We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waste of time and money”
Review of Nessieland

Nessieland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nessie, the creature supposedly inhabiting Scotland's mysterious Loch Ness, is undoubtedly one of the most well-known monsters in the world. Sightings started popping up in the late 19th century and ever since, Nessie has held the world's attention and the myth has refused to die. Visitors wishing to learn more about the legends surrounding Loch Ness can do so at Nessieland Castle Monster Centre in Drumnadrochit. While this miniature theme park is aimed at children, it offers plenty of educational displays. There are lots of newspaper clippings reporting sightings, grainy photographs and display panels explaining the mystery of the Loch Ness Monster. A multilingual documentary takes visitors on the hunt for Nessie and not only shows eyewitness accounts, but also underwater searches that have been taking place since the 1970s. Whether you end up being a believer or not, Nessieland offers a lot of fun. Kids especially enjoy the supposedly life-sized Nessie model that can be ridden, the large adventure playground and the caves. Of course, there is also a gift shop where the corresponding Nessie memorabilia can be purchased.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Very poor models of the monster and poor quality of film. It took about 2 mins to look at the models. The constant beeping of the smoke alarm did not help the poor quality of the factual film advertised.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordness, Public Relations Manager at Nessieland, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear your family enjoyed seeing our outdoor Nessie model and the playground and are sorry that other aspects of your visit were disappointing.

We have been working to extend our presentation during the winter. Unfortunately this has taken longer than expected and when you visited some sections still needed to be completed. We apologise for this and for any lack of cleanliness while work is being carried out.

We do not aim to promote our presentation and documentary as especially for children, although the models and new cave have certainly been designed with younger visitors in mind. We have tried to create something for all ages. The documentary is generally considered informative, slightly tongue-in-cheek and has several amusing scenes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    56
    44
    38
    126
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Never been anywhere so bad!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Wish we looked on trip advisor before coming here. Picked up a lovely leaflet in the tourist information place and was told it was good for children interested in Nessie. Paid £15 to get in (2 adults and 2 children aged 2 and 6). To be fair the lady on the desk was very welcoming. However once we opened the doors to the exhibition we were in for a shock. The place stank, a damp kind of smell and was in need of a good Hoover. There was a big model of Nessie and lots of information boards, but none of these were aimed at children and should you chose to read them you would be there all day. You were then lead into a dark cinema which also smelt and shown a very dated film about Loch Ness on loop, again not aimed at children. And that was it! I was honestly looking around for another door leading to the thing I paid £15 for. We were in and out within 10 minutes. The playground was ok I guess, but nothing special and I certainly wouldn't pay to use it. The main thing the kids enjoyed was the giant Nessie outside the exhibition which you didn't have to pay for. A total waste of time and money. I have never been anywhere so awful and I doubt I ever will again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank WalesHippo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Complete waste of time and money”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our party of three were given a discounted rate (from £12.50 to £10.00) due to certain parts of the 'exhibition' being under construction and some exhibits having missing captions.
There really is nothing to see - a large model of Nessie, some old newspaper articles and a film on continuous loop about the monster, presented by a poor actor in a kilt. The fire alarms were constantly beeping which only added to our irritation.
Avoid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BarnyBaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid this amateur effort”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Only go if you want a laugh at the terrible video and corridor of fuzzy pictures. It was not worth the money and as with all rip off tourist efforts you exit through the gift shop. There is no effort put into this exhibition.

Helpful?
3 Thank Louisecairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited this place for a laugh with my travel mates. Luckily we had a group deal to get in, otherwise it would have been a rip off. The attraction itself is quite small, and there is very litte information about the legend of Nessie. The only redeeming qualities are a few funny photo ops (riding or being eaten by Nessie, for example) and an absolutely attrocious documentary that will have you gut laughing for all the wrong reasons.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nessieland also viewed

 
Drumnadrochit, Loch Ness
 

Been to Nessieland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing