we were there during a warm time of year as i wouldnt have felt safe using it in that state.

Beds were pretty uncomfortable.

The hotel has wifi which works well in the restaurant and pub but due to thickness of walls there was no signal in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shugggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I did not stay at this hotel but visited to use the bar whilst staying in a B and B in Drumnadrochit. I was very impressed with the menu and was very impressed that there were five vegetarian choices on the menu. The beer was excellent and there were several choices of real ale each night. The staff were very friendly and this was a lovely bar to spend an evening in after walking, it was very welcoming with nice locals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank scdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Whilst staying in Drumnadrochit my wife and I ate here a couple of times and sampled the real ales on several occasions, one of which being the first night of the Loch Ness Beer Festival, which was great fun!.
A friendly locals bar with great quality beers and good value food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dixiewestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel during the summer and it is pretty run down and dirty. Although the staff are very friendly, and generally quite attentive, I think they need to pay some more attention to the building. The rooms are dated and need brightened up and definitely need new bathrooms put in. One room which I was put in I refused to step into the shower it was so dirty, while another time I arrived to a dirty bed. The most annoying thing though is that dogs are allowed to basically roam free throughout the lounge and bar. So while having dinner, plenty of dogs are around - not the best or most hygienic. Someone referred it to me as "Going to the kennels for a drink". I would recommend staying in different accommodation in Drumnadrochit if you can.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Well where do you begin? £70 Twin B&B. A fair price might have been £25 for the room. It's truely grim. Room 9 was like student B&B accomodation at the end of term.
The facts: Reception is a darkened mess. The receptionist quiped about it being a bit downmarket - he wasn't kidding... Up to Room 9 - the door has damage around the lock where it has been forced open. Room 10 opposite is the same. Always a sign of quality...
The room is sooo tired inside apart from the new bed frames. The mattresses (twin room) were like sitting in a bath with your butt hanging out the bottom. (We're average 13St males so not unexpectedly heavy?). Mine was a piece of foam and the other was complete with springs poking through everywhere. The pillows were sacks of cement i think. The wall mounted lights were coming adrift.
The smoke alarm on the ceiling had been changed and the blackened hole was left of the old one.
The wall heater was showing signs of burnt melted knobs and generally dirty.
My pal puntured his feet on the carpet grip which was bare (strip of pins that grips the shabby grey carpet) where the carpet was ripped away at the bathroom doorway... (not a little rip - we're talking 12 inches of bare floor and grip here). And the best feature was the bathroom :((
Grim - mouldy stained sealant around the sink. Gloomy bathrrom and darked shower compleet with grim mouldy sealant. Probably quite nice in the 1970's... And all soooo small. You can barely turn in there. Fan didnt work so its a humid hole shortly after a shower. And - not one of the management even noticed us there or acknowledged us. Not at Breakfast or Dinner (all tables reserved so they wouldn't feed us... not that it was mentioned when we checked in of course).
The dining \ lounge bar was just plain dirty when you looked around. same holes with bare wiring in the ceiling. Everything just dirty.
And what a shame the receptionist didn't ask for our opinion when we cheked out.. shame on you all. Its a hole. Visit at your peril or go somewhere else where you're appreciated and welcomed.

Room Tip: Room 9 with all the dirt mentioned above or Room 10 with the jemmied lock? who knows which is best...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drumnadrochit
0.5 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
425 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
770 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Ness Inn
Loch Ness Inn
#1 of 4 in Lewiston
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benleva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benleva Hotel

Address: Kilmore Road, Drumnadrochit IV63 6UH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range: $116 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benleva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Drumnadrochit, by Loch Ness, the Benleva is the only hotel in the village which is open all year round. Serving award-winning Highland real ales, malt whiskies & excellent locally sourced food. The Benleva has 6 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and was voted the CAMRA Highlands & Islands Pub of the Year in 2003 & 2005. The Benleva has 2 family rooms for those with children and dogs are also welcome in the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Benleva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benleva Hotel Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing