We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmichael House B&B
Ranked #17 of 32 Drumnadrochit B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

On driving up to the house on a very cold April evening, it looked quite austere with no lights showing at the windows, snow starting to fall outside, and we thought no-one was at home. However from the moment Charlotte opened the door and welcomed us in, it took on a different personality. The welcome was very warm, Charlotte makes sure you feel at home. This house is beautiful - one of the loveliest houses I've stayed in - beige carpets, white walls, very clean, immaculately decorated. Our bedroom was HUGE, with a super king bed, seating area with TV, sofa and coffee table, en suite bath and shower, and two big windows overlooking the extensive gardens complete with massive redwood trees and highland (big horns!) cattle in the adjoining field. We hadn't eaten since breakfast as we'd travelled from Fort William with lots of detours en route! Charlotte recommended the Fiddlers Restaurant in Drumnadrochit for our evening meal and we weren't disappointed. The meal was lovely. Charlotte's breakfast was very tasty and filling. The only hiccup is that there was only one large dining table for everyone to sit around, and I must admit I'm not one for making conversation with strangers at breakfast time - I like my own space. However, to sum up - Kilmichael House is a superb place, very highly recommended, and I would absolutely love to go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    13
    4
    14
See reviews for
9
96
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay,Charlotte the owner does everything within her power to make your stay a pleasant one.The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean.The food is great and plentiful. It is a perfect location for exploring this beautiful area of Scotland.I can't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayStranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

just returned from staying at the kilmichael for a birthday weekend with my boyfriend. had a fantastic time, room was excellent, huge en-suite with bath and shower, room was immaculate. lovely little treats in room for us, and lovely welcoming bottle of wine ! our host Charlotte was so welcoming, helpful with any places to go and see, she even booked us a meal at nearby hotel with a pick up and return service which was fantastic. A lovely place to relax and will definately return.thanks Charlotte for a great stay !!

Room Tip: all rooms looked excellent, but double with the huge en-suite with bath and shower was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleytony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Very nice accommodation with a host that nothing is too much. I was staying with my girlfriend and we arrived at 23:45, Charlotte waited up for our arrival. The room was nicely finished and the en-suite is very modern. A bottle of plonk was thrown in with the room, happy days.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadviser57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Having just returned from the Kilmichael House, we can not recommend it highly enough. Charlotte the owner was most helpful, nothing was a bother to her. The cleanliness was second to none, and there were lovely personal touches throughout. We generally have a rule that we never go to the same place twice, we may however break that rule now! Many thanks Charlotte, it was a pleasure to meet you. Liz and Alex, Dundee.

Room Tip: I dont think it would matter which room you occupied, the service and cleanliness is spread througho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Drumnadrochit hotels
0.0 mi away
Drumnadrochit Hotel
Drumnadrochit Hotel
#1 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
Aslaich Bed & Breakfast
#14 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#31 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Benleva Hotel
Benleva Hotel
#16 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#6 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Morlea B&B
Morlea B&B
#7 of 32 in Drumnadrochit
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmichael House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmichael House B&B

Property: Kilmichael House B&B
Address: Drumnadrochit IV63 6TZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Drumnadrochit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Drumnadrochit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Kilmichael House B&B 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kilmichael House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmichael House B&B Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing