We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utter rubbish”
Review of Nessieland

Nessieland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nessie, the creature supposedly inhabiting Scotland's mysterious Loch Ness, is undoubtedly one of the most well-known monsters in the world. Sightings started popping up in the late 19th century and ever since, Nessie has held the world's attention and the myth has refused to die. Visitors wishing to learn more about the legends surrounding Loch Ness can do so at Nessieland Castle Monster Centre in Drumnadrochit. While this miniature theme park is aimed at children, it offers plenty of educational displays. There are lots of newspaper clippings reporting sightings, grainy photographs and display panels explaining the mystery of the Loch Ness Monster. A multilingual documentary takes visitors on the hunt for Nessie and not only shows eyewitness accounts, but also underwater searches that have been taking place since the 1970s. Whether you end up being a believer or not, Nessieland offers a lot of fun. Kids especially enjoy the supposedly life-sized Nessie model that can be ridden, the large adventure playground and the caves. Of course, there is also a gift shop where the corresponding Nessie memorabilia can be purchased.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Do not waste your time on holiday
Do not waste your money
Do not waste your energy
Do not waste your petrol or diesel
Yes it really is that bad

During our visit, we were very disappointed and wished we hadn't wasted our time...Ow and to top it all off they have cigaret lighters in a basket at the very front, my son picked one up and opened the lid to produce a flame!!! WHAT ARE THEY THINKING !!! Put them fully out of reach of kids!! Right beside Nessie kids toys are alcohol and cigaret trays! Put them up higher!!

3  Thank Kitti_kat28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are sorry you were so disappointed by your visit to Nessieland and that you found absolutely nothing of interest in the presentation, shop, coffee shop or playground.

You do not mention exactly what was wrong other than the cigarette lighters on the counter. Your comments surprised us as, while we agree that we have a basket of lighters on the counter which are easily reachable by children, they are not filled and therefore cannot produce a flame.

The mini bottles of whisky are kept on the counter so that they are in sight of the shop staff for security reasons. Keeping them there should also make it impossible for a child to open one 'by mistake' and suffer the consequences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the loch ness monster"
in 20 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 9 reviews
"great exhibition"
in 4 reviews
"exhibition centre"
in 4 reviews
"wee"
in 9 reviews
"legend"
in 12 reviews
"info"
in 8 reviews
"souvenirs"
in 7 reviews
"existence"
in 4 reviews
Filter

285 - 289 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Cheap set up. Cheesy exhibits that bore no reality to the myth. The film at the end reminded me of flickering cine films from the 1970's.

There is a separate exhibition about 100 yards away that I suggest in a competing business. I feel that it is also somewhere I would not want to visit. The whole area took the tourist trap to a new level and one that does not do Scotland justice.

1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We are sorry to hear you were so disappointed by your visit to Loch Ness. Most visitors come here to learn a bit more about Loch Ness and the famous monster and having visited one or other (and frequently both) of the two centres here leave saying they have enjoyed their visit and discovered something new about the loch and the myth.
As far as Nessieland is concerned we try to provide information at several levels - for children, those wishing to be entertained and those seeking more detailed information. Some of the display panels in our presentation offer purely factual information about historical events such as John Cobb and the ditched Wellington Bomber and really shouldn't be called 'cheesy'. However we appreciate that people are looking for different things and we thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Though one little girl thought it was scary, most will find the cheesy Nessies in their ersatz lair pretty funny. Quick tour with plenty of info to read or just get funny snaps with all the Nessies.

1  Thank Lumpyspacequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. This is exactly how we hoped our visitors would view our presentation. It is meant to be a bit of fun and a bit informative!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Nothing good to say about this place at all. We picked it because we had read about the ongoing arguements between Nessiland and the other Centre and wanted to go with the "Nessie exists" theme. Wish we hadn't bothered. The exhibition was terrible, extremely amateurish and the film at the end was blurred and badly done. The was also a really weird smell. The kids ticket included entrance to the Adventure Playground - if you could manage to find the way in you quickly turned around and left, shoddy doesn't even cover it.

3  Thank NicMcl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your visit to Nessieland but thank you for taking the time to write a review. In the presentation we try to provide a range of information about Loch Ness and its history, the famous monster and other events which are related to the area which we hope will appeal to everyone and we are disappointed you did not find anything of interest.
We are also sorry to hear you found the adventure playground shoddy as the play equipment was supplied by one of Scotland's top suppliers of playground equipment and the woodland setting is undoubtedly very attractive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stopped off here and found the lady in the centre very friendly and chatty she was very nice to the kids, the set up inside was good and informative the shop has lots in it and not badly priced, there is also a big play area outside for the kids kept ours amused for some time they loved the slides swings and tree houses

Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Guest Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We are all delighted you enjoyed your visit to Nessieland and hope to welcome you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessieland also viewed

 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Nessieland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing